User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Island Queen, N1

87 Noel Road
N1
N1 8HD
Phone: 02073548741

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Island Queen

Date Reviewed: 22nd March 2016.

Quite an impressive interior here with huge terracotta pots containing palms either side of the entrance door to the interior. The floor is interesting in that it's covered with grey lino. However, the 1970s' office-style ceiling fans aren't attractive, and I can't see what purpose they serve.
Music played at a passable level and the crowd here are typical young Islington trendies.
Beers on: Timothy Taylor's Landlord, Bristol Beer Factory's Acer and Hop Back Brewery's Winter Lightning at £4.35 a pint which is what is to be expected here.
This is a very decent pub, probably the best in the immediate vicinity so I'll be back.

---------------------------------------

Date Reviewed: 5th August 2018.

A return visit a week ago and things aren't quite so rosy with just Sharp's Atlantic and worse, Doom Bar with two pumps no longer in use; one point deducted.

---------------------------------------

Another return visit to this pub, just a few doors down from where Joe Orton was murdered. It has now got its act together in the beer department with a bank of three interesting ales and Doom Bar on its own, where it belongs. However, my pint of Hophead cost £5.20 which is just insane. This is a nice area but there are nicer areas near to hear and they don't charge anything like as much - no wonder the pub was virtually empty.
This is a very nice pub but there's no way I'm going to pay that kind of money for a pint.

On 23rd April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Island Queen

Very attractive pub with a full-width bow window frontage set back from the road by a narrow patio. The main entrance is inset within the impressively high glazed area and leads to a 'U'-shaped counter with small gantries along both sides of the counter. Additional small seating areas extend beyond this, with the one on the right being separated from the bar a fine etched screen. Other decorative windows and mirrors dividing the main room from the side passageways. Four real ales on handpump: Sharp's Doom Bar and Atlantic, Landlord and Adnams Ghost Ship (£4.80). Worth a stop if in the area.

On 20th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6214 recommendations about 6214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Island Queen

A very fine Victorian pub with some great internal etched glass dividing the main bar room from the stairs to the first floor lounge.There is an island bar which results in a rear snug on the right side,and a more spacious seating area to the left.The ceilings are very high,there are some great mirrors along one wall,while the theme of island queens in maintained by grainy photos of various monarchs from around the globe.It really is worth inspecting the interior,many original features survive.
At the bar I noticed a lot of craft keg with one set of taps devoted to Thornbridge,some quite pokey.There are 4 handpumps drawing on my trip Adnams Ghost Ship,Doom Bar,TT Landlord and a very decent St Austell Proper Job.
It's popular with a mixed bunch of punters and the combination of decent real ale and an authentic interior would warrant another visit from me.

On 25th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2089 recommendations about 2089 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Island Queen

Nicely laid out pub but no real ale of any strength so opted for a cask selection. Two people playing Battleships on the near table - not something you see very often!

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Island Queen

Quite a grand exterior/interior with numerous etched mirrors. The central bar serves 4 real ales and "craft keg". Didn't visit the upstairs lounge.

On 20th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2760 recommendations about 2702 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Island Queen

A decent single roomed, high ceilinged pub dominated by a central island bar. Four handpumps dispensing Longman APA,Doom Bar,TT Landlord and Hopstuff Session IPA which was a decent drop.Worth a visit.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Island Queen

Nice old pub with a good range of beers.Very busy on my Friday night visit.Beer in top condition.

On 16th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Island Queen

I paid my first visit here the other day over four years. I’m very glad to say that the only change is that the exterior is now painted that ever-present battleship grey. The interior still retains all the usual Victoriana (etched and cut glass, mahogany woodwork, etc) that rightly gives this pub a place on CAMRA's Regional inventory of historic pub interiors. There were four ales on when I visited last week, and although I failed to note them all I did enjoy an excellent pint of Timothy Taylor Landlord. The furnishings are pretty standard issue, I'm pleased to say, and it remains a pub well worth seeking out if you're in the area.

On 6th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Island Queen

A backstreet pub that retains a fair bit of its high-Victorian interior and layout; huge windows, solid wood fixtures and fittings, high ceilings, gigantic mirrored walls, island bar etc. Four ales on (TT Landlord, Doom Bar, Redemption and something labelled Equinox) plus a number of higher-end keg products. The Equinox was serviceable but given the price (over £4) I would have expected better and my companion’s beer was hardly a world-beater either. Achingly trendy hipster staff gives you an idea of the market this place is aimed at; Guardianistas and hoorays. The jukebox was playing some decent rock/Indie tunes. Plenty of strange paraphernalia knocking round the place, including a large armless statue. The heavy curtain circle at the doorway was an unusual touch and the place felt unusually homely given its vastness; flowers on each table and even the fairy lights seemed to blend in after a fashion. The rear area of the pub looks dedicated to dining and was closed off on our visit due to an impending wake (though the staff were good enough to let me have a peek). Overall this was quite a pleasant place to see but the high prices and middling beer means I’m not going to say it’s an essential experience. But certainly worth a look if you like interesting interiors.

On 6th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Island Queen

Well worth a visit, fab interior and the bar alone is well worth a look at. Slightly different clientele from my visits after work. But still if you get in handy you will enjoy it.

On 14th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2