User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Guess who I met today? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Eight Bells, Fulham, SW6

89 Fulham High Street
SW6
SW6 3JS
Phone: 02077366307

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Eight Bells

I called in on the way back to Putney Bridge station after the game at Craven Cottage - it seemed rude not to. To be honest, the crowd was so large that I didn't fancy joining a jostling horde on the platform and thought the pub might be a better option, but it grew crowded here quite quickly, so I didn't stop long. The pub seems to be one large room, presumably opened out from at least two, with a central bar counter. There were two hand pumps on the right corner and two on the left, which I couldn't see very well because of the crowd, so had to ask what was on: Fullers London Pride, Sharps Doom Bar, Bath Gem and Otter Ale. I went for the Otter, just for a change, but found it a little disappointing and lightweight. Partly this may have been an illusion caused by the use of a plastic glass (being so close to the football ground, though the Fulham supporters struck me as being a fairly civilised lot), so I wouldn't want to say that the beer was not well kept. Looking round, there was a lot to like about this pub, with its wood-panelled walls and many pictures and mirrors. My score of 7 is based to some extent on what I imagine the pub would be like on a non-match day: not so crowded and noisy, and with proper glassware, rather than my actual experience.

On 25th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Eight Bells

Great little traditional pub.Walls adorned with pictures etc.Very busy and cosy.Seating outside.Last visited this pub in 1975.Wonder what beer they served then.Now Pride,Doom and Wimbledon -Common.

On 6th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Eight Bells

A very nice traditional pub that has the advantage of being the closest pub to Putney Bridge station and therefore a good place to catch a pint if alighting or waiting for someone. The traditional style carpeted interior with a horseshoe bar has been well described by previous reviewers and am glad to report that both the inside space and the several external tables on the pavement out the front were being well utilised for my mid week evening visit.
Have never eaten here, but the reviews for food on trip advisor are pretty encouraging especially from people who utilise it when staying in the nearby Premier Inn. But unfortunately my experience for the beer hasn’t always been so encouraging as it was again the other evening. As below only two of the three pumps in operation dispensing the standard Pride and Doombar and these were average at best. Something that was compounded by noticing that the reversed clip was Skinners Betty Stogs which would have been far preferable to the other two.
Its proximity to the Fulham and Chelsea football grounds makes it a popular pub when there is a game on and the pub is away supporter friendly as mentioned previously. However, although the outside area makes this a good place to catch an alfresco pint when the sun is out, not on match days when the local council regulations do not allow any outside drinking before, during or after the match.

On 17th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Eight Bells

Quite a traditional and comfortable pub, with a 'U'-shaped bar and some interesting decor. Just two beers available on handpump, Doom Bar and Pride (£3.35). Overall, however, I didn't really find it to have a particularly welcoming atmosphere (although I may have caught it on a bad day). (NB - Review dates from August 2011.)

On 8th October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Eight Bells

A single carpeted room with a central horseshoe bar, some wood panelling, traditional seating including a number of settles, some with intrically carved backs. Decor includes a number of photographs of sailing boats, as well as other river scenes, horse racing pics, plus various bits of Fulham Fc memorabilia including a framed cup final programme v West Ham and player cards from way back. Of particular interest is a framed page from The Morning Advertiser dated May 1846, apparently discovered during a refurb in 1991. I spotted a shove h'penny board on a shelf also.
Pride and Doom Bar on handpump, not especially exciting, but ok quality and the Doom Bar was served in a branded glass. There is a food servery to the right of the bar, (although orders are taken at the bar itself), which looked to have some good value meals, eg rump steak £7.55, daily specials at £6.95 and sandwiches from just £2.95.
A large TV on the wall opposite the bar was off at the time (Tuesday night).
Although not a destination pub by anyone's description, this place is comfortable, clean and welcoming, I'd certainly drop in again if passing by.

On 26th August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Eight Bells

Another claimant to the oldest pub in Putney, the eight Bells can trace its beginnings to 1629 when it was just the Bell. The name expanded to match the occasional upgrade to the bells in the nearby All Saints Church. Until 1886, the pub stood on the main road but the new Putney Bridge was built a few yards further downstream from the old one and the road shifted accordingly hence it now stands in an isolated spot between Putney Bridge station and the current Fulham Palace Road.

The pub has a traditional style carpeted interior with a horseshoe bar complete with glasses canopy, paneled walls and several nautically themed pictures. Plates and other nick nacks are dotted about and an oar stretches across the ceiling above the bar reflecting the pubs proximity to the local rowing fraternity. One side contains a food bar (although food should be ordered from the main bar) with a few Fulham football mementos (mainly old programmes) and the other side leads to a tiny strip of patio that is of little use other than a fag break area.

As one would expect, it gets packed for Fulham home games and it should be noted that the pub is away fan friendly. A notice outside states that outside drinking is no longer permitted despite the numerous benches on the pavement so without the overspill, it really can get heaving inside. There are usually doormen on match days to regulate the flow.

The beer choice isn’t particularly dynamic with 2 ales London Pride and Doom Bar (£3.35), decent enough quality on my visit but served in polycarbonate glasses on match days. Service was quite good even though it was very busy pre-match. The menu is quite basic but reasonably priced (see the blackboard at the food bar end) with main courses between £6-£7.50 and jacket potatoes around £4.

It is a functional and comfortable enough place when not entertaining the football crowds and is probably quite a sedate littrle spot most of the time but there probably isn’t enough to warrant a lengthy stay.

On 28th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Eight Bells

This is a fairly attractive looking pub a stone’s throw from the river at Fulham. Inside it’s carpeted, with furnishings consisting of settles plus normal tables and chairs. The bar is a central horseshoe affair, with the drinking area wrapped around three sides of it, and a semi open-plan kitchen at the back on the right from where the all-pervading smell of food emanates. There is a lot of decor on the walls, including odd things like a hockey stick (I think that’s what it was); an oar; a stuffed, mounted and framed fish; and numerous photos and prints. It was very quiet in there early lunchtime on Wednesday, but some unnecessary rap music didn’t do anything to help the relaxed atmosphere. Outside in the front there are a few picnic tables on the pavement area, shaded by the trees.
There were two real ales on – Hogsback TEA (at £3.20 a pint) and London Pride of course. The TEA was not good, but just about drinkable. I guess I was early enough to be the first one to drink it on the day, and around the London area only the very best pubs bother to pull through an ale if you’re the first of the day. They clearly do food, and although I didn’t see a menu there was a chalkboard with daily specials listed on it. This included such things as gammon yankee (whatever that might be); chilli con carne; and a chicken chorizo stir-fry. Not basic pub grub then. But there were no prices for the meals on the chalkboard, which I don’t find very encouraging.
Nonetheless, this is a comfortable and decent little pub which doesn’t seem to have changed much since my first some 20+ years ago. I would be happy to visit again if in the area, in the hope of getting a better pint of beer next time.

On 29th July 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2547 recommendations about 2465 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Eight Bells

Small pub serving the usual lagers & london pride,smiths & hogs back t.e.a

On 6th January 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2649 recommendations about 2592 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Eight Bells

Nice smallish pub, close to the river. Sells real ale, 3 pumps, tried Doombar. Lots of pictures of sailing boats on the walls. Full of office workers in suits, men & women.

On 24th April 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 749 recommendations about 713 pubs]