User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Temperance, SW6

90 Fulham High Street
SW6
SW6 3LF
Phone: 02073843573

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Temperance

Big sports bar with balcony and loads of screens.Ideal for the football and boxing.Doombar and Pride.Tried the rarely seen now Hoogaarden which was refreshing.Of its type a decent pub.

On 6th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Temperance

Although not really my type of pub, I have utilised The Temperance a couple of times in recent months when this side of Putney bridge because you can invariably get a seat early evening over the weekend and the standard pub grub on offer is usually reliable.
A big barn of a mainly sports orientated pub, well described by previous reviewers, my first visit was during the world cup, when it must have been a contender for the maximum number of country flags you can squeeze into one roof space. And then back in a couple of weekends ago and on both occasions managed to get a seat by the large front windows.
I think two of the four ale pumps were on the go for both visits and good to find offerings from the smaller London breweries with beers from the Truman and Hackney breweries available, and they were passable enough to be enjoyed with the food.
I guess this place functions best when a popular sporting event is being shown on the various large screens available, and it’s not the most exciting place when there is only a few in. But that suited us as we weren’t looking for excitement and the muted Test match cricket was entertaining enough for us.

On 17th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Temperance

Multi-level Stonegate sports bar with several pool tables and numerous TV screens. Limited seating at ground floor, with dining tables and small lounge area (incorporating one very long sofa) upstairs. Several unusual features on the facade, plus some decorative glazing remaining intact. Unfortunately, just one of the four handpumps was working - despite Pride, Bombardier and Wells & Youngs Jubilee clips not being reversed - so it was a quick pint of Doom Bar (£2.90) after a grumble with the unapologetic manager about unrealised expectations regarding the 'choice' of beer. (NB - Review dates from July 2012.)

On 9th February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Temperance

Formerly The Temperance Billiards Hall, then at one time an O'Neill's, this is a rather unusual pub. The exterior is quite attractive with original tiling and a low domed area of roof, internally there is a high vaulted ceiling with exposed metal trusses, almost like a scaled down Victorian railway station. The bar is central in the main area, with plenty of room all around, flooring is wooden with an area of tiled inserts, a bit like samples you'd see in a tile shop. Modern Art hangs on the walls. A few TVs were showing 20-20 cricket muted. The back of the pub has a mezzanine area up an open staircase where there are a couple of pool tables and mainly sofa seating. Lighting is subdued, with twinkly fairy lights entwined around foliage. Seating is more traditional in the main area, distributed around the perimeter. There were a few board games available to borrow on a table but you'd most likely need to bring a torch to play.
Four handpumps, two on at the time serving Pride and GKIPA. There is a food servery in the rear corner, but I didn't spot any menus.
An unusual but inoffensive place, a better ale choice could entice me back, and my information is that it does get better than the pair we encountered on the night.

On 29th August 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Temperance

A big play is made of the ales available on a board by the door, which displays numerous pump clips of the ales they have presumably had on at one time or another. However on our visit only London Pride and GKIPA were available, with clips for Young’s Bitter and Doom Bar reversed. The Pride was OK, but not as good as the pint I had had earlier in the Golden Lion. At £3 a pint it was reasonably priced, and served in a dimpled jug. I think they must have just stopped doing food when we arrived at around 9.45 PM as the menus were soon removed from the tables. But a cursory glance revealed that main courses were about £9 - £10, and sandwiches about £5+.
Inside it’s not much like any pub I’ve been in. The ceiling is very high and curved and the room itself is enormous – I’ve been in smaller aircraft hangars. There is foliage all over the place – large vases of lilies on the bar counter, massive pots containing ficus benjaminii adorned with fairy lights giving the place a surreal effect – making it a bit reminiscent of the hot house at Kew Gardens.
I didn’t mind this pub, although I thought it was very unusual. I can’t see me rushing back, although I certainly wouldn’t object to returning for another pint sometime in the hope of finding a more exciting ale selection.

On 26th August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Temperance

Situated near Putney Bridge, this has always been a place that I have walked past on my occasional trek from the station to Craven Cottage without feeling the need to pay it a visit. Before being completely revamped 5 or 6 years ago and renamed the Temperance (to reflect the building’s initial useage as a Temperance Billiards Hall) the place had a poor reputation and underwent several image and name changes, most recently as an O’Neills.

Armed with some more recent reports of a much improved venue, I decided to give the place a fresh chance and was quite pleasantly surprised to find an interesting and tastefully refurbished building, good selection of beers and surprisingly reasonable prices.

The main body of the pub is open plan with an island bar, bare floors with some tiled areas and a couple of side sections
A few large potted plants bear coloured fairy lights and the modern artwork on the wall jockeys for position with a few well placed flat screens that cater for the sporting events. There is also a selection of board games on a sieboard near the bar and a mezzanine with a brace of pool tables and some additional mixed seating. Everything is housed under a high vaulted roof with metal framework and some attractive glazing. The lkitchen area can be seen from the main bar and the food menu was quite basic but reasonably priced with courses ranguing from burgers around £7.50 to steaks at £11.

The 4 ales for my visit were Doom Bar, Pride, Bombardier and Sambrook Wandle, the last being decent enough and at £3 a pint, more than reasonable for the area. There was also a good range of top end continental lagers as wellas a few of the usual suspects. Service was a little on the slow side although to be fair, this was prior to a Fulham match. They are cask marquee accredited and certficates for their wines were also on display near a blackboard listing and display of pump clips.

Overall, a pleasant and unexpected surprise and certainly a place I would be happy to make use of when passing by in the future.

On 22nd July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]