User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

Cask, Pimlico, SW1

6 Charlwood Street
SW1
SW1V 2EE
Phone: 02076307225

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about Cask

Somehow, I’ve missed to review this one in all the times I’ve been coming here so time to put that right.
The main salient points have all been covered by a multitude of reviewers below but outside of its always impressive real ale offerings the reasons I will continue to frequent it are
1) Its always a good atmosphere and is a reliable lively bolt hole this close to Pimlico tube. On an evening when the whether forecaster was predicting Snow Armageddon hitting London the pub was extremely lively when we arrived at 6.00PM and was still going strong when the last of us left some 3 and ½ hours later.
2) The service levels are extremely high. They were coping admirably with the after-work rush when we arrived and although our first round included the final pint of Marble Pint, the beer was put back on in time for our third round and the other four beers that went whilst we were there were also duly put back on during the evening despite the constant demand at the bar.
3) The quality is always good. On this particular evening eight of us had five rounds taking in most of the beers below 6.5% and we didn’t have a single duff pint between us. Cask is certainly not dead in this place.
4) As for Mr Fastard below the beer range does seem to get better with each visit. Alongside three offerings from Marble (Earl Grey IPA, Pint and the Porter) were EightArch Brewing easy life and Bobolink Coffee Oat Stout, Fyne Ales Vital Spark, Magic Rock Ringmaster and Park Brewery porter to name a few. Some might argue that’s a heavy presence of dark ales, but with temperature level plummeting and Snow Armageddon on its way , I was OK with that.

On 5th February 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Cask

ORIGINAL REVIEW Jan 2011
This was my first visit to this well reviewed pub and I enjoyed the experience.The central pillars break the interior in two,with a large seating lounge well lit by the large windows,while the bar on the other side of the pillars is in the narrowest part of the pub.Overall the interior is a lot larger than appears possible when the pub is viewed from the exterior,which was a good job as this was a busy pre Christmas evening.The musak had been cranked up to quite loud,influenced by the festive vibe but the bar service was excellent so no long wait for a round.The eight handpumps were offering a mix of light and dark beers and ales were rotating at a rapid rate.Dark Star and Thornbridge ales always seem to be featured ,but the Marble Chocolate was reversed before I could even get an order in.Over the evening the ale quality maintained a high standard,but the lack of a notebook and the passage of time make exact recollection of what the four of us drank almost impossible.
We didnt eat ,but folk seemed to be ordering pub snacks rather than full meals,and the chips and mixed platters looked fine to me with plates returned to the kitchen empty.
Although real ale enthusiasts are well catered for,I got the impression that Continental lager buffs have even more to get their teeth into with a fine offering of draught lagers and the bottled selection in the menu book was impressive.We declined the opportunity to sample BrewDog's Tactical Nuclear Penguin 35% ABV at £45 or Sink the Bismark 41%ABV at £60,that may have to be a challenge for another day.
A pub traditionalist wouldn't feel at home in here,but this is a succesful outlet for the adventurous drinker and it's most definately on the list for a revisit in 2011.

UPDATE
A revisit has compelled me to award top marks.Nothing new about the interior ,the short menu burgers were superb but the ale range was out of this world.Featuring Hopcraft and Torrside (unfined) ales in peak condition with lots of quality high ABV brews,this was an exceptional visit.Be prepared to swing the bat at some challenging sounding ales,relax and enjoy.An absolute must visit if your care about ale.

On 16th April 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

At last, a pub that gets a revisit stamp! I had Abduction which was excellent and the choice was extensive - 15 keg, 14 real ales and bottles in fridges. There was a price list to the left of the bar that showed increases in price subject to the ABV level - saves any messing around.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1391 recommendations about 1390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

Housed in a dismal looking building,the interior isnt exactly cutting edge although functional. Its all about the beer here and was one of the first pubs to push craft beer and still does a very impressive range of keg and bottled beers. Cask beer wise there are 10 hand pumps with an equally impressive lineup on my latest visit here,
Harbour Light Ale and Amber Ale, Stancil Barnsley Bitter,Glastonbury Pilton Pop,Smoked Rye and Velo Dog from Gun Brewery,and four from Hopcraft,Excange of Fluids 2,Every Hop I Love Is Dead,Graveyard Eyes and Digging Up The King.If your into good interesting beer this is the place for you.

On 4th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

Situated on the corner of a unappealing block of 1970s flats, this modern take on a pub goes from strength to strength. the interior is very contemporary with mushroom paint schemes and scrub top tables. Staff are pleasant and happy to discuss beer.

