User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Cockpit, EC4

7 St. Andrews Hill
EC4
EC4V 5BY
Phone: 02072487315

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Cockpit

This superb old corner pub is very easy to imagine hosting the sport from which it takes its name. The bar is up a couple of steps if entering from the corner door, but there is a side door from Ireland Yard which gives level access. There are four hand pumps with St Austell Tribute, Shepherd Neame Whitstable Bay, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Adnams Southwold Bitter available. I went for the Tribute, which was ok. As with the other back street pubs hereabouts, there was a good after work crowd in here, but with the pub being quite small, if six or eight of them decided they had trains to catch the place would soon seem quiet. I liked it here but was not terribly impressed with the beer offering, which was unadventurous and samey.

On 24th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Cockpit

Characterful (bit rough round the edges) back street boozer. Wedge shaped split level interior that still retains some courage branding. 4 real ales.

On 27th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Cockpit

This is a mid-Victorian traditional boozer, pub well described below. However, I'd call it a bit dowdy and frayed at the edges - charm to some, tatty to others.
Ales: St. Austell's Tribute, Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Adnam's Southwold which was fine.
Save for the fact that this pub is far less packed (probably due to the reasons above) than other locals and has friendly bar staff, I can't really see myself coming here again. The Rising Sun at the top of the road is a better bet.

On 13th October 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cockpit

Compact, irregular, split-level layout with an authentic pub look and feel. Unusual 'minstrels galley' (not visited). A total of five handpumps on the bar counter, with TT Landlord, Old Speckled Hen, Pedigree, Wells & Youngs Burning Gold and Adnams Southwold (£4.00) available on my latest visit. Hidden away, but worth seeking out if in the area.

On 25th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Cockpit

In a quiet side street a short walk away from St Pauls and Blackfriars Station is The Cockpit, a fine unspoilt traditional pub with something of a genuine old fashioned charm not often encountered in London pubs nowadays. . A black painted exterior with dimpled frosted windows and lamps exudes something of an austere feel.

It’s a wedge shaped pub on a street corner where unusual curved doors denoted as “Saloon Bar” lead into a comfortable carpeted interior with fixed padded sets, re velour bar stools and several steps leading up to a small curved bar servery towards the back of the pub. The pub retains evidence of its former days as a Courage pub with the trademark square red shaped cockerel pub sign outside and Courage lettering on the bar servery gantry.

.A sandwich board tells us that The Cockpit is “A genuinely friendly pub built on the site of Shakespeare’s House”. There’s plenty of framed pictures of cockerels, reflecting the fact that the pub was apparently used for cockfighting until this was banned in 1849. It’s a high ceilinged pub and stairs lead up to a small upstairs minstrels gallery ( no seating ) from where people could watch the activities down below in olden days, although it would appear that it’s a more recent modelling of the original balcony.

The Cockpit has a strong, regular, local trade and is popular with staff from the nearby St Pauls Cathedral. Despite its history, with its back street location and no food, it appears to be very much off the tourist radar and all the better for it – ( contrary to the previous posting, I've never seen any tourist groups in here ).

4 pumps serve Adnams, T T Landlord, Speckled Hen and Pedigree, a range which could justifiably be described as unexciting and which hardly ever seems to change. I can’t recollect ever seeing anything different recently. With minimal passing trade, I doubt that management can afford to be more adventurous.

Nevertheless, if you like proper pubs, you might want to look this one out when the opportunity presents itself

On 28th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Cockpit

Very impressed that this historic pub manages to be such a nice, friendly little haven, as others have described below. As at Friday its five handpulls were offering Timmy Taylor Landlord (a great pint @ £3.50), Adnams Southwold, Pedigree, Directors and Old Speckled Hen. The menu offers very good value traditional pub food (mains from £5.00-6.50) from 11am-2.30pm Mon-Fri, generously portioned by the looks of others’ plates, though I haven’t eaten here myself yet. Only irritant was being photographed about 30 times by a guided tour party when I stepped outside for a cigarette,

I really liked this place and will certainly come back here.

