User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Barley Mow, Westminster, SW1

104 Horseferry Road
SW1
SW1P 2EE

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Barley Mow

One big room with a semi circular bar. Eight hand pumps but nothing above 4.5% ABV. Standard keg offerings.

On 16th March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Barley Mow

Partly modernised pub, and although it retains dark wood furniture and low-height panelling the large windows ensure the place has a fairly light and airy feel. Raised seating areas at each end of the central bar counter. Wooden patio benches out front. Pretty decent selection from seven of eight handpumps on this visit, with the regulars such as Doom Bar, Sambook's Pumphouse Pale and Twickenham Naked Ladies supplemented by a few less-usual offerings of which the Three Sods Session IPA (£4.50) was the pick of the bunch.

On 4th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow was very busy with an office crowd during lunchtime the week before Christmas. Seating is found throughout the open plan rectangular interior that houses a bar in the centre of the rear wall and a raised seating area to the right. Most of the tables supported condiments and although I didn’t look through a menu I suspect that traditional pub grub is available. Upstairs is an advertised function room that I did not visit on this occasion. This is a corner pub so seating is found along the path on both exposed sides.
Some seasonal background music was playing and the TV was airing muted rolling news. A sign on the front of the pub advertises Sky and BT Sport.
Available from the bar was a range of standard and premium draught products. I counted 8 hand pumps, one of which was unused. This left Sambrooks’ Pump House Ale, Twickenham Brewery’s Naked Ladies and Redhead, Sharps’ Doom bar (x2) Wychwood’s Hobgoblin and Fullers’ London Pride as the cask ale options.
I found this place to be a pretty run-of-the-mill pub that I would pop back into if passing, but I wouldn’t go out of my way.

On 24th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Barley Mow

A large U shaped room with a squint ended horseshoe bar, fittings are all fairly modern, nothing of any particular character. There is a further room upstairs available for hire, I didn't visit.
The place has a Pubco feel, lots of high tables, large menus, wooden floor with one corner carpeted in a tarten pattern, two slightly raised areas mirror each other across the room. The pub is on a corner site and has large clear glass windows all around, letting in plenty of light. Little decor of note, just a few framed prints of this and that, several TVs were showing horse racing.
There is however a reasonable beer selection available, the handpumps offered Black Sheep Golden Sheep, Castle Rock Harvest Pale (£3.75), Doom Bar, Spitfire, Harveys Sussex Best and Deuchers IPA.
Standard pub food menu reasonably priced including a Saturday all day breakfast for £6.95 and weekend roasts for £8.50.
Efficient and friendly service and unusually for SW1 a pub that clearly has regulars.

On 23rd September 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Barley Mow

I come here not infrequently when working locally, it being one of the better pubs in the area for a pint or three after work. The six hand pumps regularly seem to offer Harvey’s, Deuchars, Doombar and Spitfire, and two changeable ales which today were TT Landlord and Skinner’s Heligan Honey (at £3.40). Not the most interesting of alternatives, but very serviceable. It always seems to have a healthy crop of after work drinkers in the evenings, but is rarely uncomfortably heaving, and has an efficient team behind the bar. Main meals on the menu start at £7.75 but the ones on the specials board on the wall above the rear of the bar are generally cheaper and better value. As others have said there is nothing exceptional about this pub, but it’s a good ‘work local’ and worth coming to if in the area. A rating of 6 feels slightly mean, it just slightly missed a 7.

On 3rd November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Barley Mow

An attractive, street corner pub with plenty of flower troughs outside, and happily one of the very few establishments around these parts that seems to bother opening on a Saturday night.

Inside, it's a single room, L-shaped pub, that in some ways has the appearance of a sports bar – there are numerous flags hanging from the ceiling, both small ones around the bar and full size ones elsewhere. There is a projector in the corner (although the screen was rolled up on our visit) and a fixtures list for forthcoming tournaments. Besides that, it's a little more traditional. A raised area in one corner is full of leather sofas and chairs, and there are large windows to look out of. There is wood panelling on the lower part of the walls with cream paint-work above and the flooring is a mixture of carpet and wood. A small TV was on in the corner.

Beers on tap were Nelson's Jammin' Jack, Harvey's Sussex Best, Doom Bar, Spitfire and Deuchar's IPA. Ciders were Strongbow and Thatcher's Gold.

On 9th October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Barley Mow

There were six handpumps in operation, dishing out Harveys Bitter (£3.30), Sharp’s Doom Bar, Pedigree, Spitfire, Sambrook Wandle and Deuchars IPA. The food was reasonably priced, although as I didn’t eat here I can’t comment on the quality. Main meals were around the £7 - £7.50 mark, and the sandwiches were in the region of £5 a throw.
The pub itself has a fairly modern(ish) interior, with modern replacement wood panelling. It’s mostly carpeted, with a couple of raised areas in the corners. There’s a standard mix of furnishings, including several sofas, armchairs, upholstered benches, normal tables and chairs – but no tall tables/stools. Games machines and the like abound, and some pop music was being played.
This is a fairly unremarkable pub with nothing very special about it, although it has to be said that they do have a reasonable ale selection. However, all the ales are of a similar type – e.g no summer ale, stout or mild among a choice of six. But I wouldn’t object to a return visit, although I don’t think it’s worth a special effort to seek out. It’s an “OK” pub.

On 27th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Phil Crockford left this review about The Barley Mow

Need to get their menu sorted out a bit. They don't seem to understand what the (V) mark is. Having been served with a so called vegetarian meal with bacon in it. Didn't get much response when I complained either.

On 24th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Barley Mow

Large corner pub. Restruant upstairs can be hired for private use. Raised seting areas at the front and back, can also be reserved. 6 real ales on sale. Food served all day. Outside seating area.

On 26th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Barley Mow

One of my locals whilst working at the nearby Home Office. A lot of their leaving do's are held in here as it's a very large pub. One central servery with a raised area to both left and right and a decent sized area in front of the bar. It can still get packed with suits (like me) on a Thursday night after work, but the service is usually fine. 4 ales available on the 6 handpumps on my latest visit with a not particularly inventive selection on them as with many pubs around here. Spitfire, Pride, Harveys etc. It's always been a decent, if not outstanding pint though which is why I much prefer the "works do's" to be here rather than the Puzzle across the road. Lots of screens to watch the football on as well. It's a good solid pub.

On 11th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2819 recommendations about 2742 pubs]

Page: 1 2