User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

Thomas Cubitt, SW1

44 Elizabeth Street
SW1
SW1W 9PA
Phone: 02077306060

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Thomas Cubitt

Originally the Prince of Wales then the Carpenters Arms, this place is named after Thomas Cubitt, ‘the man who built London’ and Osborne House for Queen Victoria on the Isle of Wight.
This is a restaurant, where you can stand at the bar and select from two hand pumps, which I couldn’t see from my position and comparative gloom. This is the type of place where tables have individual, freestanding ice buckets by tables, with bottles of wine to hand.
As I wasn’t hungry and probably couldn’t afford the place in any event, I left but it does make a substantial change from the tsunami of some of the worst Greene King pubs in London.

On 7th November 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Thomas Cubitt

Aimed at the trendy set although it did have real ale @ 4.6% ABV which surprised me. Just the one room but not my sort of place.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Thomas Cubitt

A pub serving as a bistro and wine bar, which still retains handpumps on the counter. The food was expensive, but it was original (if a little fussy) and freshly cooked. Owned by Percy and Founders, it makes a very nice change from the local infestation of Taylor Walker. The male clientele did a lot of braying, while their females were quite shrill, and the word 'like' appeared rather too often, but the atmosphere was benign enough The staff were friendly and fairly efficient, though the food was expensive even before the 'optional' and in my opinion undeserved 12.5% service charge added to the bill. Two ales on, both from Head in the Hat Brewery: I had Toffee which wasn't as hoppy as it should have been and not that fresh and was rather ordinary as real ales go. I wouldn't include in a crawl, but I might come back next time I fancy goat for dinner.

On 19th December 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2909 recommendations about 2876 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Thomas Cubitt

Interior as described below. 2 real ales and food served. A bit gastro but did the job.

On 14th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Thomas Cubitt

The Thomas Cubitt is a short walk to or from Victoria bus station so it was handy for me to have a last drink here.
Once inside there is a square shaped room to the front which has normal tables and chairs for seating,the left side of the room had tables laid out for diners,but drinkers are welcome in here and it was very busy with both drinkers and diners on my early Tuesday evening visit.
There is a separate room to the rear which i did'nt look in.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Head in the Hat Copper which went down well,the other beer was head in the Hat Toffee.
I was happy enough ending my crawl in this pub.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Thomas Cubitt

I initially walked past the Thomas Cubbit as I took it for a tea shop and it was only when I wandered back a couple of minutes later that I noticed the faintly printed name on the frontage. I wandered in at 11:50 on Thursday morning and after I had asked for half a Deuchars the barman informed me that they were not open for another ten minutes. I decided to sample the delights of the Traveller’s Tavern up the road before returning to a ‘pub’ half full of suited gentlemen and woman with designer labels coming out of every orifice. There were more of the same turning up in Hackney Carriages and two members of staff were greeting and seating. I decided that life is too short and I moved onto the next venue.
Alongside the Deuchars was Adnams Southwold (a very popular ale in these parts) and there was a limited draught selection. There is no TV and there was no back music – to be honest this felt more like a restaurant. There is some seating on the path out front and I noted that inside the seating is uncomfortably close.

This place is certainly not up my street and I do not plan a revisit.

On 28th January 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Thomas Cubitt

You will probably know what to expect from a place in Belgravia which proclaims itself to be a "public house & dining room", and you won't be far wrong here. Any lingering doubts are dispelled when you see the signs inside which say words to the effect of "Would customers wishing to be seated please ask a member of staff". Mind you, you almost have to be shoe-horned into the rustic seating crammed into the main bar, but there is also another room further back and some small tables outside (plus the fancy dining room upstairs). There is also table service, but one can have a certain amount of childish fun annoying the waiters by standing at the bar (as if it really were a public house). Having said that, this place does have some good points - especially the floor-to-ceiling glazed doors along both street frontages which give the bar a very light and airy feel (and presumably can be opened in good weather) and the decor which is tastefully done even if this type of gastro-pub isn't your thing. There are also two real ales on handpump - Deuchars IPA and Adnams Bitter (pricy at £3.50, but in good condition).

On 6th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]