User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th December 2017) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Victoria Island Victoria Station
SW1
SW1V 1JT

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Far better than the Willow Walk. Two bars selling different real ales. I had Ringwood Old Thumper which was fine. Well lit place overlooking the station.

On 16th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1139 recommendations about 1139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

It's a Wetherspoons. It's a station pub. You should know what to expect. That said, it is rather better than one might imagine, and it has been remodelled slightly since my last visit, with some additional booths, a better seating and (finally) some proper toilets. It usually has a good selection of real ale too, often with one or two beers from a Sussex brewery, but you do need to check both bar counters to check out the full range from an increased total of 12 handpumps (which included Dungarvan Copper Coast Irish red ale, £3.50, on my latest visit). Whilst the transient atmosphere and inevitable peak-hour crowding leave much to be desired, you can usually get a breather out on one of the terraces which overlook Victoria's hustle and bustle.

On 13th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4510 recommendations about 4510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern first floor fit out. Some tiling on show, presumably part of the original station building, but basically its a functional station cafe.

On 2nd July 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1054 recommendations about 1031 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Update 18th January 2014

It is currently closed for a refurb and is due to reopen in Early February.


Visit 16th June 2013
This place is much better than it appears from the station concourse. It looks more like a seedy Soho Strip joint from below, but inside it is fairly typical Spoons fixtures and fittings. It is actually a lot smaller than most of their outlets. The two outside balconys overlooking the station make a fine place to sit with a beer while reflecting on what all the people below may be up to.

The prices are astronomical (for a Spoons), the lowest guest ale being £3.35 a pint. This is £1.20 more than their cheapest outlets, but unusually the GK Abbot is only 10p more than this. I expect that Network Rail takes a fair cut of their profits.

I've stopped here on many occasions, but that has always been early on a Saturday Morning waiting for a train down to Sussex, so today was the first time I had a beer. They nearly always have a full selection which includes some interesting ones.
Today I tried the Portobello Market Porter at £3.35 which was in excellent condition as you should expect from a GBG listed place. It makes a welcome retreat from the chaos on the concourse below.

One thing that I wondered about it is how on earth do the beer and food supplies get delivered? I failed to see any sign of a lift underneath it.

On 19th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1794 recommendations about 1790 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

An unimaginatively named, err, Wetherspoons, sitting in an elevated position over the centre of the concourse of Victoria Station. Balconies either side of the internal area offer interesting and changing views of the platforms to one side and the station hall and departure boards to the other. There is always plenty going on, on either side to attract attention. The interior has an un-'spoons like airy feel with lots of glazing including a transparent curved roof, the single room is semi-divided by a brick pillar effectively dividing the bar into two distinct sections. This is relevant for the ale drinker as the two banks of handpumps have different offerings so it is worth looking both sides before choosing. The usual JDW framed historical stuff include some interesting pictures of the construction of the station.
A reasonable selection of guest ales were on however prices don't match the usual for this chain in this location, my pint of Dark Star American Pale Ale, although decent, cost £3.35.
Worth noting also is that the pub toilets are free of charge and do not require a code, unusual for a London terminus.

On 11th May 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1599 recommendations about 1578 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Popped in here while waiting for a train,which I suspect is was what a lot of other customers do .There is now a chalk board advertising the real ale selection ,so you dont need to investigate each rank of five handpumps to find out what's on.However the board shows that pricing is not 'spoonesque in here,the cheapest being £3.20 while a Fullers ESB was £3.89 in line with many Fullers tied houses.The CAMRA vouchers dont work in December ,so although the terraces give you a good view of the crowds milling around,this can't be described as a cheap venue for a quick one.The lavs are unmarked but easily accessable which also creates footfall into the front of the pub,a free facility I occasionally take advantage of .

On 2nd December 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1618 recommendations about 1618 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Silver Douche left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Sullen, unfriendly staff refused to allow me and my dog to have a drink there, even though we sat at an outside table, in the station concourse, where dogs are quite at liberty to be. Bizarre and disgraceful.

My friend, who had been waiting for me to arrive, and who had been drinking there when I got there, told me the beer he'd initially been served smelled of eggs and made him gag. He had to ask for a fresh pint, which made the recalcitrant and bored barmaid sigh in disdain, as though it were below her to remedy the problem.

On 24th May 2012 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

This very basic Wetherspoons bar on the upper floor of Victoria station is something of a triumph of function over form. The interior is of the most basic Spoon's identikit variety, with plenty of standard seating arranged efficiently throughout the main bar and glass fronted section. A balcony, with more tables, looks out over the concourse and, more importantly, the departure boards. It's not a bad place to stop for a quick half if you've got a bit of time before your train, and I occasionally enjoy a bit of people watching from the balcony. The place can attract an odd mix of clientele, with old grannies sipping coffee next to glammed up young girls about to embark on an alcopop fuelled night out on the town.
Beers on my last visit were a little uninspiring, with lots of regulars and the odd guest. I saw Greene King IPA and Abbot, London Pride, Marstons Old Empire and Itchen Valley Fagins. I tried the latter which was served short by the barman, who then vanished before I could get a proper top-up. There is a second bar and as explained below, there are often different beers available there.
It's sufficient for a quick half, but given more time, I'd probably go over to the nearby Willow Walk instead.

On 14th October 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2005 recommendations about 2005 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

A modern Express bar built into the old Station complex, with all the limitations and caveats that implies - and it's a JDW. All that said, it's probably one of the better station bars around. Staff were pleasant and professional, and although the atmosphere inside was a bit sterile, it was a pleasant place to sit while waiting for a train. The terrace gives a bird's eye view of the hustle and bustle on the concourse, and you can see the train boards from there. It has a bit of a continental feel to it. There were 4 ales on, I had a pint of Woods Parish Bitter, which was served at the right temperature and was well kept - although it was a bit too creamy for my taste. This bar is a good place to sit and watch the World go by and somewhere you can enjoy that last pint before re-joining the hubbub.

On 7th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1915 recommendations about 1900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Wetherspoons (JD Wetherspoon)

Surprisingly tolerable place, considering the location. Recent visits have found the staff to be efficient (which hasn't always been the case here). There's departure screens within the pub, so you can keep tabs on your departure (unless there's disruption, when it's anybody's guess). You can see the Central side board from the balcony in any case.

Wetherspoon's usual range, although Welton's of Horsham seem to regularly supply one or two of the guest ales.

Worth noting that there's two bars here - the 'Central' side one seems to attract more punters, so go the 'South Eastern' one to (usually) get served quicker.

On 21st February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 223 recommendations about 220 pubs]

Page: 1 2