User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Prince Of Wales, SW1

91 Wilton Road
SW1
SW1V 1DW

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Prince Of Wales

One room pub with, happily, ESB on draught. Pleasant enough place for a drink.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Prince Of Wales

A single roomed corner pub,seating was in the form of small stools and tables and bar stools,traditionally layed out it felt like a locals pub and indeed the barman was on first name terms with a good few of the punters. The beer choice was a bit more extensive than it was on Johns visit a year ago, all six hand pumps were on the go with a choice from Fullers Pride and ESB,Doom Bar, T.T Landlord, Robinsons Hop Gun and a very nice Adnams Mosaic.I thought it rather pleasant here.

On 4th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1430 recommendations about 1415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Prince Of Wales

Rough around the edges traditional locals pub.Lots of clutter on the walls.Doombar ,Landlord, Pride and ESB were the beer choices.

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Prince Of Wales

Compact single-room pub with traditional, if undistinguished, furniture and decor. Background music at a sensible level. Mixed clientele, including some regulars who - late on a Saturday afternoon - had probably been there all day. Doom Bar, Pride (£4.00) and ESB available from three of six handpumps.

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6529 recommendations about 6529 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Prince Of Wales

As an unapologetic traditional pub hound, this place looked to tick all the boxes, on a recent wander round Pimlico. On entering, I found it to be a small, narrow one roomer, rather dark, but cosy, with wainscoting on the walls, a predominantly maroon colour scheme and a dark green ceiling. Old prints and photos dotted the walls, some featuring the Prince of Wales himself and low tables and chairs were spaced at intervals under the windows.

At the bar, five hand pumps were in use dispensing Doombar, Landlord, Fullers Pride & ESB, plus a Prince of Wales house beer that appeared to be brewed by Tetley. Opting for the ESB, it was in good nick, but a slightly eye watering £4.20, for a Yorkshireman used to paying less than three quid a pint. However, I suspect it’s not unreasonable for the area. Service from the young barmaid was rather cool, but there was a good early evening atmosphere when I called, with a healthy mixture of tourists and locals. The only real negative was the intrusively loud music playing over the TV news, on silent. Overall, I thought it was a reasonable little place. Probably not one for an extended session, but worthy of a quick pint if in the area.

On 14th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 394 recommendations about 378 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Prince Of Wales

This is an attractive looking street corner pub with dutch gables, preserved brown tiling and nice floral displays. Inside it is one long and narrow room which opens out a bit beyond the front side bar. The bar is ornately carved and has a central clock feature but it didn't look original or Victorian to me but at least an attempt has been made to retain a bit of character. Patterned carpet, wainscoted walls and textured patterned ceiling, the pub manages to capture a feel of a traditional local despite not being far from Victoria Station; round beaten copper topped tables reminded me of how old I am now! Décor included a few caricatures, theatre flyers, some old Royal types and a series of chalked quotations on the bar gantry.
Six handpumps, Doom Bar, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Pride, ESB, Marston's Single Hop Amarillo and unfortunately reverse clipped, Snaith Old Mill Blonde Bombshell. Food is served, I didn't check menus or prices but a couple of boards advertised burgers and baked potatoes.
Not a bad little find for this area, renowned for touristy transient type pubs, one disappointment however when a pair of Americans entered and ordered food then asked for drinks recommendations; the barmaid thoughtfully guided them towards Fosters!

On 12th May 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1688 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Prince Of Wales

This is a smallish street corner locals pub a shortish stroll away from Victoria Station.

Outside, the strapline along the side of the building proclaims “ A Victorian Ale House. Established here circa 1860”.

A rather featureless bare boarded interior interior has a small narrow bar area just inside the main door which opens out to a slightly wider seating area. There’s a few pictures of old kings and queens, but no real attempt to develop the theme. A fake ornate bar gantry is an obvious attempt to create a bit of an old world look, but it looks rather contrived and cheap and doesn’t disguise the fact that there’s no original fittings or Victorian features left.

Beers on were Doom Bar, London Pride and TT Landlord, which appears to be the regular range. The Landlord - £ 3.30p – was really good and my work colleagues were complementary about the Doom Bar.

This pub appears to have a good local customer base and, pleasingly, doesn’t seem to have that typically transient Central London pub feel to it.

Worth a look in if passing, but it’s not worth specifically seeking out.

On 5th April 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Prince Of Wales

This smallish, single room, corner pub appears to attract a legion of regulars rather than have any great appeal for the wider audience. The carpeted interior is neat and tidy without too much that stands out although the clock centerpiece on the bar canopy does catch the eye. A retro radio/cd player stands on a window sill and the 3 TV’s disperesed throughout the pub screen a regular dosage of Sky Sports.A few old regal pictures (presumably ex-Prince of Wales’) adorn the walls but generally it’s quite a plain unfussy interior. Perhaps its ordinariness (is that a real word?) is its best asset when compared to the numerous touristy, gastro and chain pubs that frequent the area.

Of the 6 hand pumps, 3 were unused with Pride and Landlord being the regular choices and Acorn Tangerine Dream the surprisingly unusual guest beer. Prices seem about opar for the area and proababkly a tad less than many of its immediate neighbours.

It all seemed friendly enough although there probably isn't enough here to spend an evening here but it is a half decent stop gap whilst on the way to somewhere else or as part of a crawl.

On 21st December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


derek Smith left this review about The Prince Of Wales

Do NOT go anywhere near this pub! It is rubbish! The landlord is extremely rude, the prices are a joke and the whole place should have been bulldozed years ago - Londoners would not touch this place with a bargepole - go round the corner and enjoy yourself way more! This so-called pub is a disgrace!

On 19th July 2010 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Prince Of Wales

Real ales on were London Pride, Timothy Taylor Landlord, and the more rarely seen O’Hanlon’s Yellowhammer during my recent visit. I went for the Yellowhammer as it as an ale that I’ve only had a couple of times before, and it was as good as I remembered from the previous occasions. Food menu consisted of Thai food – great if you like it, which I do and the chicken green curry was most enjoyable. However, a group of six American tourists wandered in (presumably having taken a wrong turn at Buckingham Palace) looking for some fish and chips, and were somewhat surprised to find that an English pub didn’t have this staple menu item on offer.

This is a smallish one-room pub down Wilton Rd, which looks as if it ought to be a backstreet pub, but is prevented from being one by virtue of being on a busy thoroughfare. There were some stools at the bar; one high table and high stools, as well as some normal tables and chairs and a scattering of small stools. There didn’t seem to be anything unusual in the way of decor, though I did spot some prints at the back featuring the Crown Jewels and other regal paraphernalia. There were some picnic benches outside, presumably for smokers, with a canopy over them which unfortunately made the inside even gloomier than it would otherwise have been on a very dull and overcast day. There was TV monitor on showing the cricket, but muted, some pop music being played, and I saw a one-armed bandit flashing away. It’s carpeted throughout, which gave it a warm feel, and the windows had some Victorian style drapes next to them.

But my abiding memory of this pub is the overpowering smell of disinfectant, or some other cleaning product, that lingered throughout my visit. Nonetheless, I quite liked this small and reasonably cosy pub. I am sure that without the all-pervading smell of disinfectant it would be much nicer.

On 7th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2581 recommendations about 2498 pubs]

Page: 1 2