User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Jugged Hare, SW1

172 Vauxhall Bridge Road
SW1
SW1V 1DX
Phone: 02078281543

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Jugged Hare

First time to visit this Fullers Ale and Pie House inside the former Nat West Bank. A very decent conversion as well described below, and I thought it was actually bigger inside than I was expecting from the impressive but small front entrance, especially when you factor in the small outside decked courtyard bit at the back of the pub. All five of the pumps were in operation dispensing the usual ESB and Pride alongside Gales Seafarers, Dark star Hop Head and Fullers seasonal offering Swing Low, just in time for the start of the Rugby Six Nations. The Hop Head was in fine form and I thought this was a comfortable pub to drink it in.

On 1st February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1849 recommendations about 1785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Jugged Hare

Decent large conversion which was rather quiet for a Saturday afternoon. ESB on draught was a fine choice but I doubt if I'll be back.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Jugged Hare

A Fuller’s Ale and Pie House, the Jugged Hare is, as you expect with this chain, a converted bank – albeit a smaller one compared to some of their more impressive Central London pubs. The main part of the pub sees the bar on the left hand side with a tiled floor area opposite filled with high tables and stools and some bench and standard seating along the right hand side underneath an enormous painting. Towards the rear, the pub is carpeted and extends into a cluttered snug type room, which I believe used to be one of the bank’s offices, but now looked more like a storeroom, with furniture stacked up in there. Stairs lead up to a pleasant gallery area which curves nicely above the main room and gives good views down to the bar area. Large chandeliers hang from the ceiling and finish off the plush, opulent look that these pubs seem to achieve. Music was playing quietly throughout my visit and a TV near the entrance was showing BBC rolling news coverage, although other screens all remained turned off.
Four Fuller’s beers were available on handpull – London Pride, ESB, Wild River and Gale’s Seafarers. I gave the Wild River a try – a new beer for me and one that I enjoyed in all respects except the price, which clocked in at £3.90. The staff were winding down for the evening, but seemed friendly enough.
This pub fell a bit short of my expectations but it’s still a nice place to sit down and enjoy a couple of pints. It doesn’t match up to some of the higher profile bank conversions in the city there’s enough going on here to merit a stroll from Victoria to check it out.

On 1st September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2826 recommendations about 2826 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Jugged Hare

One of the smaller bank conversions (dating from 1996 according to the notes in the menus), but the rectangular bar, small dininf area to rear and 'L'-shaped balcony are still ornately decorated. Five Fullers beer available on handpump: Pride, Seafarers, Discovery, ESB and a fine pint of Bengal Lancer (£3.80). (NB - Updated review dates from April 2012.)

On 24th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Jugged Hare

Entering this former bank can be impressive due to its size and (faux) grandeur - the art deco lights and chandeliers are a bit ott but it still leaves a space that is fun to drink in. Upstairs is a function room, downstairs is the typical London city-style bar. Five ales on, all Fullers, and all reasonably well kept. Staff were friendly if a little over-worked, and the press of the crowd made it difficult to get served. It's worth dropping in when passing, and it fits in nicely with a crawl around the Petty France/Pimlico pubs - I think it might also be a bit more civilised at lunchtimes.

On 16th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2912 recommendations about 2879 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Jugged Hare

Not much to add beyond what has been said below. A very competent refurbishment, a couple of notches better than JDW would have done. Everything very well presented but for a lingering smell of chips and well worth a stop if you're in the area.

On 19th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 557 recommendations about 549 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Jugged Hare

Apparently purpose built as a bank in the 1800's and converted in 1997 from a Nat West as documented below, this pub reminded me of a scaled down version of The Counting House in Cornhill, although its a close call as to which came first. Certainly the trademark double height ceiling has been used to good effect with the galleried area above the bar, and the former offices to the rear have been given a new use as a dining room. Unfortunately this smaller bank was not as grand as The Counting House and the pseudo marble buttresses/half columns turned out to be painted plastic on closer inspection. Artistic licence I suppose.
Decor includes some random black and white photos of various parts of London, a few bits of hare related information including an ornamental hare in a glass case that looks a bit like the treasure hunt hare from the late 1970's book "Masquerade" (it certainly won't be the original) plus a large painting of a pub with the same name but clearly not this one. Lower panelled walls, non-original tiled floor, seating was mixed, mainly traditional but with a few circular high tables through the middle of the bar. A couple of TVs high on the walls were muted while music played.
A Fuller's Ale and Pie house, the selection was Chiswick, Pride, ESB, Discovery and Bengal Lancer. I noted the 5* Scores on the Doors sticker on entering which clearly indicates a well managed clean pub, well done for that.

On 12th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Jugged Hare

Looking at this pub from the outside it’s clear that it can’t be anything other than what it is – a bank conversion. This impression is reinforced on entering, with (apparently false) fluted half pillars on the walls, as well as the trademark very high ceiling. The ceiling is sufficiently high for there to be a balcony on two sides of the room, with more tables and chairs. The blurb on the back of the menu states that this was originally a NatWest bank (obviously it wasn’t originally a NatWest bank – they must mean formerly such a bank). The main room has the standard issue tall tables/stools in the middle of the room, but the remaining furnishings are normal tables and chairs. The room at the back on the right seems to be used as a dining area. A nice touch was the large, real Christmas tree filling a large space just inside the door.
They had on what seems to be the standard current quintet of Fuller’s ales – ESB; Pride; Chiswick; Discovery and Bengal Lancer. Food was available but it seemed a tad expensive – to me, at least. The steak & ale pie, etc, was the princely sum of £9.75, and sandwiches were in excess of £6. Nonetheless it’s a reasonable enough pub, although not perfect, and I certainly wouldn’t object to being dragged in here again.

On 9th December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Jugged Hare

Small plush bank conversion very much in what I would say is Fullers style with dark wood perches/stools around the room with a few tables as well. Lots of old London paintings around the walls. There is a more formal mezzanine area. Its a smart well presented pub and pleasant place to have a drink.

Beer was average, usual Fullers range

On 18th May 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Jugged Hare

This is a lovely looking pub that has been converted from a bank and along with the front bar area there is a section with seating at the rear and a balcony overhead. I’m not one to pick up on paintings or in fact any forms of art in a pub, but I was taken with the huge painting on the wall in the bar area.

I found the barmaid to be very friendly and five Fullers ales were available along with a standard draught selection. I enjoyed a nice pint of Pride whilst reading the subtitles on the plasma from BBC News 24 and being a fan of Fullers pubs I will return when next passing.

On 4th November 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]

Page: 1 2