User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Duke of Wellington, Belgravia, SW1

63 Eaton Terrace
SW1
SW1W 8TR
Phone: 02077301782

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about Duke of Wellington

As described by others. Below. My experience seems to have been a lot better that previous reviewers’ though, as the crowd that was in was quite pleasant, the friendly young staff were very helpful and the beer was in very good condition. The single U-shaped bar made for a good drinking area, and the beers, all from Shephard Neame, were in good condition. Whitstable Bay, Creekside, Masterbrew and Spitfire all went down extremely well. There was also a bank of megakeg offerings. The TV screens were showing live football, but the sound was turned down so as not to be too intrusive. Given the historic interest, the pleasant atmosphere and the decent beer I’d be happy to come back.

On 20th July 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3301 recommendations about 3266 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Duke of Wellington

A corner pub with a U shaped servery which is home to five pulls of Shep’s beers, in this case Masterbrew and Whitstable Bay, the Spitfire was off. Possibly the only point of note is the use of silhouettes as decor plus a couple of the Duke when older, although the usual Goya portrait is used for the sign. The beer was average but the staff were pretty good.

On 25th July 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3284 recommendations about 2990 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Duke of Wellington

A smallish Shep Neame pub in the back streets a short walk from Sloane Square tube station. The single U-shaped room wrapped around a central bar counter is as described in the previous two reviews and I do concur with the previous reviewers comments about the teles. Only the big one in the front section facing the bar was on and although muted it did dominate this section of the pub and on a midweek early after work evening there was no need for it to be on.
The gents toilets to the left of the bar are also ridiculously small and they have squeezed two urinals and a trap into the size of a broom cupboard and my first visit almost got me in trouble when I opened the door to find all three spaces occupied and no option just to stand there, and to comment to the first urinal user “its not the biggest is it!”. Fortunately he replied “well you shouldn’t be looking”, but I have known teeth to be lost for less..
For the record Whitstable Bay, Spitfire and Master Brew and the Whitstable Bay was drinking well for the three hours we were here.

On 17th December 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2019 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Duke of Wellington

The pub’s history is well covered on CAMRA’s site, whilst the pub’s shows the unpretentious interior to the full.
Customers were a very mixed bunch for sure, a couple of blokes were actually watching the rugby, which completely dominated the pub’s ambience, coming from at least three screens, one of which was so large as to probably be in violation of pledges made at COP26.
Another Shep’s pub, with the usual Spitfire, Whitstable Bay, Master Brew and Bishops Finger at £2.65 a half and good.
This pub has the potential to be very charming, especially with some interesting guest ales, but the megavision TV experience was a serious deterrent and the superior Antelope is in the same street.

On 6th November 2021 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2009 recommendations about 1975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Duke of Wellington

An traditional looking street corner pub located down a residential side street but just a minute or two’s walk from Sloane Square, it looks quite attractive with hanging baskets and other foliage outside, and many punters were sat outside enjoying the sun on our recent Sunday afternoon visit.

Internally it’s got a reasonably traditional style to it, although has perhaps been renovated at some time and doesn’t feel as authentically original as many others in the vicinity. It consists of a single U-shaped room wrapped around a central bar counter. A tartan style carpet was on the floor with dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls and royal blue paintwork above. A small fireplace was off tone one side, with some unusual wallpaper on the chimney breast containing porcelain figureheads. At the rear the walls were entirely clad in oak wood panelling, giving something of an elegant, hotel drawing room feel, and there were a number of old black and white pictures of the locale dotted around the walls. Padded bench seating was around much of the perimeter, as well as a number of high stools.

Beers on tap were all from Shepherd Neame with their Whitstable Bay, Spitfire and Master Brew. The solitary cider was Orchard View, which was a new one on me. Apparently it’s a collaboration between Shep’s and Aspall’s, and went down surprisingly well given the latter’s involvement. All in all, not the most exciting pub perhaps, but worth taking a short stroll to find something a little more peaceful and less pretentious than many of the other nearby options.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1955 recommendations about 1868 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Smallish Shepherd Neame pub with nothing above 4.5% ABV. Outside seating but nothing special about this place.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Small Shepherd Neame pub that hasn't had a gastro refurb. 5 real ales and food served.

On 14th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2896 recommendations about 2833 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Compact Shepherd Neame house in a posh area, but surprisingly unpretentious (and all the better for that). The interior is traditional, with a fine horseshoe-shaped bar allowing plenty of room for service by the staff who were friendly and efficient. There isn't space for that many tables and chairs in the bar area but there is also some bench seating out front. Plenty of 'Iron Duke' memorabilia on the walls, and for sports fans there are a couple of (quiet) screens showing live events. Beer-wise, Master Brew, Spitfire (£4.05) and Whitstable Bay available from three of the five handpumps on this visit. Overall, I like the atmosphere here and would certainly recommend it in preference to the many gastro-pubs in the area.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Duke Of Wellington

Yes will concur, a very pleasant little boozer and traditionally well maintained by Shep Neame who have resisted the temptation to gastrofy and cash in on its location.
Very nice central U shaped bar with seating around and plenty of Duke of Wellington themed pictures and prints on the walls, including a framed Wellesley family tree.
Whitstable Bay and Bishops Finger were doubled up on the five pumps and Spitfire made the third Shep Neame brew and the Bishops Finger was well kept but at Sloane Square price levels.
Plenty of people both inside and outside for my early Saturday evening visit and rightly so as this is one of the better locations in the area for that traditional pub experience

On 30th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2019 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Duke Of Wellington

The Duke of Wellington is a small U shaped Shepherd Neame pub with a bar that supports five hand pumps. During my visit on Thursday afternoon last week these were drawing Master Brew (x2), Spitfire, Late Red and Bishops Finger. Oranjeboom, Asahi, Strongbow, Guinness and San Miguel were the draught options, the latter of which set me back £2.15 for a half. Food is served and the mains on the specials board were priced around the £8 mark. Sky Sports is shown on the two plasma screens and during my visit Nadal had just beaten Federer in the Australian Open Semi-final. I found the service to be polite and the governor replaced a pint that was returned without any questions asked.

I’m not sure that my wallet could handle an extended stay in here, but it is a very pleasant little boozer.

On 1st February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5303 recommendations about 5271 pubs]

Page: 1 2