User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Eagle, Clerkenwell, EC1

159 Farringdon Road
EC1
EC1R 3AL

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Eagle

More of a food place but having said that I was made to feel welcome popping in for a drink. Choice of beers on and kept well. I would call again and maybe try the food which looked good!

On 7th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1280 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Eagle

“London’s first gastropub” (what an infamous boast!) which is whacked-through single roomer with the usual lack of imagination/clichés in these situations - stripped floor, neutral walls, sparse décor and reserved signs on empty tables. However, there were two bonus angles here;
1. a kitchen directly behind the bar which was big on leaping flames and hissing noises, kebab house in style.
2. three ales; Wells Eagle, Wells Bombardier and Hackney Elderflower. I tried the latter. it was in good nick and remarkably only £1.80 a half, a steal in this area and served up by a friendly barman.
Also noted a small but good set of local bottled ales.
It's all a bit silly but the decent ale, sensible pricing and friendly service meant I left happy, if perhaps not exactly bursting for a return session.

On 5th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Eagle

London's first gastropub (1991) in a rather dreary part of Farringdon Road.

The interior's a bit spartan, described as below and in the words of the pub's owners: 'A gloss Hollybush ceiling and Buttermilk walls, panoramic windows and solid ash floor. Mismatched tables and chairs, punters, young and old. World music and jazz, good food, wine and beer…'. There's also a semi-open kitchen of which I'm not a fan, due to the noise and heat in summer. Lighting is a bit gloomy and the music was a touch loud. Despite the gastropub leanings, few people were eating during our midweek visit at 9.00 pm.

The barman was a bit surly and had on offer Wells' Eagle and Bombardier, a reversed clip and Hammerton's New Zealand Pale Ale at £1.80 a half. It was very good and at this price is laughably 'cheap' given the area and reputation of the pub.

I'd definitely come here again for the food, but as a drinkery it could do better.

On 25th March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1515 recommendations about 1495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Eagle

4 real ales and "craft keg" served. Open kitchen.

On 29th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Eagle

Here they had on Wells Eagle, Bombardier, Hackney Golden Ale (£3.50 a pint), plus Rosie's Pig cider on handpump. Most of the bar counter and servery behind it is taken up by the open to view kitchen, and the wall behind the servery is occupied entirely by masses of chalkboards advertising food and wine. I didn't recognise most of the food on offer, but I did spot that the braised pigeon, tomato, red wine, and a couple of other things I couldn't read (rubbish handwriting!), cost £14.50. There was nothing resembling pub grub. Must be a gastropub then.

The single room pub is predictably bare-boarded, and is furnished with simple, but normal, tables and chairs, including some of those apparently re-cycled old school chairs that we see so often. It always surprises me that chairs that are no longer suitable for kids are deemed suitable for punters in an upmarket pub. There were a few indescribable prints on the walls of nothing recognisable, and otherwise no decor worthy of note. But there were no TVs, fruit machines, or other similar pub distractions. The ceiling was quite interesting though, being covered with (green painted) matchboard panelling.

The beer was good, and at a reasonable price, but it's not really the sort of place that I would choose to visit for an evening's drinking.

On 25th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Eagle

Very food led pub/rest.Kitchen takes up half the bar room and quite noisy.Very busy with diners.Couple of Chas Wells beers and a lifesaver in Hackney-best bitter.

On 6th March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Eagle

The Eagle is a corner pub that is situated on a boring part of farringdon road.
We visited this pub on a Thursday evening.
Once inside there was a decent sized square shaped room with the bar facing,the seating was chunky wood tables and chairs,there was an open kitchen behind the bar which i dont like to see.
The pub was a Charles Wells tied house at the time of our visit,there were two real ales on the bar,we had a drink of Charles Wells Eagle bitter which was a decent enough drink,the other beer was Bombardier.
The pub was fairly busy with young bright people,who must like seeing their food being cooked.
This pub was ok for a quick drink,but we were not that impressed with this pub.

Pub visited 17/8/2006

On 17th August 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]