User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon), SW1

18 Whitehall
SW1
SW1A 2DY
Phone: 02078397701

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

Not the largest of Wetherspoon's and usually busy, but a reasonable selection of beers and usually well-kept. A reliable place for a good pint at reasonable prices compared to some in the vicinity.

On 13th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

Well run 'spoons an in impressive meeting which always seems to have a good selection of real ales and ciders from the two banks of six handpumps. Usual decent selection on this visit, including two London Porters: Mad Squirrel and Wimbledon (£3.55). Just a short distance from Trafalgar Square and only five minutes walk from Charing Cross station if waiting for a train. The main downside - often crowded, but that's hardly surprising given its location and choice.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

Very busy with diners on our Saturday afternoon visit, with all the tables full. Prices for cask ale, were higher than your average Spoons. There were 11 ales and 1 cider on handpump. The prices for beer here went higher according to the higher abv and whether it was a guest. We went for the Portobello American Pale Ale, ok for a quick visit.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

"Lord Moon of the Mall" - quite a nice pub really. Different. Very high ceiling (as John Gray points out, below) plenty of eating tables, but quite often ALL full..! And there's quite often a few people waiting at the bar for drinks, It's a popular pub! The food actually isn't that great, the usual micro-wave fair that you get in most Wetherspoons, okay, edible, I guess but perhaps not quite the 4star meal you, or millions of tourists might like in the very centre of London! (There are plenty of better eateries around)! But have a drink, and revel in the location. This is LONDON, baby! :o) Actually, I think I prefer the slightly smaller pub opposite (...The Clarence) which I would revisit when in the area. See which you prefer...! ;o)

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Lord Moon of the Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

Better than average central London Wetherspoon,s.Nice gentlemans club style.Liked the vaulted ceiling as you enter.Fest on so tried a couple of the foreign collaborations. Wadworth /Og ipa was good but expensive for this pub chain.

On 6th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Lord Moon Of The Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

There's not much I can add to previous reviews. I turned up here at around 19:00 on an August Saturday evening, probably not the best time to visit as it was packed with tourists and various other people.


The beer selection was not as good as it could be as there were still quite a few festival ciders on.
I had a Brewster's Calamity Jane (£3.15) which was in good condition.

It's a handy place for the Prime Minister or the Chancellor Of The Exchequer to sneak out for a crafty one.

On 11th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Lord Moon Of The Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

It's a big 'spoons; what more do you need to know? It offers the usual range, albeit at 50p - £1.00 more than you may have expected. I find the tables and chairs packed in, grid fashion, do little to add to a relaxed ambience. On the whole, though, it serves its purpose well enough. Worth a visit if you're watching the pennies, but I tend not to stay for long, preferring the more 'pubby' feel of the Harp nearby.

On 30th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 286 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Lord Moon Of The Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

They really haven't made the best of these premises on converting to a JDW with tables crammed in tightly but you can understand the policy being where it is in central tourist land. Large arched windows front and back, replicated by a pair of very grand arches inside leading from the entrance to the bar area. The front area retains a grand and ornate ceiling, decor includes a few prints plus potted histories of some central London landmarks presumably to satisfy the curiosity of the tourist visitors. The trip downstairs to the toilets reveals the old brick arched vaults.Refreshing service for central London, it was rather pleasing to see a member of staff helping a couple with their map , you don't always see that in town.
Two banks of handpumps along the side bar, I counted 7 guests plus the usual JDW suspects, a pretty decent effort. £2.99 for guest beers though is a full £1 more than in suburban versions of the chain. I wonder if the staff are paid accordingly?
Not a place of character but a good spot to catch a decent and non-mainstream pint bang in the middle of town.

On 7th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lord Moon Of The Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

This Wetherspoons pub has an excellent location at the Trafalgar Square end of Whitehall, ensuring that it is always full of civil servants during the week and tourists at the weekends. One of several Central London ‘Spoons bank conversions, you enter into a large square shaped space filled with rows of standard tables and chairs and decorated with a number of large portraits, including one of Wetherspoons chief Tim Martin (who also makes an appearance on the pub’s sign suggesting that this is a flagship pub for the chain). The room narrows a little at the point where the bar appears on the left hand side. A number of pillars with some interesting decorations run down the room opposite the bar, breaking up the space a little. Some large bookcases dominate this part of the room which also has a small alcove with a statue as a centrepiece. The large windows at the rear give this part of the pub some much needed natural light, preventing it from feeling too gloomy. The usual Wetherspoons local information boards are present and correct, but they cover some well known subjects such as Big Ben and Trafalgar Square.
I counted six ales on the hand pumps, three of which were regulars, with the other three more interesting guests. The remaining hand pumps were given over to ciders due to the ongoing cider festival. I tried a pint of Celt Native Storm, which was in pretty good shape and at the usual reasonable prices.
It’s not one of the chain’s more spectacular bank conversions and I have to say that the large portrait of Mr Martin was pretty tacky, but aside from that, I thought this was a pretty good, well run pub that is worth taking a look at when you’re passing by.

On 7th August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Lord Moon Of The Mall (JD Wetherspoon)

As others have said, this ‘spoons is housed in a bank conversion – in fact the bank in question was the famous Holt’s Branch of Barclays Bank. To be honest it’s very typical of the ‘spoons brand, with the usual bogstandard furnishings, and being essentially a characterless drinking barn, largely patronised by Civil Servants. I even heard one girl refer to the dreaded “MOD Main building”. There are, however, some nice large paintings/prints and mirrors, that go a long way to making the high walls a bit less intimidating. The guest ales here now cost £2.95, which is at the top end of the ‘spoons price range. As ‘spoons go this one is OK; you know what to expect in here.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]

Page: 1 2