User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
It's been a long time with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Charles Lamb, N1

16 Elia Street
N1
N1 8DE
Phone: 02078375040

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Charles Lamb

Situated in a backstreet off City Road in Islington, the Charles Lamb sits between typically lovely Georgian terraces and some rather less aesthetically grand sixties council housing. On our saturday evening visit it had a lovely warm, communal feel; a small group to the right of the entrance were eating, others were playing scrabble and backgammon and although it is a fairly small place my party were able to squeeze into a space at the bar and quaff excellent pints of Dark Star Hophead, Triple fff Alton's Pride (£3) and Fullers' Honey Dew. Also worthy of note were the christmas hampers they were displaying at the bar, containing a variety of beers and Charles Lamb branded wine, plus the pub's own Mincemeat jars, which was a nice touch.

This pub strikes me as the sort of establishment that inspires a loyal local following and I am only envious I live a bit too far away to count myself part of that. I rate it very highly.

On 19th December 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Charles Lamb

A fairly uninteresting street corner pub from the outside and nothing special with the interior decor but it certainly makes up for this in regards the atmosphere here. A really buzzing local pub with a wide range of ages drinking here including a fair selection of dogs bringing their owners in for a few bevvies. Three hand pumps but the only two ales on during our visit were Dark Star Smoke Porter (superb) and an ale from the Triple ffff brewery. these were supplemented by a couple of Greenwich Meantime kegs a few Belgian beers and a barrel of Thatchers cider sitting on the bar with a sign saying 'we will not serve this cider with ice'. How sensible this landlord is! Shame it's not listed in CAMRA good beef guide 2011. Definitely worth visiting this pub.

On 6th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Charles Lamb

Quite a small pub ,well used with a friendly ,lively atmosphere.The ale quality was very high from the three handpumps which always include a brew from the excellent Dark Star Brewery,usually Hophead but an interesting Belgian style farmhouse ale called Saison on a recent visit.This was complimented by Bath Ales Gem and Triple fff Alton Pride which was also excellent. Very interesting selection of spirits.The clientele is mainly New Labour and no one was drinking the Thatcher's cider !
Food is popular and several notches up from pub grub and there are tapas dishes,top quality sausage rolls available around £3 to complement the drinks.Beer prices very reasonable around £2.80 a pint,this is the best pub in Islington by a long chalk IMHO.Bench seating outside when the weather is good.Thoroughly recommended with very knowledgeable staff,a quality drinking establishment and thoroughly deserving its good beer guide entry.

On 26th April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Charles Lamb

This is probably one of those pubs you either love or hate.

Its very cosmopolitan with two bar areas. Its not what you would call comfortable, but its fresh and clean, bare stripped boards and lots of pastel painted wood, I like it & think its very well done, all a bit different. Roaring fire in the far room (though probably not 'real', there are maps on the wall of London & Paris, a winner for me as a map geek.

I'm sure they left the kitchen door open on purpose, the smell was amazing!

The beer choice was very good and very well kept indeed. Dark Star Hophead was superb.

Well worth a visit.

On 11th March 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Charles Lamb

Excellent boozer with high quality ale, friendly knowledgable staff and a fair smattering of attractive totty. A winning combination. Butcombe bitter and Dark Star Hophead both excellent and Dark Star Oktoberfest at 5.2% on as a guest. Didn't eat but the menu looked interesting and food appeared good.

On 2nd March 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Charles Lamb

The attractive exterior still has the brown half tiled facade, plenty of planted tubs, and cafe style outside seating occupied by youngish well-heeled locals. Inside to the main room with a large inner corner bar with a carved bar back and feature clock. The lower area of the bar is painted light green, as is the wall panelling. The walls are cream above and the ceiling white; the overall impression hints slightly at a continental cafe/brasserie but does not detract. A side room was taken over with diners. Food is a priority here it seems but not to the exclusion of drinkers. The menu includes such pub staples as rabbit rillettes with cornichons, and morcilla and pear on toast, no pie and mushy peas here. It is all a bit "Islington" really but I enjoyed our short stay, a good selection of decently kept ales, Dark Star Hophead, Butcombe Bitter and Cottage Whippet Jack Boxer, plus a real cider, Thatchers something.
Worth a look in if in the area and to be commended for serving three decent non-mainstream ales at pub prices too, £3 or just over.

On 27th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Charles Lamb

This place was mobbed outside when I visited on an early evening a couple of weeks ago, but it was almost empty in the bar area. There was a small room to the side with some tables that was very busy so maybe this was a dining type area.

Dark Star, Butcombe and another ale called something Hound were available alongside a couple of Meantime beers. The barman seemed a nice enough chap, but I also had to escape to outside with the majority of the patrons to drink my nice pint of Butcombe as the music wasn't my taste and was a little loud.

I would try my luck in here again if passing.

On 4th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Charles Lamb

They had Butcombe Bitter on, which was superb, as well as Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, which is a rather good beer from a small(ish) brewery in Chico, California. First time I have seen it in the UK. This pub was once called The Prince Albert but it is now a gastropub, and as I didn’t eat there I can’t comment on the food that is obviously now their raison d’etre. But I had a very friendly chat with the young man behind the bar about pub names and similar things. Definitely worth dropping in for a pint of Butcombe Bitter if you are passing, but not really worth going far out of your way to visit.

On 17th September 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]

Page: 1 2