User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Craft Beer Co, EC1

82 Leather Lane
EC1
EC1N 7TR
Phone: 07530211437

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Craft Beer Co

The last time I visited here was in 2014. Back then, they had 12 real ales spread over the 16 handpulls and also a couple of real ciders. These days they have dispensed with real cider and only have 2 real ales.

Covid has certainly affected City pubs badly and the once successful Craft chain seems to be struggling a little, with at least 2 of their branches having closed. This one survives, albeit with only one other customer present on a weekday afternoon other than ourselves.

The reduction in real ales may also be due to the increasing popularity of craft beers, of which they still have a good selection, presumably as they are easier to keep.

Kent Craft Pale Ale & Siren Broken Dream were the 2 ales. The barman was friendly and knowledgeable and we had the choice of sitting anywhere! Downstairs has a fantastic mirrored ceiling, whilst there is further seating upstairs.

Still a decent place for a drink, but it desperately needs thing to get back to normal.

On 29th June 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1374 recommendations about 1374 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Craft Beer Co

Still retains its Charrington's heritage and you can't beat a mirrored ceiling. Extensive real ale and keg selection.

On 20th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Craft Beer Co

Returned again for a late pint on a saturday night in september 2016. Dead as a doornail! Just 8 people in the pub, who all had beards, including the bar man. Just had the one pint, which wasn't great. The toilets smelled very bad and were percolating into the bar. Hope this is not a sign of bad things coming???

29/03/2012
Returned on a sunny Friday evening. The place was rammed to capacity with the after work crew, spilling out onto the pavement, much to the dismay of the door man who was vainly trying to keep people from spreading to the road. Three good ales were quaffed, one from Dancing Duck a favourite of mine. I'm sure that we will be back, empty or full this pub is a true gem. Original score 8

On 13th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Craft Beer Co

A first visit for us to what was once The Coach & Horses, a former Charrington's pub as indicated by the green and amber banded stained glass leaded windows and striking mirror over the fireplace.

A vast array of craft and keg offerings, my pint of Black Flag's White Cross IPA (5.7% ABV) weighed in at £4.65 a pint though was very good; the barmaid was very friendly too.

We liked the mirrored ceiling and the pub doesn't seem to be tatty as mentioned below, but the décor - as such - is virtually non-existent and the interior is very sparse bar the addition of some modern screens and cut glass, courtesy of Taylor's Classics of Stafford! This pub is a bit gloomy and I can't really see a reason to visit other than for the beer.

On 24th March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Craft Beer Co

Rather basic room, a long bar supplements the 16 Handpulls of real ale & cider, with high benches & tables. A fully mirrored ceiling. A bit tatty, but the beer is good.

On 2nd July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Craft Beer Co

A well reviewed pub so no extra description needed from me.
On our Thursday lunchtime visit the welcome was warm and the staff very knowledgable on all the beers available and more than willing to offer tasters.
It was a fine day so many were ordering their drinks and standing outside which left the pub feeling calm but still atmospheric.
A wide array of interesting kegs were available and I noted a couple from both Oakham and Thornbridge but the real draw here must be the selection of interesting beers on cask.
My visit found the following available: Kent Pale Craft, Cobnut, Altered States and Prohibition, Tiny Rebel Cereal Killer, Northern Monk Peated Soul, Anarchy Smoke Bomb and Anti-Venom and Wild Beer Millionaire, Madness IPA, Wild Goose Chase and Fresh. It does seem that they focus on one or two breweries at a time but with such a broad selection of strengths and styles I had no complaints. The strengths ranged from the Cereal Killer at 3% to the outstanding Peated Soul at 8.4%. Everything I tried was in very good shape and excellent.
I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and could very easily have spent the rest of the day here.

On 14th April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 674 recommendations about 673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Craft Beer Co.

Amazing to see so many different types of beers along the bar. The majority of the hand pumps were from the Tempest brewery, Kelso, in the Scottish Borders. So we tried two from Tempest the first was Cascadian, a refreshing blonde beer and Ball Park a decent pale ale. Also we went for the Siren Beer Co Oatmeal Pale Ale. If you like beer, then this place will be right up your street.

On 9th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3125 recommendations about 3125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Craft Beer Co.

My first clearly overdue visit on Tuesday afternoon, I don't see much point in re-describing the pub as others have covered that in detail apart from to say the mirrored ceiling was an unusual pub feature that I don't recall seeing elsewhere (not in a pub anyway!)Thankfully not as busy as it seems to get sometimes so we timed it well and got a perch on a window shelf, 14 of the 16 were on, mainly carrying beers from Kent Brewery, Magic Rock, Mallinson's and Dark Star. The two cider clips at the bar end were turned around. My pint of Kent's "Beyond the Pale" was superb, very hoppy and dry. All four of us enjoyed our respective choices. The beers are priced by ABV starting from a reasonable £3.40 rising to £4.60 for the heavyweights over 5.9%. I didn't check out the keg prices, I suspect these may eclipse those of the cask range.
There was a bit of background music playing this time but certainly not obtrusive.
A definite destination pub, and can be made into a part of a good crawl of iconic London pubs as we did on the day. A good 8 rating, some traditional style seating might have clinched a 9.

On 28th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Craft Beer Co.

Always busy at night but easy to get served.Great selection of beers on my last visit inc 3 from tynebank and 3 from Beer Geek.Stylish pub and they have kept a lot of the origonal features inc the mirrored ceiling.The cask beer is reasonably priced but the keg prices are mega.

On 1st February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Craft Beer Co.

It was busy in here during my visit on Saturday afternoon a couple of weeks before Christmas. The bar is located in a rectangular room with a mirrored ceiling, chandelier and huge Charringtons mirror on the far wall. I think that advertising the tables and chairs upstairs as a lounge area is a little wishful, but the added seating did come in useful. There are no televisions and there was no background music playing.
The major draw of this pub is the sixteen hand pumps and numerous craft draught products that are available from the bar. I found the staff to be very polite and I was promptly served even though the bar was crowded. The only food that I saw was scotch eggs which cost £3.50 each and medium sized pork pies that looked very tempting, but I resisted as they were priced at £5 for half.

This pub brings a bit of life to an area that is usually deserted during the weekend and I’ll certainly seek it out again next time I’m in the vicinity.

On 4th January 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3