User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Red Lion, Moorgate, EC2

1 Eldon Street
EC2
EC2M 7LS
Phone: 02072475381

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Red Lion

A good looking street corner building almost equidistant between Liverpool Street and Moorgate stations,this has always been a popular after work city persons boozer,but an expanded ale range make it worth popping into if in the area.The ground floor bar room has a traditional bar back,mirrors ,lots of wood panels and a selection of high tables and chairs,it is quite small but folk spill out into the street in most weather.The flatscreen here will show football matches but is switched off when there is no action.The first floor dining and bar has further screens,but had closed on my early Saturday evening visit.
Ales on for my trip were GK IPA,Doom Bar,St Austell Tribute,Trumans Swift and Hammerton N1 ,on good form but at city prices.Better than I expected,I would be tempted to pop in again for a quick one.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Red Lion

A more traditional pub, at least externally, falling by just a few feet outside the City and into Hackney. If we'd known that this was a Taylor Walker pub we may well have avoided it, but it's one of the best yet encountered from the TW stable, though yes, the pictorial burger menus still persist. Otherwise it has wood panelling, traditional high tables and stools, a games machine and TVs showing the Olympics with the sound off; muted music played. Clients, unsurprisingly, were mainly drawn from the City - unlike many other TW venues, this one doesn't attract tourists.
Ales up: St. Austell's Tribute, Sharp's Doom Bar, Greene King's London Glory, Truman's Swift and Rio Gold at £2.20 a half and good it was too.
Worth a visit if in the area, but that said there's no real reason to actually visit this area.

Closes at 8.00 pm on Saturdays and 7.00 pm on Sundays.

On 20th August 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Red Lion

This is a small single room corner-site pub. There is apparently a dining room upstairs, but I didn't go wandering up there to investigate it. The pub itself only has one type of seating - tall stools either at a couple of tall tables in the centre of the room or at ledges around the sides. But for all that it does feel like a real pub, and I quite liked the ceiling panelling. Unfortunately the windows had rugby nation flags draped over them, limiting any natural light getting in - but maybe natural light's not seen as a good thing for a pub. It's a Taylor Walker pub so does offer CAMRA members a discount on real ale, and even with the discount applied our four pints still came in at over £4 a pint.

There was a reasonable selection of ales on for such a small pub though, with TW 1730 (Westerham); Purity Mad Goose; GK IPA; GK Lodon Glory; and Truman's Blindside all available. The usual Taylor Walker pub grub menu was also available of course. This is a reasonable pub bearing in mind its proximity to Liverpool St Station.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Red Lion

Small bar with plenty of dark wood.Very busy and loud music.Cask beers were Pride Trooper and Trumans -Lazerus which was good.

On 15th August 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Red Lion

A single bar pub that served up a very poor and vastly overprised pint of London fields Hackney Hopster by a very uninterested barmaid who obviously did not want to be there.

On 10th August 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Red Lion

The Red Lion is a traditional style pub close to Moorgate and Liverpool St stations and in my experience has been a better place to meet people at Liverpool Street than some of the pubs closer to the station. Its quite small so often gets pretty rammed at peak times, particularly with the after work crowd, but it settles down later in the evening. Actually it’s not a bad place to visit on a hot summers evening because the crowd is usually drinking on the pavements around the pub and once you get past the usual door hangers who think it is not their responsibility to move for you, the pub is fairly empty and it’s easy to get served.
Pleasant enough inside with a couple of snob screens to break up the internal space and usually there are five ale pumps operating on the bar. These tend to be nothing out the ordinary and the usual safe choices as Quinno mentions. The Tribute was still an option when I popped in again the other evening and this was a well kept pint.

On 29th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Red Lion

Not too bad for a City pub, with a ratio of after-work customers to space available usually marginally less than one (partly because, as is usual in these parts, many people can be found standing outside in the street). There is also an upstairs bar/dining area, and my only complaint is the unnecessarily loud music in the evening which just forces everbody to shout pointlessly. The beer from the five handpumps is normally in good condition, with offerings such as the Deuchars IPA, Wherry, Tribute, Doom Bar and Bombardier (£3.65) found on my last visit.

On 6th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Red Lion

A flying visit to this deceptively small street corner pub, close to Liverpool St station, turned up a decent if unspectacular watering hole. It’s set over two floors, though the upper part is only open at peak times. I managed to find a seat at the bar downstairs at the bar, which has a couple of nice touches to enable it to stop short of being just a bland space. Impressed to see five ales on – most of which were fairly safe choices (Harveys Best, Courage Directors, Pedigree, Youngs and Sharps Doom Bar) though decently-priced and the quality of mine was good. A muted TV was showing Sky Sports News. Whilst not worth going specially out of the way for, I found it to be a decent place and would pop back in again if nearby.

On 8th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Red Lion

Always a decent welcome here which, given how busy it can get post work, is admirable. Quality City boozer with a consistently good pint of Pride.

On 9th March 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Red Lion

This is a typical example of a small London boozer with an additional bar upstairs that I did not visit. I found the barman to be nice enough and my Guinness was well served. Butcombe, Greene king IPA, Deuchars and Pride were all available during my visit, but the Bombardier was off.

I wouldn't make a point of visiting here again, but would have no problem with a quick pint if passing.

On 27th September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]