User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Hung Drawn & Quartered, Tower Hill, EC3

27 Great Tower Street
EC3
EC3R 5AQ
Phone: 02076266123

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

I have scored this pub quite high, because of the stunning interior. Lots of oak panelling, large polished brass ceiling lamps, gilded cornice work and walls painted in a heritage blue with contrasting beige painted ceilings. Six handpumps, serving five Fullers beers and one guest, which was Dark Star Hophead. We went for the London Pride, which was in good condition, priced at £4.90 a pint.

On 19th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Not visited for a good few years, this is a Fuller's Ale & Pie House conversion of a former commercial building.
Ornate and opulent inside and a magnet for tourists visiting the Tower of London across the road.
Fuller's ales on offer, if you've been to one of Fuller's other similar outlets you know what to expect.

On 14th September 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 904 recommendations about 891 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Being a Fuller's Ale & Pie house, it had the usual range of Fuller's beers on, but also Black Sheep Holy Grail and Navigation New Dawn Pale presumably as guests. The food's not cheap, but why would it be in this part of the world? The steak and London Pride pie is £12.95.

This pub is housed in an old bank, as so many pubs in this part of the world are nowadays. It's an imposing building from the outside, but inside it's much smaller than you would expect. There are ornate capitalled pillars and gilded cornices decorating the room, and behind the bar there's a noose hanging as a nod to the first part of the medieval punishment after which the pub's named. Luckily the noose is a fairly flimsy affair, and certainly couldn't used in earnest. The area on the right of the room seems to be reserved for diners, but when I was in on Friday afternoon diners were eating wherever they felt, which is the pub norm of course.

This is a typical City bank conversion, although smaller than most. A plus is that they do serve guest ales. It's not a destination pub, but a reasonable place nonetheless.

On 31st May 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2504 recommendations about 2422 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Attractive Fuller's Ale & Pie house, located just far enough away from the Tower of London to avoid being over-run by tourists. Although not a historic inn, the interior has a pleasantly traditional feel (with the high ceiling balancing out the dark colour scheme and furniture). Seafarers, Pride, ESB, Bengal Lancer and the seasonal Jack Frost available on handpump on this visit. Worth stopping by if in the area.

On 21st December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5636 recommendations about 5636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Fullers Pie House currently covered in scadffolding. It seems small inside compared to the grander exterior, but has the usual high ceilings & grandness including columns, gold ornate coving & also a noose behind the bar.

Expensive, there is the usual range of Fullers beers though the quality was average.

On 18th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1207 recommendations about 1184 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Petersen left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Very nice pub; friendly staff, and most of all, fine beer: Visited the pub after a visit to Tower of London. We were a bunch of guys from Denmark on a football-trip to London, and we randomly fell over this pub. We don't regret.
Had a ESB and a Discovery well served. The ESB was great.
Is recommended, and I will visit it again if i'm in the neighbourhood.

On 18th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

A very pleasant Fullers pub and it has an historic feel although only 7 years old.Full range of their ales and pleasant staff.

On 20th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

A Fuller's Ale & Pie House situated a short walk from tower hill and the Tower of London. The interior and history as described below.

On 5th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2578 recommendations about 2522 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

This is a smart and compact Fullers pub located close to Tower Hill. The Grade II listed building dates back to 1914 when it was built as part of Christ's Hospital before finding its present calling as a pub back in 1996. The entrance takes you into an open, wooden floored space with the servery situated to the rear left. The left hand side of the pub has a couple of tables with low stools as well as a drinking ledge and high stools looking out of the front window. A TV was on in this part of the room, showing muted news coverage and there was also a 'Brewery Shop', which consisted of a small display of Fuller's branded tat (golf balls, rugby shirts etc...). The right hand side of the room was full of diners on my late-lunchtime visit, mostly seated on more low stools and again with a muted TV for company. This area is quite well lit and is probably best suited as somewhere to enjoy a meal. The rear of the pub on the other hand is quite dark thanks to the dark wood fittings and dimmed lighting. There is an attractive mosaic tiled floor, an unusual semicircular booth with high table and stools and a lot of large paintings of British monarchs. The servery is also mostly dark wood and has some old barrels on top of it as well as a gallows complete with noose, presumably to tie in with the pub's name. Music was playing quite loudly during my stay, although this may have been exaggerated by the complete lack of customers anywhere other than in the dining section.
A good range of Fuller's beers were available, with a choice of London Pride, Chiswick, ESB, Discovery, Mighty Atom (£3.10) and Red Fox. A very friendly barmaid gave me a warm welcome and offered me a taste of the Mighty Atom, explaining that it had divided opinion with her regulars. Having ordered a pint, she also offered me a taste of the Red Fox, explaining that it was her favourite and that I might want to give it a try as well. The Mighty Atom was quite tasty for such a low strength beer, although I'm not sure it really merited any more than the one pint.
All in all I thought this was a very pleasant pub with an interesting little interior, well kept beer and very friendly and welcoming staff. I'd have no hesitation in heading back here the next time I'm in this part of town.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2290 recommendations about 2290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Hung Drawn & Quartered

Interesting pub name taken from the chosen method of execution of traitors of the realm practiced on nearby Tower Hill in days gone past.
This place has a bit of a reverse Tardis effect going on, in that what looks like a large pub from the outside turns into a much smaller bar than you were expecting when you enter.
Fortunately, although it is situated on the corner of Lower Thames Street it benefits from having its own pedestrian area out front thus allowing a large area for outside drinking, which was being fully utilised by local office workers on the early evening of my visit. Although how all these city workers fit into the pub on a cold winter's day is a bit of a mystery.
Inside there's a smallish corner bar area dispensing the full range of Fullers ales and the décor benefits from having several reproductions of famous paintings of British Kings and Queens adorning the walls, including Holbein's famous portrait of the Henry VIII during his ‘bloater' period.
This could easily have been made into a tourist trap, but I think Fullers have largely managed to steer away from this and although not one of the best Fullers emporiums I've been in I found it a perfectly acceptable pub all the same.

On 28th September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1634 recommendations about 1583 pubs]

Page: 1 2