User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

Sir Christopher Hatton, EC1

4 Leather Lane
EC1
EC1N 7RA
Phone: 02074049436

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Nicholson’s pub housed in a soulless modern office block the split level interior has a bit more character than you might expect.

On 9th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2647 recommendations about 2590 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

The name is taken from a former chancellor and rumoured lover of Elizabeth I and local land owner whose name is taken for Hatton Garden, home to diamond geezers both legitimate and otherwise, the local 88-90 Hatton Garden being the site of a recent infamous jewel heist. Indeed, this venue occupies part of a building site occupied by department store Gamages until 1972, now home to a building which until recently housed De Beers' diamond repository in its basement.
I haven't been in here since it was the Goose around 14 years ago, so can't really remember it.
It's essentially a lower ground floor fake 'old' pub with a rough stone floor with bar to the rear. Lavatories are downstairs along with the cellar bar where my group was to convene. As such it's quite typical of a place that has a faux 'historic' pitch so you probably know what to expect except that it's better than average without flashing TV screens or loud music.
Quite comfortable inside with around 5-6 ales; I couldn't see them all as a couple of bar hogs spoiled the view. I opted for a pint of the Adnam's Fat Sprat which was fine and competitively priced.
In all this isn't a bad place and is better than one would expect but unless you're desperate, there's better to be found eastward in Smithfield rendering a return visit otiose.

On 24th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 930 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Being a Nicholson's pub there was a decent range of ales on - Nicholson's Pale Ale (St Austell), 6X, Doom Bar, Leeds Gathering Storm, Ramsgate Brewery Great British Beer (with Al Murray on the pump clip!) (£1.90 a half), and By The Horns Joe's Tea Co. Apparently Joe's Tea Co (rather unsurprisingly) contains tea and bergamot oil. The barman kindly gave me a taster, and the taste of tea was a bit over the top. Not my cup of tea I might say. I didn't see a menu at the ledge where I sat, but there were plenty of people eating at the normal tables and chairs on a raised area at the front by the windows. Being a Nicholson's pub I wouldn't expect the menu to hold any surprises.

Apart from on the aforementioned raised area, seating in the main bar area was all tall tables, backless tall stools and at ledges. There are a fair number of seats out at the front, which is not a bad place to sit as the pub is set back from the main road down a pedestrian thoroughfare. The main bar area has a flagstone floor, and as it is set well back from the small windows at the front I found it quite a gloomy place. The beer quality and choice was good, but as a pub it didn't really rock my boat. It felt a bit like being in a subterranean dive.

On 15th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Just a minute or two from Chancery Lane tube station, this is a large, smart Nicholson's pub set slightly below street level which, as the previous reviewer points out, can make it feel like a subterranean bar. The main bar is a wide room with the servery, split in two by a large brick pillar, on the rear wall. The quarry stone floor bar area has a number of rustic looking pillars surrounded by drinking ledges, allowing for a good amount of vertical drinking space. The bar itself has a dark wood counter and a number of mirrors on the bar back, including one etched glass 'Nicholson's' mirror. High padded bench and stool seating can be found over to the left hand side, where a couple of sofas are also available and a large TV screen was turned off in favour of quiet background music. To the front there is a raised section with dark floorboards covered by a huge rug and standard tables and chairs that seem ideal for those wanting to eat. The room is decorated with old pictures, adverts and other framed bits and bobs, but it's all rather understated and feels a bit bland. Stairs over to the right lead down to a cellar bar and dining room which is typical of other dining rooms in Nicholson's London pubs and had a bar on the end wall, notably with hand pumps. My visit was quite late on a weekday evening, so there were only a few other customers in and the bar staff seemed more concerned with getting everyone out rather than having to serve a new customer.
The ale selection was the usual Nicholson's mix of popular standards and slightly more obscure regional brews. The full range on this visit was Sharps Doom Bar, Marstons Pedigree, Purity Ubu, Orkney Dark Island, St Austell Proper Job, Truman's Runner and My Generation Session Pale. The Dark Island is one of my 'go-to' beers normally, but on this occasion I was let down by a very poor quality pint which I was happy to write off and put right in the nearby Craft Beer Co.
I found this place lacking in any real character, admittedly not helped by the fact it was almost empty, and would suggest this is one of the city's weaker Nicholson's venues. There are lots of good pubs around the Chancery Lane area which means this place might work as part of a crawl but is unlikely to get a look in if I have to be more selective.

On 18th April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Feels very much like a cellar bar, despite being down just a few steps under a modern office block. Having said that, the main bar and side seating areas are well lit so the place actually isn't that gloomy. More tables at the front, under an arcade and out on the pavement. Seven real ales from a total of 12 handpumps: Nicholson's Pale Ale, Doom Bar, Truman's Runner, Harvest Pale, Pure UBU, Daleside Old Leg Over and Harviestoun Broken Dial (£3.75).

On 22nd March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Nothing really exciting on the beer choice on this visit, so I went for an old staple, London Pride. The staff were pleasant enough, and the service was good.

On 6th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2899 recommendations about 2899 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Agree with Steve not one of the best Nicolsons.Always the beer I want is coming soon.Handy if in the area but not for me.

On 16th September 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

I tend to not wander north up Leather Lane as I still have lurking remembrances of when I visited this pub a couple of times whilst it was a Goose under the M&B umbrella, and if you think this is not one of the better pubs in the Nicholson stable, then you really should have visited when it was a Goose. It’s a million times better now.
It’s still a bit of a soleless place as Nicholsons could not do a lot with the ground floor place except for renewing some of the furniture, but at least they have reverted back to the original name of this bar and given the downstairs bar a makeover and turning it into the dimly lit Candlelight bar. And of course the beer choice and quality has improved out of all recognition from when M&B had it.

On 2nd April 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

Good sized Nicholson’s pub, the main bar being down a short flight of steps from Leather Lane and hence a bit dark, and with a smarter ‘cellar bar and dining room’ underneath. The two rows of picnic benches and tables outside offer an authentic ‘drinking in a busy pedestrian street’ experience.

Of the 12 hand pumps, 6 were clipped with Pride, Tribute and Doombar twice each. On first recent visit, 4 of the others had ‘coming soon’ labels, with Moor’s Northern Star (at £3.35 and very refreshing on a summer afternoon) and Fullers’ Summer Ale on the remaining ones. A week later, the Summer Ale had changed to Thornbridge Jaipur. Food is standard Nicholson’s fare with mains at around £7-11.

This pub is okay to drop into if in the area, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to do so.

On 2nd September 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 270 recommendations about 269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Sir Christopher Hatton

The most notable part of my visit here was the dreadful pint of Guinness that I was served by the barmaid who knew that it was bad as she swapped pumps halfway through to try and get some life into the pint. I shouldn't have knocked a couple of mouthfuls back as I paid for it a couple of hours later whilst in the Seven Stars.

Anyway, this is a Nicholson's pub with a decent sized open plan bar with numerous picnic tables available for sitting outside. There is also a large cellar bar which was unfortunately closed during my visit as I visited before 5pm. Both of these bars are badly lit, but then most Nicholson's pubs are.

Pride, Landlord, Golden Best, Morrissey Blonde and Daleside's Autumn Leaves were available alongside Old Rosie and a standard and premium draught selection.

I can't see myself returning here again as there are so many better pubs in the area.

On 5th October 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]