User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Hat and Tun, EC1

3 Hatton Wall
EC1
EC1N 8HX
Phone: 02072424747

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Hat and Tun

Hidden just off the Clerkenwell Road is an old pub which has been somewhat gutted, but leaving the old wood panelling round the walls which does give some atmosphere. The side opposite the bar is occupied by a shuffleboard table. Draught ales appear to be Pride, Doom Bar and a local ale - condition was ok.

On 30th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Hat and Tun

Quite an attractive old pub, with a dark-wood interior but completely devoid of furniture in the bar area (which is presumably cleared for vertical drinking). However, there are a few plain tables around the periphery and a small lounge-like area at the back. Quite plainly decorated, apart from the stuffed animal heads / antler collection about the walls, and the popular shuffleboard table opposite the counter. Two of three handpumps in operation, dispensing Adnams Broadside and Doom Bar (normally £4.50, and which - to be fair - was in fine form). Price-wise, I happened to visit on a Tuesday when you have the opportunity to (ahem) 'Toss the Barman' - roll two dice, and get a pair of sixes to get your drinks free, or with an odd number (as I did) to obtain them at half price.

On 2nd December 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6220 recommendations about 6220 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Hat and Tun

Quite an old style pub with the old gantry still retained. 3 real ales and food served. Still has the animal heads.

On 20th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2761 recommendations about 2703 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Hat and Tun

An attractive quite traditional interior with a rare glass Charrington's panel inside the left entrance.

This pub was very busy on our visit, probably due to quiz but it was surprising just how busy it was compared to the deathly quiet of other Hatton Garden pubs - the dead animals on display provided more life than the neighbouring competition.

The ale front was disappointing with just Young's Bitter, a reversed clip and Gloom Bore at £2.10 a half.

We liked this place because of a superior pubby atmosphere - certainly better than the One Tun and Bleeding Heart and, ale aside, the Craft Beer Co.

On 25th March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Hat and Tun

A Victorian exterior that looks quite welcoming and once inside although now opened up and a little modernised, it has wooden floorboards and dark wood paneling as previously described, it still feels quite pubby,I had the apparent house beer, Jugged Hare, perfectly drinkable but not all that exciting. I sat underneath some of the aforementioned animal heads but they didn't really put me off, its ok here but run off the mill so not really a place I would seek out.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Hat and Tun

We saw this pub from Clerkenwell Road and decided to give it a go. The pub is owned by a company called ETM and have a few outlets around London, another one of their pubs we visited was the Angel and Crown on St Martin's Lane. Their pubs have an ale brewed for them by Sambrooks called Jugged Hare, so we went for that. The heating was on full on our visit and this made it very uncomfortable.
We too don't like looking at stuffed animals heads on the walls, leave that for the Natural History Museum.

On 11th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Hat and Tun

The stuffed animals heads and antler on the wall is to me a big turn off.3 handpumps and the Otter beer was good but not a pub I would re-visit.

On 13th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Hat and Tun

There were three ales on in here – Adnam’s Southwold Bitter, Doom Bar and London Pride. They were running some sort of gimmick called “toss the barman”. As innuendos go it’s very “Carry On”, but it seems the idea is that you roll the dice and this affects what, if anything, you pay for your drinks. Not being fans of gimmicks, we ignored the dice, paid for our drinks and sat down and drank them. Food is clearly a big deal here, and is just on the margins of pub grub. Pie and Mash is £8.50, or £10.50 with their “pie and a pint” deal. I also noticed that the “Rare breed dexter beefburger, plus cheese and bacon” is £11.

The pub exterior is typically Victorian, with the name of the pub set in stone on the parapet. Inside it’s been opened up. The bar back looks an original feature, and there is plenty of dark wood panelling but apart from a bit around the staff doorway at the back of the main room it all looks like modern replacement stuff to me. Furnishings are solid wooden tables and normal chairs. The antlers, stuffed animal heads, and stuffed and mounted fish are still there and, and effectively form the wall decor. There are a few green tiles next to the left hand side doorway that could be original, but on the whole it’s a modernish interior of a pub that’s got a bit of the gastro bug. But the service was friendly, and the ale falls into the “OK” category – as does the pub as a whole.

On 15th September 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Hat and Tun

One roomed foody pub with bare boarded floor, high ceilings and a central pillar support. The large bar takes up a lot of the space.

Stuffed animal heads on the walls.

Nothing really special or relaxing, its probably known for its food, though it was a nice pint of Sambrooks Wandle.

On 31st January 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Hat and Tun

Like many City pubs they close at the weekend (except for private parties). Fairly typical of a city wannabe gastropub but has retained some traditional characteristics. It's a nice looking pub with wood floors, lots of wood panelling and some large mirrors and etched glass. Nice and bright due to the large windows and high ceilings. There are some rather macabre stuffed animals mounted either side of the bar, badgers, foxes, stags antlers, even a couple of boars heads. Service was good and the barman was very chatty. Three handpumps, London Pride and two Adnams, I had a couple of pints and both were OK but served far too cold.

A bit of history here, this pub used to be called Deux Beers which I always thought was quite apt given it's location in the Hatton Garden diamond trade area.

On 8th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 743 recommendations about 679 pubs]