User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon), EC2

Unit 32, The Concourse, Liverpool Street Station
EC2
EC2M 7PY
Phone: 02072473579

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

As station bars go, this one is a darned sight better than most. The vintage hotel ballroom has now been converted into a large eating and drinking space, which is exactly what you would expect of a 'spoons. As described by previous reviewers, the decor is incredibly ornate, with its sky blue and gold colour scheme reminiscent of the Russian czars' summer palaces. The usual mix of furnishings are here, with those on the upper mezanine floor seemingly more comfortable than those occupied by the hoi poloi on the ground floor.

The prices here are more expensive than those at most London 'spoons, although of course not so in comparison with London prices generally. I did'nt buy the round here so can't comment on beer prices, but the traditional breakfast that is £3.19 in my local 'spoons was £4.59 here. Nonetheless, this one is certainly worth visiting. I don't think they have a quiet time here, but our visit at a slightly less busy time before noon on a weekday allowed us the luxury of being able to have a look round.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

A splendidly ornate interior in what is a former hotel ballroom, there are moulded nymphs on the upper walls, large mirrors, Rubenesque paintings, gilded cornices and other such features. The ceiling is very high indeed and has enabled a mezzanine area to be installed up a curved stair, complete with its own bar, albeit with a lesser range than the main bar below. Large double storey height windows let in lots of natural light. Very bust early Saturday afternoon, lots of football fans in and vertical drinking the order of the day but quieter and more civilised upstairs. The train departure board is a useful feature.
Several guest ales on and for once, no "coming soon" clips, my Kelham Island Pale Rider was in good shape if pricier than a suburban JDW at £3.15. A decent station pub.

On 25th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

An impressive interior and well worth a visit for this alone. We took our drinks up to the Mezzanine floor, which was pleasant enough and gave a good view of the detailed ceiling work and a good overall view of the main space. Our beer choice was Mauldons Suffolk Pride and Brewsters Decadence, both were in great shape. Also the service in here was quick and the staff helpful with our directions.

On 9th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 08/08/2014

A year on and the place has been refurbished and I had much better luck with the beer this time. I ordered a pint of Caledonian Barley Brown's Black IPA (£3.10) and as should be the case with a GBG listed Spoons it was in superb condition. I'm still not convinced about here but the score is upped to 6.


Visit 09/08/2013


It's many years since I last set foot in here. Back then the beer tended to be variable and as it is currently GBG listed I expected better. The place seemed smaller than I recall, possibly because there is still a lump of scaffolding stuck in the middle of the room. It wasn't too busy inside as most people chose to drink outside.

I went for the Conwy Shipwreck (£3.05) which was cloudy and not good at all. I pointed this out to the woman behind the bar and she told ne that if had been like that all day. It's nice to see a GBG entry knowingly selling cloudy beer all day long. To be fair to her she did offer a replacement but I declined as I had a train to catch and couldn't see anything else I wanted to try.

For a Spoons to sell beer at over £3 a pint in that condition is a complete disgrace and even worse when it's GBG listed.

On 10th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Impressive JDW literally just outside the exit of Liverpool St Station (from the listed address I expected it to be somewhere inside before the escalators). Formerly the ballroom of the Great Eastern Hotel, it’s done up Regency style inside with incredibly high ceilings, plenty of ornate plaster mouldings, friezes, huge wall mirrors and gilt decoration. Two levels, ground floor filled with vertical drinkers, with a mezzanine containing its own bar (not open) that was a little calmer than the pulsating sea of bodies below. Plasma screen showing live departure boards are a useful bonus. Less impressed at the bar – beers were running out left right and centre, not good for a Saturday. My initial choice went back as it was flat and murky, exchanged without fuss for a so-so Marstons Sweet Chariot. Worth popping in when quiet to admire the stunning interior, but I doubt I’d make much effort to revisit beyond convenience value, it just didn't radiate any real warmth.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Not being a lover of JDW pubs in general I found myself to be quite impressed with the very ornate interior, that though was really the extent of my appreciation,the beer range found last Saturday morning was rather underwhelming and less than I was expecting, I tried the Whitehorse Scourers Brew,the only beer that was new to me,and while the condition was good the beer itself was not very exciting.The place was pretty busy as you would expect,but this didn't enhance any great atmosphere,a good place to meet up which was the purpose on the day,but I found the place rather sterile and wouldn't go out of my way to re visit.However for fans of interiors its a must.My rating of 5 is for the actual pub experience, the interior is worth a 9.

On 10th February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

This station concourse bar is spread over two levels, a large open bar with a mezzanine. There are serveries on both levels, although the upstairs one didn't seem to be operating. The former ballroom of the Great Eastern Hotel, the pub is impressive to enter, with beautifully restored plaster mouldings and huge wall mirrors. It opened in 1991 and has been recently redocorated. I found the staff inefficient and unfriendly, the customers a mix of travellers, ale lovers and people who just wanted a beer and a lunchtime snack. The range of beers on was disappointing – four ales and one cider on draft. I had a pint of Caledonian Deuchres which was in good condition and rather enjoyable. Worthwhile, and a great place to start a crawl.

On 9th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

If pubs can be described as beautiful then this one is. Mobbed with late night drinkers but the service was fast and friendly.(not often you hear that about a Wetherspoon pub.)Both beers I tried were superb.

On 2nd February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

March 2012
There seems to have been an improvement in terms of ale range here from the two banks of 5 handpumps on the ground floor,with no doubling up of the Abbott,Ruddles Bitter etc .The 5 handpumps upstairs serve the same beers as available downstairs.It's still a drinking barn,but getting better.
ORIGINAL REVIEW March 2010
Worth popping in to view the elaborate interior,this JDW is a vertical drinking barn with multiple fruit machines and tastless furniture spoiling the grandure.The large banner crowing about their entry in the 2010 Good Beer Guide is a misnomer,invariably the ale range is limited to the usual suspects Pedigree,Courage Best,Ruddles,etc with few genuine guest ales.Beer quality can also be variable.I have to admit using their gents(and not buying a beer) when at Liverpool Street station rather than fumbling about for 30p in change to use the station facilities.Sorry Tim.

UPDATE
The refurb has made a big difference and has restored grandeur to the building.Gone are the bookcases ,replaced by an impressively large mirror.Thorough upgrade to the paint scheme,the interior is now worth a visit alone.New lavs ,with the former gents now converted to a quiet seating areas with booths,away from the main hubbub.Well done to all concerned,higher rating warranted.

On 5th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Hamilton Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Closed on 19th October for a six-week refurbishment, which will hopefully mean they fix the ceiling and the scaffolding that has been a feature for months will go.

On 22nd October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3