On 4th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Cockpit

This is a very welcoming pub, located down a back street not too far from Blackfriars station. The entrance is through a nice set of curved doors which take you into a split level, wedge shaped room with the servery sited in the narrow part towards the rear. The room is carpeted throughout, with a drinking shelf and high stools on the upper level opposite the bar and banquettes and low stools in the rest of the room on the lower level. There are some attractive leaded windows at the front of the pub and the bar counter curves rather pleasingly to create a little extra room for the punters waiting to get served. A TV screen near the entrance was showing muted coverage of the darts.
I was afforded a very warm welcome by the staff here, who seemed to be in high spirits and having a good laugh with their regulars and newcomers alike. There was a decent ale selection of TT Landlord, Courage Directors, Marston’s Pedigree, Adnams Southwold Bitter (£3.50) and Ringwood Boondoggle. I tried the Southwold Bitter, which isn't one of my favourite Adnams beers, but found it to be very tasty and well kept.
I felt very much at home here and wouldn't think twice about calling in again the next time I'm in the vicinity. The regulars here are very lucky to have one of the few pubs in the City that feels like a community local.

On 12th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Cockpit

Really good little ale pub, situated up a quiet back alley. A sign outside claims a 1787 construction date and the pub is called the Cockpit because it apparently hosted the final legal cockfight in England. The classic dark Victoriana interior is wedge-shaped and is adorned (obviously) with pictures of cockerels and some nice leaded windows and the swooping circular Courage signage above the semi-circular bar is eye-catching. The lowered seating area is (presumably?) where said pit was located. Five mainstream ales - Adnams, London Pride, Pedigree, Bombardier and Directors - were on and my Adnams (£3.40) tasted good – it made it into the Good Beer Guide last year. The welcome was friendly and I’d say that this one worth seeking out if you’re in the area.

On 3rd July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Cockpit

A single angular shaped room with the bar up a couple of steps from the front entrance at the thin end. The Courage badging remains appropriately with the Cockerel outside and also in lettering over the curved bar gantry plus a on large branded mirror. This entrance features original looking curved doors with "Saloon Bar" still marked. The other, presumably public bar, doors remain also but are not signed now. The interior has a warm feel, being carpeted and with red banquettes and stools at regular tables. The upper galleries have been described previously, but are certainly unusual and worth a look. Scores of jugs and pots hang from hooks beneath the gallery rails. There is a proud looking cockerel figure standing on a perch next to each. The cock theme continues around the pub with numerous framed prints with descriptions. Otherwise there is an abundance of dark wood in the form of panelling and the door and window surrounds. Windows are leaded and with obscured glass. One TV and one projector screen showing a news programme.
The welcome was friendly, service good, and the pub spotlessly clean and tidy. Five handpumps, Courage Best and Directors, Marstons Pedigree, Ringwood 49er (£3.50), and one reversed clipped (couldn't see).
The exterior is also very attractive as is the location down one of The City's narrow lanes, with well tended flowering baskets featuring seasonal spring daffodils. Numerous plaques on the area by the side door show annual awards from The Worshipful Company of Gardeners for the pubs floral displays.
A very pleasant spot indeed.

On 29th March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Cockpit

I popped into The Cockpit for a swift half whilst on a crawl of the area two days before Christmas and I was happy to find a down to earth pub that was full of locals whom the friendly staff were on a first name basis with. I was made to feel more than welcome and I thought that the Guinness was on good form. The bar supports five hand pumps that were drawing Adnams, Directors, Pedigree, Bombareindeer (Bombardier with festive clip) and Courage Best and there was also a very limited draught selection. The pub layout has been well described below and I enjoyed reading the history as the reason for the layout and tiny balconies became clear. There is a projector screen and also a plasma screen that was showing muted news whilst some very low background music was playing.

This is a good pub to escape the masses and I will make a return visit when next in the area.

On 6th January 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2