User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Queens Arms, SW1

11 Warwick Way
SW1
SW1V 1QT
Phone: 02078343313

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Queens Arms

Dating from 1846, this is another fairly similar gastrofied pub in Pimlico, a short walk from Victoria station and managed by Brunning & Price.
This is perhaps a little more traditional than the other locals here, with blue/green field panelled walls to threequarters height and a lovely bar back, with etched mirrors, the bar front being a more conventional field panelled with grey paint. There are some intriguing structural columns, but the main item of note, is the corniced cell ceiling with Lincrusta painted mauve. The floor, naturally, is bare boarded and furniture is conventional, tall and normal. Lighting comes from Victorian-style shaded sconces and chandeliers with a 1930s’ appearance, thereafter tealights on tables, to illuminate the accompanying pot plant; music played at a moderate level. Customers as mentioned, are mainly thirtysomethings, along with a delegation from the Dickie Davies Appreciation Crew 2021, his badgerlike countenance gracing the back of all members’ T-shirts.
Two unused pumps were accompanied by a St. Austell brewed Brunning & Price house ale, then Naked Ladies at a reasonable £2.40 a half and nice.
Noisy acoustics aside, this isn’t a bad place; certainly better than the Marquis of Westminster or Warwick, but it could do with a wider selection of ales, but full marks for eschewing the tedium of Pride and Doom.

On 19th November 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1316 recommendations about 1295 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Arms

Attractive façade and standard gastro-pub interior enhanced by having a high ceiling and some fair sized windows. Restaurant upstairs (not visited) and a few wooden benches outside. Refurbished by Brunning & Price in 2019. On this visit, I found the 'house' (St Austell) Traditional Bitter and Sambrook's Pumphouse Pale Ale (£5.00) available from two of the four handpumps.

On 4th August 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Queens Arms

Weak real ale I'm afraid, which does little for me. If it had something decent on it would be worth going back to.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Queens Arms

A typical street corner Victorian pub if a rather small one, the clientele were mainly groups of 20somethings on Saturday afternoon, generally engaged in rather loud conversation. A single squareish room with cream painted panelling and an elaborate ceiling held up by fluted circular columns. The carved dark wood mirrored bar back was an attractive feature and the huge vase of cut flowers on the end of the counter looked the part. The floor is boarded as is becoming standard it seems and the mix of tables, some reclaimed dining types, were rather closely crammed together. Decor includes a lot of framed pictures of dogs and puppies, any relevance passed me by. A rear staircase leads somewhere, to a dining area I believe. Although it looks like a typical food led place I didn't spot anyone partaking but it was around 5pm.
Five pumps with one unclipped, By the Horns Mick the Miller (£4.20), Sambrook's Wandle, Sharp's Atlantic and Cotswold Cider Co No Brainer.
I quite liked it in here despite the braying well to do customer base, the service was quick and friendly and the beer good and not too badly priced for this area.

On 7th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Queens Arms

Quite a nice looking pub from outside and decent interior.Only 2 beers on cask but both good.Trumans -lazerus and Hackney - pacific pale.

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Queens Arms

Slowly wandering down to the Cask Pub & Kitchen, from Victoria station, I entered this place out of sheer curiosity, knowing it probably wouldn’t be my sort of thing, but enticed by the sight of hand pumps on the bar. Situated on the corner of Upper Tatchbrook Street and Warwick Way, it’s a square shaped one roomer, with a definite gastro feel, borne out by the cream and mushroom colour scheme, bare floorboards and solid wooden dining tables all contributing to a rather spartan, canteen-ish atmosphere.

At the bar there were five wickets, but only three in use, serving Trumans ‘Swift’, London Fields ‘Hackney Hopster’ and Cottage ‘Wessex Red’. On keg there was Meantime London Pale Ale and Camden Unfiltered Hells, plus a selection of world bottled beers. The Swift was passable, but the Hopster was way past its best, very tired indeed. Service from the young barman was friendly enough, once he’d stopped being ‘busy doing nothing’ and decided to do something customer based. Certainly a lively atmosphere when I called early Friday evening, with an eclectic crowd dominated by diners. Unfortunately, the dinner time prattle, struggling to be heard over the intrusively loud piped music, combined into an echoing din. A moment’s massaging of the temples was followed by ‘down the hatch’, then out into the evening air, never to return. As suspected, just not my sort of place.

On 14th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 410 recommendations about 394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Queens Arms

This place had a very gastropub look about it, being bare-boarded, with solid tables and plain chairs, minimalist decor, and candlelit tables, but I didn’t get to see a menu to confirm the food on offer. But it gets good marks for the ale choice, with Adnam’s Gold, Sharp’s Cornish Coaster, Rebellion Old Nuts, and Red Squirrell Porter on. My fellow drinker and I opted for the RS Porter, which turned out to be an excellent full flavoured 5% dark beer, at £3.60 a pint, which I guess is the going rate for this sort of place.
It was very busy, and thus very noisy, with several groups of mainly youngish drinkers. The available bar counter is a small affair at the back on the left, and being obstructed by a couple of pillars access is not easy when it’s busy. I say “available” bar counter, because about half of the counter can’t be used for service because it is cluttered with the usual gastropub accoutrements, as well as having tables inhibiting access to it. But I guess with a relatively small room to work with it makes sense to cram in as many tables as possible.
This is not really the sort of place that I like, but I reckon that there’s room in London for a pub to suit every taste, and this one certainly gets extra marks for the ale choice and quality.

On 12th December 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Queens Arms

This place is more gastro than one would like, but the staff were friendly and the groups of thirty somethings packing out the pub sharing bottles of wine were harmless enough.

Bombardier and Adnams were available along with a selection of draught products that were hard to pick out as the metal etched clips were hard to decipher in the dim light. My Guinness was well poured though, if maybe on the expensive side rocking in at £3.55 a pint.

I wouldn't return to this pub on my own again, but it is a good place to take a partner and I would probably pop in if passing with the wife.

On 10th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]