User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Peacock, Tower Hill, EC3

41 Minories
EC3
EC3N 1DT

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Peacock

Set in a really nice Art Deco building the interior could maybe do with a little smarten up. 5 real ale taps(4 on 2 Harvey's Sussex best & 2 butcombe bitter. Some say Richard Spencer has been seen in the area with a wish list and a measuring tape.

On 24th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2705 recommendations about 2648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Peacock

Set in an attractive 1930's art-deco building, this is a friendly boozer in the heart of the City. The pub has an unusual claim in that an intercepted German memoranda in 1945 noted that the pub would be used as the headquarters for the Gestapo, should the Germans win the war, with it's proximity to the cells in the Tower of London cited as a reason for this choice. Thankfully, the British boozer prevailed and we now find a smart pub split across two floors with an emphasis on darts - a rather unusual feature for a Central London pub. A corner door takes you into the main bar, where you pass through a carpeted seating space with high stools and tables to the front and padded benches and standard chairs on the left. The servery is a little way further back, to the right, with a dark wood bar counter and bar back embellished with some beautifully carved peacock feather detail. The peacock theme continues elsewhere in the shape of feather patterned wallpaper to the front and rear and some actual peacock feathers in vases on the window sills - a big improvement on twigs! There are dartboards at either end of the room, with the more sparsely furnished rear section seemingly being the best place to chuck a few arrows. A couple of old TV screens and a pull down screen near the entrance suggest that live sports might be shown, but I saw no concrete evidence. Stairs lead up to a similarly sized first floor with lots of additional seating and no less that four more dartboards. The peacock motif seems even more notable up here and I also spotted a juke box, with a good selection of music playing throughout my visit.
A pump clip display on the bar back hints at the pub's policy of putting on a varied range of interesting ales, but by the time I arrived, just before last orders on a Friday night, there was only one beer still available - Otter Bitter - with four more pumps left unclipped. My pint was well kept and the pub appears in the 2016 Good Beer Guide.
This is a well run pub that I imagine could generate a good atmosphere with a darts crowd in. The interesting ale range makes it a tempting prospect, although it was a shame to miss out, given the timing of my visit. A solid option and certainly worth a look in passing or as part of a crawl.

On 4th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Peacock

Unusual pub on the corner of an art deco block, seemingly little altered. Sparse furniture and decor in the bar, supplemented by a few more tables at first floor level. Features a pool table and several dart boards. The dark wood panelling give a rather cold feel, especially as the place was fairly empty when I visited. Just two of five handpumps were on, offering Ringwood Best and Butcombe Bitter (£3.75). Worth a visit for the architecture.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Peacock

A pub which retains its art deco style.Only 2 ales on ,both Timothy Taylor. Pleasant friendly bar staff.The only downside was that we were the only customers in the afternoon.

On 20th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Peacock

I'm rather surprised that so few of the usual suspects appear to have done this one yet.

It's situated close to Tower Gateway (DLR) and the Tower of London and is a largish pub built into the corner of an Art Deco office block, Ibex House.

It’s got quite a cosy, if unremarkable and slightly old fashioned interior with comfortable seating, wood panelling and part carpeting. It’s in marked contrast to most nearby City pubs where stand up drinking appears to be the norm and the most comfortable position you can usually get is to perch awkwardly on a tall stool or long bench.

There’s an upstairs room – no separate bar – with several pool tables and dartboards. There’s also a dartboard area downstairs.

The pub attracts a wider customer mix than just “suits” from nearby offices. There’s something of a proper local pub feel to the place with a good number of regular customers evidently known by name to the friendly staff.

The landlord is evidently a real ale enthusiast with a blackboard on the wall advertising the forthcoming Spring Ale Festival at Leyton Orient F C and also a local CAMRA branch East London Pub Crawl on 23 February ( coincidentally, the day of my visit).

There’s 4 pumps with 3 beers on during my visit – Welton’s Odd Shaped Balls, Hook Norton Hooky Ale and East London Brewery’s Foundation Ale. Upon ordering a pint of the latter, the friendly barman – who I took to be the landlord – urged me to try it first, pointing out that it was “quite northern” and that they had had quite a few grumbles about the bittery taste. ( Beer tasting bitter – oh dear, whatever next ?). Anyway, I thought it was a decent pint, quite hoppy and bittery. The pub has been in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the last few years.

This is a friendly, unpretentious and welcoming pub in an area where they appear thin on the ground. Do pop in if you get the opportunity

On 1st March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Peacock

The Peacock is at the bottom of a large office block that looks like a building from the art deco era.
This pub seemed pretty much unaltered inside and was like going back in time.
I stayed in the room that was on ground level and there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Wadworth Henrys IPA and this was a very nice drink the other beers were Butcombe bitter and Black Sheep bitter.
I thought this was quite a nice pub and the best one i have visited in this area.

On 19th May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hamish McLambat left this review about The Peacock

A strange Pub, well the building, not the Pub! Inside is your down to earth hostelry, with as has been said an excellent Pint. A little busy on a Friday immediately after work, but the efficient staff coped well. As for the toilets, like all Pubs they perhaps could do with some refurbishment, but they are certainly clean enough. Certainly the best Pint(s) I had in this area, and some of the most amusing and friendly customers; particularly the female birthday party with the girl wearing an L Plate, never did get to the bottom of that one?

On 3rd April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Albert Delcoe left this review about The Peacock

I was attracted to this Pub via Your Round, when they listed one of my favourite Ales as available. I checked my Good Beer Guide and was pleased to see it was listed; I was more pleased having had a Pint there. Not only do they keep an excellent pint, which is well worth his CAMRA listing, their staff are also extremely pleasant and friendly. In these days of high Pub closures, it is nice to find a ‘Boozer’ with traditional values.

As for the building, according to the guide it is Art-Deco (circa 1938), and the interior does support this, though obviously some modernisation has taken place.

The comment about the ale and the toilets is really not worth response given the CAMRA approval and the fact the loo is on the upper floor; doubtless the result of some Oik that has been ejected.

A well worthy entry to this year’s GBG, and I noted many previous ones. Congratulations.

On 16th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Peacock

Modern building trying for an older feel inside, with dark wood pannelling. Not too comfortable and overall a bit of a strange fit.

3 real ales, kept ok.

On 20th December 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Trevor Churchill left this review about The Peacock

Possibly the worst and smelliest (unless you like urine) pubs in London. Nothing can make me want to return to this place. Avoid if you enjoy real ale.

On 18th September 2010 - rating: 1
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]

Page: 1 2