User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
PuG Reviews - Appreciation Thread with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Exmouth Arms, EC1

23 Exmouth Market
EC1
EC1R 4QL
Phone: 02035514772

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Exmouth Market has certainly become much more hip and trendy since the last time I was here and the Exmouth Arms is no exception. It's now a fairly trendy place. albeit reasonably quiet during the daytime.

The pub occupies a prominent position on a street corner and the exterior is quite impressive.

The open-plan room inside is much more minimalist, but still makes for a nice drinking environment. With only one other customer present, staff seemed to outnumber customers by at least 2 to 1.

3 real ales were on - Burning Sky Plateau, Buxton Blonde & Northern Monk Eternal. In addition, there was a good selection of craft beers on tap and in bottles.

On 29th June 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 863 recommendations about 863 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Very pretty ex-courage house - with all green external tiling.

Good Beer Guide 2020 entry and unusually for the area, late opening on weekends until after midnight.

This of course meant it was a bit loud for my tastes - all pumping music for the late night crowd.

On 1st March 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 845 recommendations about 837 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Attractive ex-Courage pub with dark-green external tiling and a semi-traditional, partly opened-out interior. Although on a corner, and with large windows on two sides, it was already getting gloomy inside during my late afternoon visit. However, all four handpumps were in use - dispensing Castle Rock's Hat-trick, Slippery When Wet from Revolution, Thornbridge Astryd and Henry Smith Best Bitter (£4.50) - so hardly cheap, but not a bad selection of cask ales. The dozen keg taps also offer some interesting craft beers too.

On 8th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Exmouth Arms

A very traditional looking pub in the heart of Exmouth Market, it occupies a good sized corner plot and is clad with green glazed tiling on the exterior. A number of picnic benches were outside, and this was a popular spot on our recent Sunday evening visit.

Internally it’s all one single, open plan room with dark wooden boards on the floor and dark green wood panelling on the lower part of the walls. At least, I think it was dark green, but it was so gloomy in there it was difficult to tell for sure. Large windows on two sides with stained glass around the top must let in plenty of light during the day time, but it really did seem remarkably dark of an evening. If it were a cosy old pub that not something I’d normally complain about, but the noisy and vibrant atmosphere somehow seemed rather at odds with the light levels. There was some exposed brick walling to the left, and a number of unusual black and white drawings of mythical creatures. Booth style seating was along one side, with regular round tables and chairs elsewhere.

Despite four pumps on the bar, only two were in use dispensing Navigator and Mercy from Great Heck. Perhaps they’d had a busy weekend, I’m not sure if that’s normally the case. Not a bad pub overall, but perhaps a bit more lively and noisy than the sort of thing that I’d normally go for.

On 8th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1771 recommendations about 1701 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Impressive looking pub with an interesting choice of ales. Well worth a visit.

On 7th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1230 recommendations about 1165 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Original Courage tiled exterior with a bare boarded/exposed brick front area and a more decorated area at the back. 4 real ales and "craft keg" served. Food served.

On 20th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2744 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Exmouth Arms

This impressive former Courage pub stands out from a distance thanks to its excellent green tile façade which is well worth taking in before entering. Inside, you find an opened out interior with the bar along the rear wall. The right hand side is more spacious, with large plain windows down two sides with some nice coloured diamond pattern stained panes above and fixed bench seating beneath. Standard tables and chairs fill the rest of the space, which was crammed full on a recent Friday evening visit. The rear wall is bare brick and has some surreal art works hung on it, whilst next to this, the bar has a dark wood counter and a bar back that is a mix of exposed brickwork and nice glazed tiles with a lot of pump clips on show. To the left of the bar, there is a smaller space painted in warm shades of red and with more unusual pieces of art on show. There are some smarter seating options on this side and a reasonable amount of standing room, but it was notably more cramped here than over to the right. There was music playing throughout my visit at a fairly loud volume, but it didn't stand a chance against the incredible din created by the large crowd, which was amplified by a lack of soft furnishings, to almost unbearable levels.
I had two attempts at visiting this pub. The first was abandoned after getting stuck behind a row of highly annoying bar blockers and then being repeatedly ignored by the frankly useless bar staff who served people at random, irrespective of how long they had been waiting. After popping round the corner to the Wilmington, I came back for a second attempt and thankfully found the bar area a bit quieter and got served pretty much straight away (probably at the expense of someone who had been waiting far longer than me). Four handpulls offered Allgates Seven Feet, Hop Stuff Oatmeal Stout, Revolutions Red Right Hand and London Beer Factory Chelsea Blonde. My pint of the Seven Feet was pretty good, but the effort to actually get hold of it diminished my enjoyment somewhat.
I can see why this pub is held in high regard by some, as the place serves good beer and has a reasonably pleasing interior with decent seating options. However, I found the service next to useless and the place all but deafening with a large crowd inside. I'd be tempted to give this place another try, perhaps at a quieter time of the day, but based on this visit, I won't be rushing to do so.

On 23rd May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Exmouth Arms

ORIGINAL REVIEW Dec 2015
Great exterior green tiling,this street corner pub has been refurbed into a trendy drinking establishment ,but I wish the interior wasnt so dark,it was difficult to read the pump clips in the gathering gloom.The wooden floor,old style furniture and 15 keg taps give it a strong hipster vibe but the four handpumps serving Revolution Go Go (APA),Hop Stuff Renegade IPA,Pin Up Winter Stick and Watling Street Premium Ale (decent) was a comforting sight.The barstaff were friendly and efficient and with some top brewers featuring on keg (a Magic Rock 12%er might have been interesting had this not been a crawl visit) this pub is on the list for a much longer revisit.Well worth seeking out,it in the 2016 GBG.

UPDATE
I spent a very enjoyable Friday evening in here ,the real ale line up is eclectic and well kept,while the atmosphere is lively and positive with a young professional and creatives crowd but not overrun by hipsters.Bar service was very efficient even when busy but allowing bar blockers on stools infront of poorly lit handpumps and taps made beer selection difficult on first entering.The real ale options on this trip were Nethergate Umbel,Revolutions Cocker,Conquest ESB and an excellent Brightside Polaris (£4.25)The food menu looked interesting with the best options from a selection of slider dishes with 3 for £9,there are mains generally around £11.
The furniture is traditional,the doors marked as Smoke Room and Market Bar hint at the previous two room layout,but there is still a seperate section opposite the bar.The stained glass in the upper windows complements the good exterior.
It's a good boozer in chic Clerkenwell and it will get my custom again.

On 25th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2196 recommendations about 2196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Exmouth Arms

An attractive green tiled pub indeed, I used to drink around here pre-gentrification and this was a bit of a duffers' pub which we avoided. All change now and it's full of young hipsters.

The interior's all bare brick, bulkhead lights and some exposed steel girders. Mr Duck's not wrong when he says that this place is gloomy - I could barely see my hand in front of my face and the overall impression isn't helped by the rather loud music.

My pint of Blackjack was fine but steep at £2.20 a half. This isn't one to avoid but it's really not my sort of place so I doubt I'll return.

On 23rd February 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1266 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Exmouth Arms

A good looking green tiled pub , as mentioned below inside it was one of the most gloomily lit pubs I have visited ,rivaling the Crosse Keyes in Covent Garden,that aside its a decent pub with four interesting cask beers available although my choice of Revolution Go Go was past its best, some interesting Craft Keg beers were also on offer, I intend to return somewhen.

On 31st December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1430 recommendations about 1415 pubs]

Page: 1 2