User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Fellow, Kings Cross, N1

24 York Way
N1
N1 9AA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Fellow

Just around the corner from Kings Cross station, this is a spacious, open-plan Young’s pub with bare floorboards and tatty half panelled walls. The room sees the servery run along the rear wall, where some nicer panelling can be found and the bar has a pleasant counter offset by a pretty ugly metal framed bar back. A couple of structural pillars with drinking shelves around them stand opposite the bar and then beyond that there are rows of tables and chairs with fill much of the rest of the room. Large windows down two sides offer dull views of the large brick wall that makes up the side of the station, but allow plenty of light in, which seems to filter its way through to all corners of the room. Much of the ceiling is decorated with distressed, old fashioned tiles and the room has been painted in boring gastro colours, despite the pub still being very much wet-led from what I could see. Decor includes a great deal of horse racing themed items, for reasons that were never entirely clear to me, plus a few bits of dubious local interest including a nice ‘Kings Cross for Scotland’ railway poster and one of those daft ‘Platform 9 ¾’ signs. Loud music was playing on my midweek evening visit, but this was very much irrelevant given the even louder clientele whose voices were ably amplified by the echoey interior.
Just a paltry two beer line-up on the bar – the inevitable Youngs Ordinary and the expensive guest ale, which on this occasion was Purity Mad Goose at a maddening £5.00 a pint. One real cider was also available on handpull and my pint of the Mad Goose was okay but failed to justify the price.
There was nothing inherently wrong with this place, but there were definitely areas for improvement – the interior seems to be long overdue a good tidy up, modernisation needs rethinking and some soft furnishings wouldn’t go amiss – but ultimately it is the excessive prices for average beers that will prevent repeat visits.

On 12th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Fellow

Apparently recently made over, signage outside urges visitors to see how "sexy" the pub is. Twaddle, a slightly L-shaped space, bar on the back wall, open to view kitchen in one corner. Stairs lead up to an unvisited roof terrace, in the bar there are distressed blue boarded walls and columns, an exposed brick feature wall and plenty of horse racing related decor including some decent paintings. The ceiling is panelled and of some vintage. A large vase of flowers marked the end of the bar and tea light candles in glass bowls flickered on the tables.
I didn't see the menu or prices as it was early before lunch but I doubt it is cheap, the beer certainly isn't. A pint of Purity Mad Goose was £4.80, they also had Young's Bitter and the dreaded Doom Bar. Plastic and pretentious.

On 12th March 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Fellow

One of the Kings Cross type pubs that doesn't have to try too hard to attract customers.Busy.Doom ,Mad goose and Youngs beers.

On 27th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Fellow

Round the corner from kings cross station. Interior as described below and the PMG is £4.60. 3 real ales and food served.

On 29th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Fellow

A pint and a half of Purity Mad Goose here racked up a hefty £6.90. £4.60 a pint? - or perhaps still the £4.50 that Tris C got charged, which makes the half £2.40. Whichever way it adds up, it's still overpriced. Doom Bar was also available, with a third pump unclipped. I spotted a chalkboard menu which unsurprisingly wasn't cheap either with, for example, the burger and chips, etc, at £14.50.

The doors, walls, and ceiling are all painted a sort of indigo blue colour, with the exception of the stainless steel section of the ceiling. Tris C sums it up nicely. It seems like a trendy bar, and perhaps not the sort of place a couple of old CAMRA types like my chum and I should have ventured into. I don't think I'll be returning to this one.

On 10th April 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2463 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Fellow

Formerly The Duke of York, this pub is a little off the beaten track, to the north-east of King's Cross station; it's not in the most welcoming of locations, but the area is inexorably on the up.

This is a fairly modernised pub but not savagely so - conventional modern then.

Ales on: Purity Mad Goose (£4.50) and good, Sharp's Gloom Bore and Young's Bitter.

There's little in the immediate vicinity and after The Scottish Stores this is the best unless you like banging studenty places; this is what I call an 'easy listening' pub.

On 1st March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 930 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Fellow

I was going to walk past the Fellow, dismissing it as a restaurant, before spotting a couple of customers through the window who were knocking back flat pints of beer that looked decidedly like cask ale. To be fair to my initial observations the décor, table settings and waitress service were all indicative of a restaurant, but there was a bar in the right rear corner. There were also a few high stools and tables for perching upon and in the far right rear corner by the toilets were some larger tables placed for the use of imbibing in groups. The lounge bar upstairs was closed during my recent Friday lunchtime visit, but the decked roof terrace was being used by some local office workers who had decided to have an extended lunch break.

I didn’t look at a menu, but I would expect restaurant prices. The bar was stocked with premium keg products and three hand pumps were drawing St Austell’s Tribute, Young’s Ordinary and Sambrook’s Wandle. I found the service to be polite and I could see myself popping in here for lunch with my fellow suit clad work colleagues. Unfortunately I live and work miles away and I don’t wear a suit to work so plans for a revisit have fallen at the first hurdle.

On 12th October 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fellow

Rather anonymous, part-moderninsed pub beside Kings Cross station. Reasonable amount of wooden furniture, but access to the bar is made rather difficult by an awkwardly-placed partition wall. Staff seem a bit too trendy and interested in talking to each other and favoured customers rather than getting on with serving. Also seems to offer table service, but thankfully I avoided this annoyance. Two handpumps, but with one off it was only Tribute available (nice enough, but pricy at £3.60).

On 24th November 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Fellow

Has been through a few name changes, in my humble opinion, not worth visiting, it is very dark inside and the side doors, have boards nailed over them, also one of the windows. My picture is from a few years back.
Is undergoing another refit, either that or it's closed completely. Update: Closed down. Another update, being refurbished and is going to be called The Fellow. Looking in the place, they had white tiles which wouldn't look out of place in a toilet. Now open, I was wrong about the white tile, they blend in well with the smart decor. Lots of tables. Now sells real ale, though only Youngs bitter and HSB. Has a cocktail bar upstairs, though didn't visit it.

On 9th October 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 749 recommendations about 713 pubs]