User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Adam & Eve, SW1

81 Petty France
SW1
SW1H 9EX

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about Adam & Eve

A Greene King tied house,this pub had much more of a boozer atmosphere compared with the other pubs in the location.It's quite small on a street corner with a darts board to a side alcove by the bar,and a charming small St James's snug one on side near a door leading to a courtyard.The middle of the pub is split by a low level divider with a shelf surrounded by bar stools.Around the periphery were bench seating and tables with the GK corporate menu with pictures ,Fish & Chips £12.99 is 6% cheaper than The Albert but still expensive and I came across cheaper on my St James's crawl.Three flatscreens (even on mute) and slightly noisy muzak detracted from the atmosphere.
The bar 5 handpumps offering GK IPA,Old Golden Hen and a house Adam & Eve bitter with guests St Austell Tribute and TT Landlord (NBSS 2.5,served in TT glassware).
A predicatable ale range offset the positive boozer vibe,so not on my revisit list.

On 14th February 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Adam & Eve

Now owned by Greedy King but it doesn’t sound like they have altered it at all going by previous reviews below. What it does mean unfortunately is that Abbott, IPA and London Glory dominated the pumps alongside something badged as Adam & Eve Ale (presumably another GK brew). Fortunately St Austells Tribute was the guest ale on the last pump and was in reasonable enough nick. Of the two the nearby Buckingham Arms will get my vote in future.

On 13th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Adam & Eve

This appeared to be a Green King pub with five hand pumps, with Doombore off during my visit, I'm happy to say. This was very busy at just after 5pm, maybe all the staff from the Ministry for Justice use it!

On 1st March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Adam & Eve

Perfectly reasonable Taylor Walker pub, benefiting from a ceiling high enough for the size of the room to give an airy (but not cavernous) feel and keeping noise down to a sensible level even when packed. Three part-screened booths along one wall and a snug (ambitiously referred to as the 'meeting room') to rear. Beer quality is fine, but the place is slightly let down by its bland selection policy; with the 1730, Pride, Adnams Southwold, Jenning's Cumberland and Bombardier Burning Gold (£4.15, less 10% Camra discount) available from the five handpumps on this visit being typical. Overall, nothing special, but certainly better than some of the other nearby establishments.

On 11th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Adam & Eve

This is another Taylor Walker pub, which had on London Pride, Bombardier, Doom Bar, and Black Sheep Bitter (£1.92 a half). The usual pub grub menu is available, and a Cask Marque sign is on show.

Although the furnishings here are typical of the brand (tall tables/tall stools, some normal tables and chairs), this one has a bit more character than most. There are the tall ceilings typical of these old Victorian pubs, long curtains tied back from the windows, and a small “closet” (akin the the one at Ye Olde Mitre) at the back called “Meeting Room 3 (bookable for private parties) that would seat 8 or so people. The middle of the room is intersected by a large ledge surrounding a central pillar. Like all TW pubs it has fruit machines, and this pub’s one-armed bandit has pride of place at the back of the room flashing away at the assembled punters like a demented Dalek. To the side of the pub are some booths, separated by cut glass glazed screens.

All in all this one’s not bad for a Taylor Walker pub, although it has to be said that the ale range is unexciting. This is a workmanlike pub – OK for a swift one if passing, but not worth going out of your way to find.

On 1st April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Adam & Eve

This is a fairly straightforward Taylor Walker pub on Petty France, close to St James’s Park tube station. You enter into the main bar space, which has bare floorboards and a centrally located drinking ledge arranged around a pillar, which helps to nicely break up the otherwise open space. The bar is on the right hand wall and I noticed that there are still some match strikers below the counter. Down the left hand side of the room, there is a carpeted seating area with some comfy leather benches and a few standard chairs in sections divided up by some screens with decorative etched glass. The walls have some nice half paneling with a moulded pattern texture above. At the rear there is a snug which is signed as ‘Meeting Room 3’, although it’s unclear where the other two rooms might be. A TV screen was tuned to Magic Radio which played at a sensible background level.
Five fairly mainstream ales were available in the shape of Sharp’s Doom Bar, Wells Bombardier, Black Sheep Bitter, Fullers London Pride and Woodforde’s Wherry (£3.55). The Wherry was in fairly good shape though and the barmaid was nice and friendly, which isn’t always a given in Central London.
I liked the fact that there were still a few interesting features left in this pub and that the soul hasn’t been completely ripped out of the place. It’s good to see five functioning hand pumps, but a more adventurous selection would be better, especially given the surge of new breweries in the capital. Overall, not a bad place for a quick pint, but not worth seeking out either.

On 9th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2449 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about Adam & Eve

Welcoming pub near St. James’ Park, with five real ales, as at last week being Pride, Doombar, Bombardier, London Gold and, as I recall, Woodforde’s Wherry, of which our party enjoyed various. Service was good, and the landlady swiftly rearranged her seating plans to allow us to continue sitting in an area that had been reserved for others. There is a small back yard, the few seats there usually populated by smokers.

On 4th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Adam & Eve

Despite being situated close to a main tourist area (Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament etc are 5 a minute walk away), this typically old-fashioned Victorian corner pub is pleasantly refreshing in that it feels very much a local's pub and is relatively unspoilt by any cynical tourist marketing programme. Despite the obvious refurbishments, the pub retains a decent amount of character with its unusual panelled windows, plenty of bare floorboards, dark ceiling and panelled walls. One side of the pub is given over to a triumverate of carpeted snugs separated by patterned glass screens. Note also the central pillar with its extended shelf (also separated by glass screens). There is also a small snug to the rear where children are welcome during the daytime. There are 2 TVs but from memory no Sky etc and my erecnt visit thet were tuned to the very bland Magic FM which was OK for a bit of background but a bit dull. There is no permanent dart board but they do advertise darts on Tuesdays so presume they put up a temporary board The beers are generally quite mainstream (Pride, Greene King IPA, Adnams, Youngs Ordinary with the occasionally interesting guest beer). Prices seem pretty reasonable compared to many of the neighbouring pubs. Food is the typical Punch Tavern pub grub fare with main courses in the £7-10 range. It is generally quiet on my visits which suits me and it is one of my preferred pubs in the area although it could do with a bit more of an inspired ale choice.

On 4th March 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Adam & Eve

This isn’t the most exciting pub in the world, but there are five hand pumps and a generic draught selection. I found the staff to be very friendly and the other clientele seemed to be a mix of regulars and people having a quick pint after work.

I wouldn’t go out of my way to drink here again, but I would have no problem popping back in if passing.

On 25th March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Adam & Eve

Can't disagree with Maldenman. I've been calling in this pub for the last 10 years whenever I'm working in Westminster, which is about one night per month. The beer is always well kept, but only occasionally does a more interesting beer appear. The thing is when one appears they come along like buses, two or three at once, and then it's back to the same old tired selection. It's always packed after the offices turn out, so perhaps they think they don't need to bother. Still a decent enough pub though.

On 24th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2847 recommendations about 2768 pubs]

Page: 1 2