User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Earl of Essex, N1

25 Danbury Street
N1
N1 8LE
Phone: 02074245828

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about Earl of Essex

Unexpectedly interesting... looked like a regular back street pub but its quite the beer experience.

Central bar has many hand pulls and a board explaining the wares. Around the otherside is a full on brewery kit.

Garden looked nice - which might be handy, as they allow all tables to be reserved.

Beavertown Neck Oil sampled for the first, and probably last time. What's all the fuss?

On 14th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 513 recommendations about 508 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Earl of Essex

Situated in an area that is unrecognisable from 30 years ago, having undergone savage gentrification and now home to the likes of Boris Johnson and Kiera Knightley.
There's now a trendy blue/grey colour scheme with dark mood lighting courtesy of modern sconce lights and filament bulbs. Music played at a mid level and furniture is conventional with large tables to the rear. Behind the bar is a large stainless steel brewkit, though as I couldn't see a reference to its contents on the board, I assume it's just for decoration. The crowd here is dense, even early week and is mainly young Islington hipster types.
Not surprisingly for a craft ale pub there's a huge selection of ales on keg with three now available on cask as of last November, all advertised on a large board stating name, brewery, ABV and price. Not noticing the cask options, I went for the Rooster's Yankee Pale Ale which was probably what Mr. Man ordered below, judging by his description and my similar experience.
The Watney's bar-back is a nice touch but the Island Queen and even the George all around the corner are more tempting, so I might be back. Might be...

On 25th May 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 874 recommendations about 860 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Earl of Essex

Maybe this is the future of beer.The exterior of this pub has wonderful brown glazed tiles,and the front doors open directly onto the bar,with various handpumps and wall taps all unmarked.Select from the list in large lettering to your left.On my trip there were 13 craft keg beers from many of the leading small scale brewers,2 cask ciders and 3 cask ales namely Tiny Rebel Morning Glory ,Redemption Rock the Kazbek and Big Chief (on top form).Behind the island bar there are some brewing vessels but no sign of production and besides a drinking shelf to the right of the pub,most of the tables and chairs were traditional with more room behind the bar including some bench seating.French doors lead to a beer garden.The pub was packed with young professional who really enjoy beer in all it's forms and I plan to revisit and chance my arm on some of the stronger keg options next time.It's hip and probably a bit too lively for many CAMRA types,but it does showcase beer in all it's glory.Wealth warning ....it's not cheap although a Cloudwater Baltic IPA 7% was "only" £3.50 the half.

On 26th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Earl of Essex

Excellent selection of real ales and cask on display on a board on the wall. The food menu actually suggests which beer should go with which meal although I didn't eat during my visit. Would definitely return to this place.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1391 recommendations about 1390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Earl of Essex

Quite a plain interior but it does retain the central island bar with it's tiled bar gantry. 3 real ales and numerous "craft keg served.

On 20th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2557 recommendations about 2502 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about Earl of Essex

My fourth visit here but have never (until now ) been sober enough to remember it or indeed review it. It is a single room wrapped around a central Island bar, very lively on an early Saturday evening. Plenty of Craft Keg options are available and as Tris mentions below there is a mini cask revival here, three cask beers were available in the shape of Magic Rock Ringmaster,Marble Pint and Big Smoke Mothership plus two cask Ciders I failed to make a note of.I found this pub well worthy of dropping in for a pint or two.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Earl of Essex

There are no cask options here anymore apart from some solitary cider, lots of expensive keg options being listed on a wall mounted board. There is a central island bar, boarded floor, lots of grey paint. Possibly an ironic statement there is some old Watney's signage behind the bar. Trendy artwork, loud and boisterous Islington types, lots more grey paint, trendy artwork. The brew vessel to the rear seems to have no offerings, I had a half of something strong, cold, expensive and tasteless. I won't be troubling them again.

On 4th October 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Earl Of Essex

Another entrant onto the craft beer scene in London though this one is positively vintage, being just under two years open in its current guise. This one has its own brewery and though the kit can easily be spotted inside, I wasn’t sure how functioning it was. Like its sister pub (the Kings Arms in E2) there’s no marking on the beer clips and you have to read what’s available from a wall-mounted board. Which is fine when it’s quiet but faintly ludicrous when you’ve come in unawares on a busy night, fought your way to the bar and then realised you have no clue as to what’s on and the pesky board is out of view. Being forewarned I checked my options early doors. I went for the Harbour Oatmeal Stout which was OK but not in as good a condition as I’d have expected. Very busy, though I did find the demeanour of some of the patrons rather boorish to say the least. I didn’t really warm to this one though its proximity to the Wenlock means I’ll give it another go sometime.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Earl Of Essex

Into what was a very nice pub about a year ago they have crammed an ugly brew-kit behind the rear bar.Okay its a brew pub but a tad more thought could have went into the design side.Great range of beers and a few keg beers rarely seen in other craft bars.Earls brewery beers are a bit hit and miss as yet but overall(if you discount the elephant in the room)a good pub.Nice rear beer garden as well.

On 16th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Earl Of Essex

The Earl of Essex is a new brewpub/ craft beer bar just a five minute walk from Angel tube station and close to the Regents canal. The layout is very straightforward, with a single bare boarded room, painted in what I am now terming ‘craft beer grey’, served by a compact island bar. Some spectacularly uncomfortable looking benches run around the perimeter of the room under a number of scrubbed tables, but seating options quickly run out in such a small room, so I found myself perched on a stool at the bar. The walls have been brightened up by some rather quirky artwork including some Soviet style propaganda posters. The reviews below suggest that this place has been through its fair share of reinventions over the years, but the old Watney’s bar back remains, complete with backlit red barrels. There are a couple of benches on the pavement outside and there is also a small patio area at the back of the pub.
Perhaps the most striking feature of the pub is the enormous wooden beer board which takes up a vast section of the left hand wall and very clearly lists the cask and keg offerings and their respective strengths and prices. Reference must be made to this board as all six hand pumps and fourteen keg taps are unclipped, despite a fairly large pump clip collection stuck to either side of the servery. The cask offerings on my visit were Crate Golden, Tiny Rebel Full Nelson, Ilkley Dinner Ale, Arbor Hunny Beer, Devilfish Golden and Sandford’s Devon Mist Cider, all priced at £3.80. The fourteen keg taps included the likes of Camden Hells Lager and Ink Stout, Old Dominion Fest and Moor Nor’Hop alongside a range of ‘craft’ brews from Europe and the US, with prices ranging from £4.00-6.00. Fridges are full of the sort of unusual bottled beers you would expect from such a venture and can be explored through one of the beer menus provided.
This is still a fairly new guise for this pub and so I would hope that some of the teething problems get ironed out over time. I’d be keen to return again at a later date, especially once they have got their own brewery up and running.

On 20th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]

Page: 1 2