User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Railway Tavern, Liverpool Street, EC2

15 Liverpool Street
EC2
EC2M 7NX
Phone: 02072833598

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Railway Tavern

A large pub across from Liverpool St Station and the Broadgate development, featuring one large, busy and rather noisy bar, and a smaller City bar open during the week and available for hire at other times. A large sports screen at one end overlooks proceedings, while the whole place feels a bit grubby and unloved. The Railway angle is provided by some railway company coats of arms over the bar, mostly from completely irrelevant areas such as Barrow and Stoke, just demonstrating how much thought went into it. Ales were IPA, Abbot, London Glory and Truman Swift: the latter was off, the preceding was undrinkable and the Abbot was just about passable. The pub is eminently passable, as quickly as possible.

On 21st July 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2195 recommendations about 2146 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Railway Tavern

This is a railway pub whose website states that it's in Whitechapel. Eh? This pub is no more in Whitechapel than it is in White Hart Lane.
Reviews below paint an accurate picture of this unappealing place, devoid of décor with lavatories that open out into the main bar area, TVs, projector TVs, loud music and more games machines than your average amusement arcade.
Indifferent staff served up Greene King's IPA and London Glory, Moreland's Old Speckled Hen and Brentwood's Golden Galaxy at a very reasonable £2.05 a half and good.
I'd give this place 2 points, the extra point was awarded on account of the decent Golden Galaxy. Needless to say, I won't be returning.

On 25th August 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 956 recommendations about 941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Railway Tavern

Nothing has inspired me to return to this pub and dispite earlier attempts to make a sow out of a pigs ear nothing will. Bare floors and tables with a range of real ales that would make a alcoholic sign the pledge. Unforunately it appears to have survived the crossrail carnage,unlike the far superiour White Hart down the road. There is no justice.

On 10th August 2014 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Railway Tavern

The biggest inducement to drinking in this pub has to be its location directly outside Liverpool Street station. A two bar pub, the main room has wooden flooring for the most part, with a few tiles around the bar area. For some strange reason, most of the seating is in the shape of high tables and stools which doesn’t make for the most relaxing time. Big windows can be opened out to the pavement outside, but roadworks meant that this wasn’t really possible, with a few smokers crammed into the small passage of pavement still accessible. The room is fairly devoid of character, with a few crests hanging above the servery being the main attraction, although a couple of TV screens showing cricket captured a fair few people’s attention, as did the loud music blaring on a Wednesday evening. A passageway leads out to the smaller City Bar, also with bare floorboards and high tables. This room struck me as a bit tatty and uncared for, and the ale-free bar was a pain, as I ended up with a Guinness after the barmaid failed to point out that ale is available in the other bar. A small upstairs area is available with some comfy looking seating and is probably best utilised by diners wanting to try the decent looking menu.
Hand pumps eventually located, I suddenly wasn’t too upset with my Guinness, as an entirely underwhelming selection of Greene King IPA and Abbot Ale and Morland Old Speckled Hen was awaiting me.
I can’t really find much to get excited about with this pub. It’s not the worse place you could find yourself in should you be passing through the station. I suspect you could turn up again a few years later and find things exactly as you left them. An unadventurous, generic pub experience.

On 15th June 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2471 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Manky Badger left this review about The Railway Tavern

Thoroughly awful youth club where students shout at Sky Sports

At first sight they seemed to have four ales on. Two went off as soon as I asked. 4/10 is generous.

On 25th February 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 155 recommendations about 154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Railway Tavern

Popped into the City Bar for a half of Peroni and it was empty so after noticing the upstairs seating and additional limited standard draught I popped into the bar next door which was much more what I'd expect from a pub. The Aussie barman was very friendly in this decent sized bar with a plasma at either end and the facility to show Sky Sports.

The standard Greene King Ales are available alongside a larger standard selection than the City Bar and again Peroni.

For a station pub this is a decent place, it's just a shame about the pungent smell of Ketchup polluting the air.

I wouldn't be put out if I had to go here again.

On 29th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Railway Tavern

It's a so so pub whose main redeeming feature is its close proximity to Liverpool St. Station.
Three distinct bar areas and plenty of plasma screens in both upstairs and downstairs bars and when it gets warm the large glass windows of the downstairs bars get fully opened, so the pub is fairly airy at ground level even when packed.
Downside is standard GK Ales on offer and I didn'y see any guests on my visit.
So in conclusion an OK pub for a pint close to Liverpool St. Station if you can't be bothered to walk a little bit further to find something better.

On 30th May 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andrew parr left this review about The Railway Tavern

Large old pub near Liverpool St station,known locally as the cowshed.On last visit 16/03/09 I was charged a stunning £3.50 a pint

On 17th March 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 105 recommendations about 100 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Railway Tavern

Appears to be a Greene King pub (Abbot, IPA, etc.) but I couldn't see a brewery sign. Nothing special, with it's most noteworthy feature being a bank of four slot machines along the end wall which blink and flash furiously in a rather annoying manner.

On 28th February 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]