User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Victoria, SW1

1 Lower Belgrave Street
SW1
SW1W 0NR

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Victoria

This is on the ground floor of an office block, built in the 1980s on the site of the original Victoria, dating from the mid-19th century.
For the review, see my entry for the Shakespeare, otherwise there’s a glowing Clear Channel advertising board, multiple games machines and screens showing several sporting events, with the sound up, each match competing with the other to see which hysterical commentator could outscream the other. Sauce bottles and menus on tables of course, there was wet paper strewn about the gent’s. Customers seemed to be locals; perhaps there really is nothing better round here to entertain them?
Aside from the usual GK suspects, two ‘cider’ offerings from Lilley’s, then Wandle but it was the bottom of the barrel, the barmaid taking about 20 grabs at the pump to fill my half pint glass, relieving me of £2.70 in the process.
This is the least favourable GK experience I’ve ever had, so I’m off for good.

On 7th November 2021 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1334 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Victoria

On the ground floor of a modern building,tied to Greene King and fitted internally in a faux tradtional style.There is a dark wood floor,wood panelling,red leather upholstered furniture with two side sections away from the front door.The bar area in the middle widens out with high tables opposite and a few seating alcoves along a back wall before a final section with a long bench seat.The usual corporate GK food menus everywhere,all tables numbered and surprisingly many reserved for the Thursday evening session,with times notified.
Just GK IPA and Abbott (NBSS 2.5,£2.80 half) from the handspumps,the keg options looked mainstream.There are a lot of Sky flatscreens dotted about ,thankfully mute but it could get noisy here when matches are on.
Typically bland and forgettable GK establishment,they really have a near monopoly in this part of Victoria.

On 10th September 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Victoria

Greene King pub with very weak real ales. Will not be returning to this one.

On 16th March 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Victoria

The Victoria is a decent enough looking pub that is set underneath an office block.
Once inside there is a single L shaped room with the bar to the rear right,the seating is comfy bench type and chairs the room is part carpeted and bare boarded.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Harveys Best which went down very well,the other beers were St Austell Tribute,London Pride and Bombardier.
I have been in this pub before quite recently and have been quite happy having a drink here,it has a much more laid back atmosphere than the Travellers which is the other pub i use before getting the bus back to Nottingham.

Pub visited 2/5/2015

On 2nd May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Victoria

A 'larger than it looks' Taylor Walker pub, with the original rooms partially opened out to form a generally rectangular layout with a range of different seating areas (including some side alcoves). Four handpumps, usually offering the regular Doom Bar and Pride plus a couple of other common beers (e.g. Broadside or Tribute), but a good pint of Harveys (£3.79) was available on my recent visit. Overall, given its position, you would be right to think that it would be full of tourists and/or commuters but it still somehow manages to provide surprisingly relaxed atmosphere.

On 4th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Victoria

A pleasant surprise, The Victoria is an under-rated Taylor-Walker pub a few yards from the eponymous station. It serves basic, formulaic food, but that is served in agreeable, comfortable surroundings which makes it much better than some local outlets. The prices are high, but this can be reduced by taking advantage of the meal deals on offer. Staff are pleasant and helpful, free wi-fi is available and the clientele were civilised, including the Australian group who were overwhelmed when I gave them a PuG business card and promptly rearranged their pub crawl. Most of the floor is wooden, with some carpeted snugs, giving a cosy feel to the place. Four ales on - I had a pint of Black Sheep Bitter which was really rather good. Well worth leaving the Station for a decent pint and a quick snack.

On 16th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2769 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Victoria

Another Taylor walker pub in this part of town, but I warmed to this one more than the adjacent Plumbers Arms. A tidy enough traditional style interior with plenty of dark wood and muted lighting had attracted a huge crowd on my Friday evening visit, making it all but impossible to get to the bar, so I went elsewhere and called back on my way home when the crowd had thinned out a bit more. The bar runs along the right hand wall, with a number of seating booths and high stools and tables opposite. At the rear of the room there is a more formal feel with banquettes and standard tables and chairs, which was quite a nice spot to enjoy my pint without being blasted by the loudspeakers throughout the rest of the pub. There's not much in the way of interest to distract the eye and I'm fairly sure that the floral wallpaper is the same as that in the Plumbers Arms over the road.
A decent, if somewhat mainstream, beer selection of Morland Old Golden Hen, Fuller's London Pride, Sharp's Doom Bar and Young's London Gold was available, with the Old Golden Hen turning out to be a rather nice, well kept pint of beer. The staff seemed friendly enough, but were clearly struggling to cope with the crowds when I first popped in.
The pub is very handy for Victoria train and coach stations and is possibly the pick of the pubs on this side of the train station. A solid if unspectacular place and one that I imagine I'll frequent again if only for its handy location.

On 16th February 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2691 recommendations about 2691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Victoria

The Victoria is one of many rebranded Taylor Walker pubs found throughout London. There is some café seating under an awning out the front and this pub is located far enough away from Euston Railway Station to avoid the crowds. To be fair this place is probably big enough to cope with hoards, but I was the only customer just after 11:00 on Thursday morning last week. The interior is all dark wood and the designers have gone for a traditional look like in all the other pubs of this brand. Staropramen was available alongside a standard draught selection and one hand pump was off leaving Doom Bar, Old Speckled Hen and Pride as the ale options. Food is available from the ‘Great British Pub Menu’ where the mains start at £7.50. I didn’t spot any Sky Sports advertised, but I’d be surprised if the football is not shown as there are plasma screens throughout the entire pub. These were all off during my visit, but there was some background music playing.

This isn’t the most exciting of places, but I had a comfortable enough pint whilst nursing a hangover from the night before.

On 1st February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3633 recommendations about 3612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Victoria

Located round the back of Victoria train station, so seems to miss a lot of the commuters that the pubs round the front and by the bus station get. And as it is quite large inside tends to be quieter than the pubs just outside the station entrance. The large interior is divided into sections and has snug areas and cubby hole seating which can allow six to sit comfortably round one table.
Usually three handpumps on dispensing Youngs Bitter and Fullers London Pride and have also had Adnams Bitter during my visits.
The only negative I can give for the Victoria is that the service can be a bit hit and miss, especially at busy periods.

On 13th October 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1779 recommendations about 1721 pubs]