User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with ETA on the Pub Forum

Duke of Wellington, Belgravia, SW1

63 Eaton Terrace
SW1
SW1W 8TR
Phone: 02077301782

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about Duke of Wellington

A smallish Shep Neame pub in the back streets a short walk from Sloane Square tube station. The single U-shaped room wrapped around a central bar counter is as described in the previous two reviews and I do concur with the previous reviewers comments about the teles. Only the big one in the front section facing the bar was on and although muted it did dominate this section of the pub and on a midweek early after work evening there was no need for it to be on.
The gents toilets to the left of the bar are also ridiculously small and they have squeezed two urinals and a trap into the size of a broom cupboard and my first visit almost got me in trouble when I opened the door to find all three spaces occupied and no option just to stand there, and to comment to the first urinal user “its not the biggest is it!”. Fortunately he replied “well you shouldn’t be looking”, but I have known teeth to be lost for less..
For the record Whitstable Bay, Spitfire and Master Brew and the Whitstable Bay was drinking well for the three hours we were here.

On 17th December 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1818 recommendations about 1755 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Duke of Wellington

The pub’s history is well covered on CAMRA’s site, whilst the pub’s shows the unpretentious interior to the full.
Customers were a very mixed bunch for sure, a couple of blokes were actually watching the rugby, which completely dominated the pub’s ambience, coming from at least three screens, one of which was so large as to probably be in violation of pledges made at COP26.
Another Shep’s pub, with the usual Spitfire, Whitstable Bay, Master Brew and Bishops Finger at £2.65 a half and good.
This pub has the potential to be very charming, especially with some interesting guest ales, but the megavision TV experience was a serious deterrent and the superior Antelope is in the same street.

On 6th November 2021 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1519 recommendations about 1497 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Duke of Wellington

An traditional looking street corner pub located down a residential side street but just a minute or two’s walk from Sloane Square, it looks quite attractive with hanging baskets and other foliage outside, and many punters were sat outside enjoying the sun on our recent Sunday afternoon visit.

Internally it’s got a reasonably traditional style to it, although has perhaps been renovated at some time and doesn’t feel as authentically original as many others in the vicinity. It consists of a single U-shaped room wrapped around a central bar counter. A tartan style carpet was on the floor with dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls and royal blue paintwork above. A small fireplace was off tone one side, with some unusual wallpaper on the chimney breast containing porcelain figureheads. At the rear the walls were entirely clad in oak wood panelling, giving something of an elegant, hotel drawing room feel, and there were a number of old black and white pictures of the locale dotted around the walls. Padded bench seating was around much of the perimeter, as well as a number of high stools.

Beers on tap were all from Shepherd Neame with their Whitstable Bay, Spitfire and Master Brew. The solitary cider was Orchard View, which was a new one on me. Apparently it’s a collaboration between Shep’s and Aspall’s, and went down surprisingly well given the latter’s involvement. All in all, not the most exciting pub perhaps, but worth taking a short stroll to find something a little more peaceful and less pretentious than many of the other nearby options.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1805 recommendations about 1729 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Smallish Shepherd Neame pub with nothing above 4.5% ABV. Outside seating but nothing special about this place.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Small Shepherd Neame pub that hasn't had a gastro refurb. 5 real ales and food served.

On 14th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Compact Shepherd Neame house in a posh area, but surprisingly unpretentious (and all the better for that). The interior is traditional, with a fine horseshoe-shaped bar allowing plenty of room for service by the staff who were friendly and efficient. There isn't space for that many tables and chairs in the bar area but there is also some bench seating out front. Plenty of 'Iron Duke' memorabilia on the walls, and for sports fans there are a couple of (quiet) screens showing live events. Beer-wise, Master Brew, Spitfire (£4.05) and Whitstable Bay available from three of the five handpumps on this visit. Overall, I like the atmosphere here and would certainly recommend it in preference to the many gastro-pubs in the area.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7039 recommendations about 7039 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Yes will concur, a very pleasant little boozer and traditionally well maintained by Shep Neame who have resisted the temptation to gastrofy and cash in on its location.
Very nice central U shaped bar with seating around and plenty of Duke of Wellington themed pictures and prints on the walls, including a framed Wellesley family tree.
Whitstable Bay and Bishops Finger were doubled up on the five pumps and Spitfire made the third Shep Neame brew and the Bishops Finger was well kept but at Sloane Square price levels.
Plenty of people both inside and outside for my early Saturday evening visit and rightly so as this is one of the better locations in the area for that traditional pub experience

On 30th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1818 recommendations about 1755 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Duke Of Wellington

The Duke of Wellington is a small U shaped Shepherd Neame pub with a bar that supports five hand pumps. During my visit on Thursday afternoon last week these were drawing Master Brew (x2), Spitfire, Late Red and Bishops Finger. Oranjeboom, Asahi, Strongbow, Guinness and San Miguel were the draught options, the latter of which set me back £2.15 for a half. Food is served and the mains on the specials board were priced around the £8 mark. Sky Sports is shown on the two plasma screens and during my visit Nadal had just beaten Federer in the Australian Open Semi-final. I found the service to be polite and the governor replaced a pint that was returned without any questions asked.

I’m not sure that my wallet could handle an extended stay in here, but it is a very pleasant little boozer.

On 1st February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Duke Of Wellington

A gem of a pub, tucked away down a side street and away from the hustle and bustle. It's the sort of pub you go to and sit and relax over a good pint. Ales always well kept. Will return.

On 14th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Duke Of Wellington

I found this a warm and inviting little pub. Being carpeted throughout, and with a fire on the go (coal effect gas fire perhaps?) made it seem a warm haven on a bitterly cold day. The fire had the obligatory bloke sitting beside it doing his crossword, with a portrait on the chimney breast. It might have been of the Iron Duke himself, but didn’t really look like the other portraits of him that I had seen. This pub is definitely worth a visit if you’re in the area (especially as it’s only a short stroll from Victoria Coach Station) as long as you don’t mind Shepherd Neame ales.

On 9th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]

Page: 1 2