User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Wilmington, EC1

69 Rosebery Avenue
EC1
EC1R 4RL
Phone: 02078371384

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Metropolitan Pub Co (Greene King)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Wilmington

Made a lunchtime visit to this one when visiting the nearby Postal museum and have to say it was completely fit for purpose as a smart comfortable food orientated pub with some decent ales.
The usual minimalist stripped out gastro décor is very much in evidence with bare brick walls and the usual pastel colours but with some nice period photos to try and add a bit of character and interest.
Now knocked through but the central Island servery does form a bit of a barrier between the pubby front lounge section and the restaurant section behind with all the tables laid for dining which does benefit from the large skylight in this section.
Yes, part of the Metropolitan Pub Co range of Greene King but fortunately only GK IPA was on for my visit and the badged house beer Stay and Griffin was nowhere to be seen. Instead there was Truman’s Swift, Hogs Back TEA, and Naked Ladies and Yakima Valley ABA from the Twickenham Brewery available on the other four, which wasn’t shabby at all. We tried the two Twickenham brews and they were in good nick. There are also two banks of chrome pumps either side of the Ales and I did notice a decent selection of modern craft kegs from London craft breweries on these also
The food menu leans towards gastro but isn’t overly pretentious, especially as there is a brunch menu served until 5.00PM which included a English Breakfast at £9.50 that hit the spot for us on this cold and miserable day. And the experience was added to by the friendly and efficient service levels we experienced from the cheerful female bar and restaurant staff.
I agree this pub has clearly lost some pub character in its move to a dining pub and I probably would have been more comfortable in the nearby Exmouth Arms. But the good lady was far more comfortable here and some days that’s more important.
So for what this pub sets out to do, it does it very well.

On 5th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1701 recommendations about 1650 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Wilmington

This incarnation was rebuilt probably in the '20s or more likely the '30s with exterior stone Stag and Griffin motifs to the parapet alluding to this being a former Watney's and Reid's pub, which is of historic interest. The interior is very much contemporary, modern and stripped out. There's the odd quiz here and sometimes it's packed with diners, at other times just drinkers. It's also relatively quiet too.
Several ales on rotation at any one time from recollection, decent in quality and reasonably priced for the area.
Worth a stop if in the area and open at weekends too.

On 29th November 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Wilmington

Smart, rustic pub with stripped boards, bricked interior and large Georgian windows.

Quite spacious for a street corner pub, bit trendy & foody but with 5 real ales.

On 21st November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Wilmington

This is a large street corner Greene King pub with a stripped out feel and a separate dining area. The interior has been knocked through to form what essentially feels like a single, huge room divided only by the centrally positioned servery. The bar has a dark wood counter with a rather ill-fitting light wood top and a bare brick bar back. On entering, the left hand side of the pub acts as the bar and is split into two sections by a brick and iron lintel archway. High tables and stools dominate the front part, with padded banquettes down the left hand side under the large windows. Bare brick walls have been broken up a little by a few old black and white photos of local interest and to the rear there is a nice clock and a light feature in the shape of a stag's head, but otherwise, there is very little of interest to distract the eye. The right hand side of the pub houses the restaurant, where you'll find lots of standard tables and chairs arranged formally, plus a few banquettes with an open kitchen to the rear surrounded by white tiles. Elsewhere, the walls are half panelled, with more old photos on show and a framed cutlery display (yes, really!) and an impressive 19th Century skylight which brightens up the rear half and was apparently restored as part of a recent refit of the pub. A good indie soundtrack played throughout my Friday evening visit and there was a steady stream of customers through the doors without the place being too overcrowded.
With this being a Greene King pub, I was slightly apprehensive about the possible ale choices, but it wasn't too bad, with Greene King IPA and a house ale called Stag and Griffin Ale, ably supported by Sharps Atlantic, Sambrooks Junction and Triple fff Citra Sonic. A decent keg selection with a few less frequently seen brands was also available. I had a good pint of the Citra Sonic served by a friendly, if somewhat dim, barmaid.
This place felt like a lot of the warmth and character had been ripped out of it when it was last refurbished. Despite the fact that there was a clearly defined separate dining area, the whole place felt like a bland gastro pub and I really can't imaging how anyone could settle down here for an evening's drinking.

On 23rd May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2492 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Wilmington

This pub splits naturally into two halves with the drinking area running along the front ,while to the rear is an extensive restaurant .Although open plan,the front bar splits into two sections which in the past would have been two rooms being served by the long bar.The floor is wooden,the ceilings high and with muzak blaring on my Friday afterwork visit,this is certainly a noisy pub when busy.There are two banquettes in the drinking area with a smattering of other traditional furniture but seating is at a premium.The restaurant also has trad furniture and looks quite classy but I didn't investigate further,I was only here for the beer.There are 5 handpumps with two GK brews in IPA and "house" Stag & Griffin which I avoided.The guest choice was Sharp's Perfect Storm,Hopstuff Fusilier (decent but £2 the half) with Vale First Call sporting an "available soon " notice,highly annoying so minus 1 point.There are 14 keg taps although a lot are doubled up and some have global brands but there are some craft beer options.
It's in the 2016 GBG but I wasn't impressed by the real ale range and the pub lacked authenticity and charm,I much prefer the Exmouth Arms across the road.

On 25th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Wilmington

Bar restaurant with an original tiled exterior and a central island bar serving 5 real ales and food.

On 29th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2700 recommendations about 2644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Wilmington

This pub has been refurbished and is a smart comfortable pub. Food is served but they also have 4 handpumps. My Trumans -Bold as Brass was very good. Still Greene King but unbranded. The house beer Stag and Griffin is a rebadge from GK.

On 21st December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Wilmington Arms

This pub was handily placed when it started raining when I was walking to the bust stop this afternoon. It seems to be a Greene King house, (judging by Olde Trip and Abbot Ale being on) but also had Brain’s Rev James on (£3.60 a pint) as a guest. There was no-one still eating when I was in at about 14.30 today, but the smell of cooked fish was still wafting around, and I spotted a chalkboard on the wall offering daily specials (all around the £8 mark) such as homemade Chicken Kiev, with chips, salad, and alioli.
Furnishings are a bit on the modern and Spartan side – wooden benches, hard wooden settles and chairs, a couple of sofas, and some small stools. There is a live music venue at the back. I don’t think there’s anything special about this pub, but it does qualify for the “OK” grading.

On 8th June 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Wilmington Arms

Jekyll’s Gold and Olde Trip were available on my recent visit alongside a premium draught selection and my pint of Guinness was very nice.

This is a gastro pub with music pictures and posters on the walls and there is a separate room next door which I’d imagine has live bands which elevate this place out from the gastro norm.

Unfortunately for this pub I’d rather play darts, but this isn’t a bad place and I wouldn’t deter anyone from visiting.

On 11th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Wilmington Arms

Quite a decent and well priced gastropub with a friendly and new feel to it. Had a good pint of Bath Gem and I think they also had Hare Flick on. The menu has a range of specialist pies at £8 and wine goes for around £12 - £15 a bottle.

On 6th June 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]