User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Scores with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Flying Horse, Moorgate, EC2

52 Wilson Street
EC2
EC2A 2ER
Phone: 02072475338

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Flying Horse

Traditional central London pub with a 'L'-shaped bar, dark wood-panelling, busy after work so very shouty, limited furniture to leave some space for vertical drinking but still many customers out on the pavement on a sub-zero evening, etc. Four of six handpumps in use, offering two from Sharp's - Doom Bar and Coaster - plus a pair of Truman's - Swift and Runner (£4.45).

On 3rd February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Flying Horse

A traditional down-to-earth, no-nonsense boozer located just behind Finsbury Square in an area that has been pretty modernized over the last few years. An L shaped interior with some varnished wood panelling and aged pub carpet. Known as a wallet-friendly place (in local context) and didn’t disappoint on that score, well-under £3.50pp. Five ales on; Truman's Swift, Brains Bread of Heaven, Doom Bar, Tribute and one other. I went for the first two and sadly both were pretty pedestrian, with quite a muddy and muted feel to them which makes me wonder how aged the lines are. Filled up pretty quickly as mid-afternoon turned into early evening with a loud but convivial crowd. In short - nice boozer, good prices, shame about the beer quality.

On 1st March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Flying Horse

Well described below, this is a pub which has eschewed gentrification and sits on the City fringe, technically being in the borough of Hackney. The rather nice illuminated Courage cockerel red square sign has recently been junked, which is a pity. Inside it's a bit scruffy with a dirty carpet, part wood panelled and tatty furniture - a bit of a traditional backstreet boozer then, and none the worse for that. There was a games machine - not my cup of tea - and at least two TVs showing what my iPhone described as 'plum pics'. Fortunately nothing that ominous, rather predictive text for the Olympics, with the sound muted.
Customers were drawn from City suits and locals, drawn from where I know not.
Ales? 1 clip reversed, Sharp's Atlantic, Timothy Taylor's Golden Best, Harvey's Sussex Best and Twickenham's Naked Ladies which was good and biblical value at just £3.00 a pint - I can't remember the last time I paid £3.00 for a pint in London. Perhaps when David Lloyd George was in Downing Street?
This pub was a decent surprise and I'd happily come here again. Ditching the TVs, games machine and the awful carpet would garner at least one if not two extra points.

On 10th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Flying Horse

This pub looks good from the outside, with the traditional rounded panel on the corner bearing the name of the pub, with said name also carved in stone on the corner parapet. But inside it's fairly ordinary, unless I'm missing something. There's a bit of old carpet at the front of the pub, with bare-boarding at the rear. Some normal tables and chairs and tall tables/tall stools. We sat at one of the latter in the absence of the former being available, right next to an illuminated advertising panel on the wall flashing brightly in a distracting and annoying way. I've seen a couple of these recently - new trend perhaps, but predictable I suppose as every flat surface seems to be fair game for advertisers these days. One unusual "feature" is the panelling above the bar counter covered in hundreds of photographs, presumably of people celebrating events at the pub. The front wall is dominated by two games machines and two fruit machines.

There are various chalkboards around the place, one extolling us to try one of their cask ales. As it happens we didn't really need their encouragement on that score. The ale selection wasn't bad as it happens, with Woodford Wherry, GK IPA, Tring Brewery Drop Bar, and Vale Brewing Vale Pale Ale all on. I saw "pub grub" advertised, but didn't see a menu. This is a reasonable enough pub without being anything very special. But it has a massive plus in being a real pub that does a decent selection of real ale.

On 22nd February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Flying Horse

Nice traditional L shaped bar.Absolutely rammed with people watching the rugby.Quick service though.4 beers on inc Caledonian --over the bar and a tasty malty Palmers -best bitter.Nice to see an old style pub surviving In this area.

On 7th February 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Flying Horse

Good traditional drinkers pub on the periphery of the Broadgate area with its plethora of overpriced bars. Six hand pumps and they had Deuchars, Youngs Special, Ringwood Bitter and Courage Best on my visit. Lots of bar space, high tables and places to lean or rest a beer makes it a good place for vertical drinking. Friendly service and a good atmosphere.

On 10th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Flying Horse

The Flying Horse is a very good unpretentious traditional corner pub, close enough to be a decent alternative to the sterile bars in the Broadgate centre.
The ground floor L shaped bar provides a traditional wood panneled interior decor and has a flat screen tele and a couple of Fruit machines. The bar supports six handpumps but were only dispensing GK IPA, Courage Best and Ringwood Best at the time of my visit, but the Ringwoods was a very nice pint.
So I found this to be a good comfortable tradition type pub close to the city and only really missing a more interesting ale choice from the six pumps available.

On 28th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Flying Horse

The first thing that I noticed upon entering here was the lack of the pool table and dartboard as advertised outside, but I have since been informed that they are located in a room upstairs.

I was served by two different barmaids, one of whom was very friendly and I found the other customers to be amiable enough.

Greene King IPA, Ordinary and Webster's Green Label were available alongside a selection of standard draught products from which I had a couple of decent pints of Guinness. There is a basic pub grub menu and the pizzas are certainly worth a punt.

I spotted a plasma screen which was showing Sky Sports News feed which was muted, but I saw no live sport advertisements although I would be surprised if a pub of this nature didn't have the facility.

I liked it in here and I would return.

On 27th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]