User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Finborough Arms, West Brompton, SW10

118 Finborough Road
SW10
SW10 9ED

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Finborough Arms

Worth pointing out that Jeff has now moved on, which is a shame. Still, he's got the place open and trading again at a high level. Perhaps he will turn into the Red Adair of London boozers?

Feb 2015
The new venture for Jeff ‘Stonch’ Bell late of the Gunmakers, this is a place that has been closed for some time and has re-opened as a craft beer pub. As also mentioned below, there is a theatre upstairs. Classic flat-iron shaped pub abutting a junction. Tick-shaped, with some exposed brick, green metro tiling, old tim advertising boards and large windows letting in plenty of light. A downside of the interior is that the acoustics are poor, even when fairly quiet. Apparently there’s a downstairs cellar bar but I didn’t spot it. There’s a DJ booth so I presume live music must happen here occasionally. Pizzas can be ordered from the place next door and eaten in the pub, who provide crockery. Not cheap but I can attest that they are proper wood-fired discs of loveliness. Busy on my early afternoon visit as it was a winter ales festival being held in the pub which was quickly augmented by Chelsea and Bradford City fans of a more discerning hue, popping in for a couple of pre-match liveners. At the bar were a good number of brews, six in all – I tried the Black Blenheim (superb shape), Portobello Chestnut (good) and a beer from Cullercoats which despite being in good nick was quite dreadful in taste (see John Gray’s review below). I know Stonch is a fan of theirs but frankly I’d ask for a taster before you take the plunge with them. Also to note is a generous CAMRA discount on pints, so remember to flash your card! All-in-all, this is a good venture and I’d be looking to do this one again (sans Cullercoats!). Rated 8

On 20th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Finborough Arms

I certainly warmed to this pub,although empty early Saturday afternoon, Chelsea weren't playing and the Theatre upstairs was taking a break, yet it was instantly ,to me ,one of those pubs that has an atmosphere of its own,a good ,chatty and informative landlord in Jeff soon to be ex of the Gunmakers in Clerkenwell,and some very good beer indeed,three beers on whilst I was there and the two I tried (ELB Cowcather and Twickenham Naked Ladies) were in tip top condition.Interestingly there was also two real ciders and a perry occupying three handpumps.£3.90 across the board for the cask beers, if you are a CAMRA member this drops down to £3.50 if you show your card. A destination pub for me, will return undoubtedly many times in the future.

On 7th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Finborough Arms

Bar and theatre serving 6 "craft keg" and 6 cask ales.

On 18th August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Finborough Arms

Just a short walk from West Brompton station and the Earls Court Exhibition Centre, this is a recently revamped pub focussing on good beer. The pub sits in the crook where two roads meet, creating an interesting wedge shaped interior with the bar running in an L-shape in the rear right segment. The single room interior boasts chunky floorboards throughout and a modern servery with some nice green and white glazed bricks on the bar back which also has mirrored shelves lined with bits of breweriana. There is a lot of bare brick around the room and the pub's unusual shape means that there are windows on three sides which made it nice and bright on my early evening visit. There is a good amount of bench and low stool seating in the broad front section, as well as a couple of high tables to stand around, and further seating can be found in the narrower space down the left hand side of the building. There is a nice tiled fireplace at the rear under an old Whitbred 'Red Lion' sign which I presume is one of the pub's former guises. A piano stands to one side back here, whilst the walls are decorated with various enamel advertisement signs and a door leads out to the pub's own theatre. There is also a staircase near one of the front doors which leads down to a Cellar Bar, unexplored on this visit. I visited in the middle of a Northumbrian festival, which saw the place packed out with a jovial bunch of Geordies. A lively open mic session was underway when I arrived, which started strongly with some sing-along versions of Blaydon Races and the like, but soon deteriorated into Newcastle FC football chants. Several punters were enjoying burgers, pizzas and the like, but I didn't see any menus myself.
The festival meant that Northumbrian beers dominated the handpulls, giving me a choice of Mordue Northumbrian Blonde and Radgie Gadgie, Anarchy Blonde Star, Breakfast Stout and Urban Assault and Cullercoats Lovely Nelly. one real cider and one real perry completed the line up, whilst keg offerings included Lagunitas IPA and Camden Ink. A 40p CAMRA discount was promoted on posters behind the bar. I tried the Urban Assault, which was okay and the Lovely Nelly which was in great shape.
I think I caught this place at a good time, as there was an infectious atmosphere within that made me stay longer than planned. The beer was in good shape and they seem to put on lots of interesting events. I really warmed to this place and would make it my destination of choice in this part of town.

On 16th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2425 recommendations about 2425 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Finborough Arms

Very few customers on my Monday night visit.Surprisingly small interior.I didnt warm to this pub and found it a bit bland with a bit of a bodged interior.Scuffy toilets as well.Good choice of beers though.Two from Portobello and two from Cullercoats.I tried the two from Cullercoats but they were not to my taste.Overall disappointing but will be back to try it again.

On 13th March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Finborough Arms

This pub’s selling point for me is the ale choice, aptly described below, and with none of the usual suspects present. For me this pub would be greatly improved by a bit of decor on the walls (but it had only been open for some four days when I visited so plenty of time for that sort of thing), and some more comfortable furnishing in place of the the hard wooden pews and small round stools. But that’s just my opinion, and nit-picking really, probably because I’m a miserable old g** with joints that aren’t quite as supple as they used to be.

This one is definitely worth visiting for the ale selection. I expect to return at some stage.

On 7th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Finborough Arms

A new breath of life has been brought to this Victorian squint ended pub which has suffered mixed fortunes over the last few years. Now under the reliable stewardship of the landlord of The Gunmakers in the City, the pub has been transformed into a beer drinkers' destination pub with six ale handpumps, two real ciders and six eclectic keykeg style pumps. The bar is on the rear wall on entering although the room does return to the left some way as the building widens; through a door here there is access to the upstairs theatre, event flyers on the lobby walls. Boarded floor, regular height and style seating mainly with some long wooden pew type benches, lots of exposed brickwork, modern white ceiling with downlighters forms a contrast of styles. Large clear glass windows are obviously not original, nor is the matchboarded bar counter and green tiled bar back but the sum of the parts works even if there is little décor as yet, I suspect a work in progress as the pub is very recently reopened. I actually understand that a former pub sign from the 70s or before is being created by an appointed artist.
There is an overspill area down stairs with some seating under brick arches, not too appealing but it is well worth a wander down here as a glass wall reveals the beer cellar with all the casks and kegs on full view.
We visited on Tuesday evening, generally a quieter pub night however although not uncomfortable thankfully there were a few in, the welcome from the landlord was friendly, chatty and genuine, happy to discuss the venture and his plans. The cask ales were from Plain Ales, The Anarchy Brew Co, Portabello and Adnams, something from Purity Ubu came on later. Ciders from Wilkins and Burrows Hill.
Food is served, I did see a pizze menu, not sure what else is available, pizzas £9.99 to £14.50 so not cheap but this is for decent sounding toppings and 12" diameter.
I didn't spot a TV, music played from an old 33rpm turntable behind the bar with album covers sporadically displayed.
An enjoyable visit with a good few decent beers and friendly staff and customers (including the boisterous dog visitor), a valuable addition to the West and indeed general London ale scene, easily accessible from West Brompton under and overground.

On 6th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]