User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Constitution, Pimlico, SW1

42 Churton Street
SW1
SW1V 2LP

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Constitution

Single roomed traditional pub with lots of dark wood panelling with assorted period pictures, brass plates and mirrors for character. And then a wooden floor with an area of black and white tiling in front of the green wood panelled bar.
Also fairly lively for my visit and I quite enjoyed it here. The only let down was that just two of the three ale pumps were operational with a far from inspiring offering of Doombore and Pride,and actually, I spotted a much more interesting bottled craft beer line up in the fridges behind the bar.
Thought this was a nice small pub that could benefit from a more adventurous drinks offering.

On 5th February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Constitution

Weak real ale again although this pub was by far the busiest I'd been in so far. Football results on the TVs may explain this.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Constitution

Close inspection of this mid-terrace Georgian pub shows that it is built marginally forward of its neighbours, to me, indicating that it is original and deliberately built to stand out. Many years on there is a squarish single room albeit with a slight recess to the front, boarded but with a chequer style tiled splash zone around the side wall bar. Despite a run of high tables in the middle facing the bar, most seating is more traditional thankfully. A rear bay window is leaded...an addition I suspect, ceiling beams have decorative cornices and are supported by circular columns and there is plenty of good quality wood panelling. Decor has copper plates, stone jars etc but I didn't see any of the Constitution vessel apart from on the pub sign and external awnings which is a shame.
Busy and lively with a mostly younger crowd on Saturday late afternoon, beers on were Adnam's Broadside, Doom Bar and GK IPA. TVs had live rugby or muted football scores. Ok but nothing more.

On 6th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Constitution

Old fashioned sort of pub, of the sort not normally associated with Punch Taverns, with pleasingly traditional furniture and decor within the wood-panelled interior. Also has a few wooden benches out front and an upstairs room (never visited). Greene King IPA, Doom Bar and Spitfire (in good form) available from three of four handpumps on this visit. Certainly worth a stop if in the area.

On 8th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Constitution

A surprisingly good pub hidden away in the back streets of Pimlico, The Constitution holds in own with the better known pubs in the area. It's also surprising, then, that it isn't a GBG pub as it's 4 ales and one cider were very well kept. The locals scrutinised thoroughly but accepted us as normal, and the staff were welcoming. My pint of Sambrooks was particularly good, while my colleague said that the Spitfire was excellent. Highly recommended for inclusion on a crawl and a pub to which I shall undoubtedly return.

On 15th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Constitution

Unusually, in this case we have a pub named after a ship from a foreign navy. This one is named after the USS Constitution, which had considerable success against the Royal Navy in the war of 1812 mainly because its hull was constructed from the super dense live oak wood. It’s still the oldest sailing ship afloat and can be found in Boston Harbour. The pub itself is almost as admirable as its namesake. There’s just the one room downstairs, with some superb full length wood panelling on the walls. Just about every inch of the walls is covered with nautical themed paraphernalia, including numerous prints. I didn’t get close enough to the prints to examine them in detail, but it certainly looked as if some represented the exploits of the USS Constitution. Furnishings are traditional and comfortable, and being carpeted it didn’t get as noisy as ar least one other bare-boarded pub that I visited during the evening. There’s another room upstairs that was being used an overflow for the main room downstairs when I was in, but it was also comfortable and was showing football on the large screen.
Unfortunately the ale selection wasn’t very inspiring, with just Courage Best and Spitfire on, but two ales are certainly better than none, and the Spitfire was OK. I’ve no idea whether they do food during the evenings, but I didn’t see any sign of food or menus. I reckon that this is one of the better pubs in Pimlico, and I would be delighted to pay another visit.

On 11th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Constitution

A traditional, high street boozer in the middle of Pimlico. There's a few benches and chairs outside, and the troughs of flowers make for an attractive appearance.

Inside, it's a single room, square bar with carpet on the floor and much wood panelling on the walls, a mustard colour paint on the ceiling and plenty of jugs, plates, etc., on a shelf around the perimeter. The pub has a somewhat nautical theme, with a ship on the pub's sign, various drawings of ships hung on the walls and a few model ships displayed by the leaded windows at the back. Seating was a mixture of tables and chairs, with a number of high stools at the bar.

There was a plasma at the back of the pub as well as an old TV perched up on a shelf near the door. Neither of these were in use on a recent visit, but there was a Sky Sports fixture list on the wall, so clearly they do get regular use. We didn't eat on this occasion, but a specials board chalked up next to the bar listed various dishes such as Ham, Egg & Chips and Macaroni Cheese. I'm not sure what was on the regular menu if this was the specials, but they looked reasonably priced at around the £6/£7 mark.

Beers on tap were Sambrook's Wandle, Courage Best and Directors, and Spitfire. A surprisingly good choice of cider for pubs in these parts with Strongbow, Magner's Golden Draught and Weston's Traditional Scrumpy.

On 9th October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Constitution

In the heart of Pimlico is The Constitution, a single room pub with a rather striking Italianate style façade. The pub was constructed in the 1840’s by one Richard Lacy, who also constructed some of the neighbourhood terraced streets.

It’s a pleasant carpeted comfortable wood panelled interior with many framed nautical prints on the walls and jugs/vases etc on a high shelf around the room. The pub sign depicts a large sailing ship and I gather there once was a famous American sailing vessel so named, but, disappointingly, I didn’t see anything inside the pub to explain any connection. Leaded windows and curtains add to the traditional cosy atmosphere, which is scarcely spoilt by the presence of 3 TV sets dotted around the pub. Seating is mainly of the traditional variety with several high round tables with stools by the bar area seemingly favoured by the locals. Notably, there appears to be a good customer base with no specific age group dominating.

There’s an upstairs function room called The Churton Room and a few benches outside on the pavement at the front.

On the real ale side, beers on were Courage Best, Greene King London Glory, Spitfire, Caledonian Over the Bar and Adnams Broadside. Unusually, Courage Best appeared to be the best selling real ale. On 2 separate recent visits, beer has been very palatable.

It’s not a showstopper by any means, but well worth a look if in the area

On 23rd March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Constitution

I liked it in here and found the barman to be friendly as were the mix of other customers. Spitfire, Pride and Pedigree were all available, but I cannot comment on the standard as I was on the Guinness which was well served. It's not the biggest pub, but they have still managed to cram in two plasma screens and a small TV for the showing of football.

This is a good local pub and my only complaint would be that the TVs were left on after the match had finished meaning that we all had to shout above extremely loud adverts.

On 10th November 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Priestman left this review about The Constitution

A good, no nonsense, down to earth pub. Good atmosphere and some of the regulars are real characters. If you want to a traditional town pub without all the tourist bells and whistles then visit the Constitution - If plastic theme bars are your thing you will be disappointed

On 21st January 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]

Page: 1 2