I have visited several times in the last couple of years for both drinks and food. The beer is constantly changing and is always on top form. Sometimes the choice is restricted by nothing more than ABV, with perhaps 6 of the 10 pumps over 5.5 and far too strong for a session, but if you go back in a couple of days, the choice has changed. Quite often, there is a mild and a porter on the bar amongst the amber, red and brown beers, I have never failed to find something to my taste.

Food is burger orientated and aside from the sweet brioche bun they are mighty tasty. The pub sells a decent glass of wine too, much to the delight of the wife. Fridges behind the bar and in the main room contain a bewildering assortment of bottled beers from around the world. Not my thing, but I am sure that some punters will indulge.

In short, the Cask is a beer oasis in this part of London and well worth a visit.

On 3rd November 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

Ten ales on handpump on our visit, we went for Siren Dinner for Six and Salopian Lemon Dream. I ordered a half of Salopian and then decided to upgrade to a pint. In spite of the pub being busy, this wasn't a problem to the patient barman. Beware a lot of tables reserved around the pub for the office crowd at 5pm.

On 28th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

The Cask has deservedly become a destination pub since it re-opened in 2009, and it continues to go from strength to strength. Always has an excellent (but continuingly variable) selection of ales from ten handpumps - including many rarer offerings from across the country - all priced by % ABV (with a pint of Roosters 4.5% Golden Eagle pale ale coming in at £3.95 on my latest visit). Also has 15 craft beers on tap, with a large range of interesting bottled offerings in the fridges behind the bar. Light modern decor, good atmosphere and generally a very pleasant place to have a drink - so unlike its previous incarnation as the Pimlico Tram. Well worth seeking out.

On 25th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

One of the original craft beer bars, two minutes walk from Pimlico tube or, for the more agile, a nice 15-20 minute stroll from the Houses of Parliament. The pub is part of the rather nasty-looking block of 1970’s flats, which sit incongruously opposite a chic Georgian row of town houses.

10 cask ales (Dark Star, Thornbridge, Marble, Crouch Vale, Ilkley and Mallinson feature regularly) alongside numerous interesting keg beers plus a comprehensive bottled selection prominently displayed in the fridges behind the bar – a menu for these is available so you don't need to rush your choice. It appears the cask beer range features Dark Star and Thornbridge as standards, whilst the pub runs regular brewery showcase weeks and meet the brewer evenings. Prices aren't cheap and sometimes they are a bit lax about spotting and taking off fag-end of the barrel beers. Proper cider also available.

The interior has been refitted to a decent standard with a slightly lounge bar feel (lots of wood for example) and it benefits from a couple of gigantic plate glass windows, which whilst looking hideous from the outside work very well inside and allow in a vast amount of much-needed light. Clips of beers past are beginning to snake around the top of the walls, which helps add an element of pubbiness to an otherwise fairly plain interior. There's a large flat screen TV that is usually switched off when I've visited. The toilets let the place down a bit – the door from the bar opens almost seamlessly into two fights of stairs (be careful not to fall down them as I almost often do) into a room that would concern a Guantanamo inmate. Rather like Student Union toilets used to be in the mid-90’s!

As an outlet for quality beers, this is amongst best that the capital has to offer. It does lack a little something to turn it into the complete package.

On 28th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

This was my first return visit to this pub since a group of BITE reviewers visited back in the Summer of 2009. The interior has changed a bit. Then it had a few homely touches, with a sideboard or two and some high quality and attractive furnishings. Now it’s far more functional with basic upholstered benches round the sides and normal tables and chairs taking up all available space. It looks as if they’ve crammed in as many tables and chairs as possible (not a bad thing really) and with the light grey painted walls and minimalist black and white photos I found it fairly functional and characterless.

But one thing that hasn’t changed is the range and quality of beers. You would be very hard pressed to fail to find something you liked here. My chum and I went for the Ilkley Joshua Jane, and after three pints we became convinced that we did like it. The main food on offer seems to be burgers – at around the £10 mark a pop. This remains a real ale Mecca, and is well worth a visit.

On 11th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2477 recommendations about 2398 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Cask Pub & Kitchen

Marmite indeed, and would not be to everyone's taste, its basically a beer drinkers room on the bottom floor of a block of flats.

One open room, light green benches around the outer walls, dark wood tables filling the space. Various brewing scene photographs on the walls. Of little character, but has around 10 real ales, though the temperature of the beer was slightly too warm for me.

They do burgers, starting at £9

On 26th September 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1168 recommendations about 1145 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3