User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Feathers, SW1

18-20 Broadway
SW1
SW1H 0BH
Phone: 02072270921

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Feathers

A fine Nicholsons house,it has some great features .It's a large pub and to the front there is a staircase to a first flooring dining room with a balcony overlooking the front of the pub and the stained glass window extending below and above.There are three banquettes on the left side of the ground floor,a few high tables then a raised rear section,roped off and reserved on my visit.Lot of wood panelling and ornate features as you expect from this chain.The L shaped bar has all the handpumps to the front,8 in total offering on my trip Doom Bar and Doom Bar Extra Chilled (WTF?),London Pride,Mondo Jenny Jenny Gold,Wainwright,St Austell Proper Job and Nicholsons Pale and Fyne Jarl (NBSS 3.5,a fine brew when crawling).There are 5 craft keg taps and a bottle menu so drinkers are well catered for.
This would be my pub of choice in the immediate area,where there are far too many Greene King pubs for the likes of the discerning drinker.

On 14th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


hondo . left this review about The Feathers

Nicholson’s pub located across from the tube station with a nice old exterior and a multi level interior as described below.

On 10th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Feathers

This is a fairly grand Nicholsons pub opposite St James’ tube station. You enter directly into the main bar area, with a smart servery positioned over to the right. The bar has a nice curved counter with a panelled front and copper top, mirrored pillar and a tidy bar back. The surrounding area is bare boarded and three large, wood clad pillars with plain mirrors on the run through the centre of the room from front to back, creating a clear distinction from the bar area to the right and the seating section to the left. The seating in question is a mix of high stools, tables and chairs and some limited banquette booths along the end wall. Everything here has been painted in quite warm shades or else uses dark wood to convey a nice, homely feel, with the odd bit of feature wallpaper breaking things up nicely and elaborately framed plain mirrors adding a sense of depth to the room. Potted plants add a splash of colour and decorative friezes run around the room beneath the ceiling, with the whole scene only really let down by a number of corporate-style blackboards which detract from an otherwise quite pleasant space. The room runs a good way to the rear, eventually reaching a raised seating area with plenty of regular tables and chairs ideal for diners to utilise. This space is partly obscured from the rest of the pub by one final, huge pillar and has carpeted floor, more potted plants and plain mirrors plus a TV screen that was turned off on this visit. The space seemed to be occupied by a private function, so perhaps it is possible to hire the area.
With this being a Nicholson’s pub, a varied ale range is all but guaranteed, and as such, options on this visit comprised Sharps Doom Bar, Nicholson’s Pale Ale, St Austell Proper Cracker, LBC Never Mind the Kent Hops, Black Sheep Holy Grail, Oakham Citra and Adnams Broadside. With this being my first pint of 2019, I opted for an old favourite and ordered a pint of the Citra, which was perhaps suffering slightly from a lack of post-New Years throughput, but was nevertheless still good enough to slip down nicely.
There’s no obvious ‘stand-out’ pub around St James’, so it’s always good to have a few options in mind should you find yourself in the area. For me, this is a pretty solid effort that promises comfortable seating, decent service and a few interesting ales, making it a good place to know about when passing through the neighbourhood.

On 11th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Feathers

Having a refurb at the moment. Now it's a wait and see.

On 15th January 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Feathers

This was our pub of choice having just watched the epic RAF100 Flypast. This isn’t a great location to look for pubs but necessity is the mother of intoxication and if you stand outside, you can get a good look at the Jacob Epstein sculptures that adorn the façade of Charles Holden’s magnificent 55 Broadway.
This is otherwise a fairly typical Nicholson’s pub, holding few surprises with a mixture of the old and new: some late Victorian features sit alongside wood panelling with modern bare brick with conventional furniture, high and low. Basically, it’s a large room with a slightly elevated area to the rear beneath a lantern which was perhaps once above a billiards table. In all, a bit corporate with the addition of gaming machines flashing away.
Staff are a bit aloof which is to be expected in a central London pub though the ale choice was better than expected with awful Doom Bar, a Nicholson’s-branded ale but thereafter four from Thornbridge with one above 6% ABV though as I’m not a meths drinker, I opted for their Crackendale which was light and refreshing on a hot day and well kept too. I didn’t recall the price as we were in rounds, but I would imagine it was higher than average.
This is a perfectly tolerable average pub which fulfils a necessity, but I wouldn’t beat a path to get here.

On 12th July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Feathers

Standard Nicholson's pub with one large room. Eight hand pumps with one turned round but unfortunately nothing above 4.5% ABV on my visit.

On 1st March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Feathers

Situated close to St James tube, this is a Nicholson’s house with the chain’s usual faux-Edwardian style décor, though some genuine originality can be seen at the front entrance with lovely leaded and stained glasswork. Layout-wise, there’s a drinking area at front the front of the pub and a separate raised lounge area at the rear with wood panelling and unused feature fireplace. I sat in the rear area and felt quite posh - but unfortunately the lights were suddenly dimmed and a candle was plonked on my table meaning I could no longer read my book, the area feeling gloomy rather than atmospheric. Eight ales on; the ubiquitous Doom Bar, a West Berks rugby-themed beer (bit late for that!?), St Austell Nicholson Pale, Truman's Runner, Caledonian Autumn Red, Wadworth 6X and two house beers – these were from Truman's with a festive theme and appeared to be properly-done batches rather than a dodgy re-badge. 3 Wise Hops (ho-ho) and Yule Star Xmas Stout. I went for the latter and got an excellent festive-tasting ale for 2 quid a half – not too bad at all by the standards of the area. Overall, cheaper and generally better-run at the bar than the Sanctuary so gets my vote for the St James area.

On 26th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Feathers

Circa 1898. One of the main features I liked here was the main entrance, with its large front façade from the ground to first floor, featuring some leaded stained glass work. Eight ales on handpump, we went for Trumans and Woodfordes and drank them out on the street, as the pub was so busy.

On 28th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Feathers

Pleasant enough (in a kit-London-pub-in-a-box sort of way), but unremarkable. Black Prince's Dining Room with table service upstairs. The interior decorators also took a bit of a risk by writing the name of the real ale section supposedly available on the cornice above the bar, but you'd be hard pressed to find many of these on the pump clips. Instead, Nicholsons Pale Ale, Pride, Doom Bar and Junction are usually available from the eight handpumps, plus a few seasonals or rarer brews (e.g. Brains I Sea Santa on my latest visit). Close to St. James's Park underground station.

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Feathers

Well, this one was a bit of a surprise! I've found Nicholson's pubs to be a bit of a mixed bunch on the whole, but this one was certainly above average on a recent visit. The main part of the pub comprises two levels: the bar to the front at street level and a raised section towards the rear, where the majority of the tables are found. Reservations are taken for these so, while it may appear that there's room for you and your friends, it's quite possible that someone else will be along shortly.

10 handpumps offer a wide range of ales and there's also 5 or 6 lagers available, so most visitors should find something they like. Quality was good and service swift. The table I chose had obviously seen a heavy session before my arrival: I expected the dozen or more empty glasses to be there a while, but they were swiftly taken away.

While there are plenty of pubs in the vicinity, The Feathers seems to be ahead of most and I expect to visit again.

On 14th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 286 recommendations about 276 pubs]

Page: 1 2