User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Star Tavern, Belgravia, SW1

6 Belgrave Mews West
SW1
SW1X 8HT

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Star Tavern

Not obvious as you wander around,tucked away but this Fuller's tied house is well worth a visit and a great example of a mews pub.
You enter into a short corridor with the three sided bar to the right serving a front section with a large collection of GBG's,and a rear snug with Members Only inscribed in the glass partition.This small snug is full of bar stools and regulars.To the left is a lounge area with a decent fireplace and dining type tables extending back into the building.Up a flight of stairs is the Library,a dining area that can be hired but I didn't investigate.
The food is from a short Fuller's menu with small plates £6,Sandwiches with chips £8,a median Main at £13 and some daily specials which all sounded good.
Thankfully Fullers have not gone corporate with the interior,there is a lot of wood panelling,no flatscreens nor muzak and chatter rules the waves.Wonderfully authentic with Thomas Crapper wash hand basins in the gents.
The Great Train robbers were meant to have planned their heist in here and it does feel like toffs and crims could easily have rubbed shoulders in here in the past.Thankfully being hidden away keeps any tourist throng to a minimum and it does have a boozer atmosphere.
The bar supports 5 handpumps with on my trip Fullers London Pride,ESB,Seafarers,Dark Star Sunburst (NBSS 3.5) and a guest in Windsor & Eton Knight of the Garter.The long standing GBG entry is fully justified and I would very happily return to this fine pub.

On 4th November 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Star Tavern

Tucked away down a private mews, this isn’t somewhere you’re likely to stumble across by accident, and even though I was actively looking for it, first impressions were that you were entering the German embassy rather than finding a pub. Once there though, you’ll find an attractive looking pub with plenty of hanging baskets outside and etched glass in the windows.

Internally it consists of a small bar to the right and a larger room to the left that is perhaps more intended for dining. Seating in the smaller bar was limited with a few high stools around the bar counter where a few locals were congregating. An extensive pile of Good Beer Guides were stacked up on the window sill. Décor wise it’s quite traditional with old boards on the floor that have been worn smooth over the years, covered in some places with large rugs, dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls and cream painted wallpaper up above. A couple of old fireplaces were off to the left, although at least one of them was clearly no longer used being stacked up with a pile of board games. A few black and white pencil drawings were dotted around the walls.

Beers on tap were predominantly from Fuller’s with their ESB, London Pride and Oliver’s Island, and these were joined by Wild Beer Bibble and Tiny Rebel Cwtch. The solitary cider was Cornish Orchards. All in all, a pretty decent little pub that’s worth making the effort to track down.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1709 recommendations about 1645 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Star Tavern

Historic pub just off Belgravia Square. noted for past associations with the great train robbers and the Profumo affair. Nowadays it has a pleasant dining room feel, with tasteful furnishings. There is a small corner for the regulars by the bar, with a tiny snug for landlord's friends behind, but most people end up in the one large room which is mainly tabled. There is also an upstairs room available for hire, and a couple of tables on the pavement. Beers are from the wider Fullers range, with a very nice pint of Hophead supplied on this occasion.

On 25th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2083 recommendations about 2037 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Star Tavern

Decent Fuller's pub although quite small - what you'd expect from a mews. ESB on hand pump so I'd definitely return if in the area.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1503 recommendations about 1501 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Star Tavern

Given its location in a rather swish area of London(handy for numerous embassies) I found the pub remarkably "normal ". Fuller's beers plus 1 sambrook's and food served.

On 26th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Star Tavern

Apparently the Star Tavern used to be a popular haunt of celebrities who liked to mingle with the villains of the day back in the 50s/60s. This is also reportedly the location where the finer points of the Great Train Robbery concocted. There were no such shenanigans going on during my recent Friday afternoon visit when the pub was busy with dining tourists and local office workers. To the right of a central walkway that leads to toilets at the rear is a small U shaped bar that was busy with the aforementioned office crowd. Alongside a limited premium draught selection were five hand pumps that were drawing a Fuller’s range of London Pride, Seafarers, ESB and Oliver’s Island (x2). The left hand side of the pub houses standard tables and chairs which were being used by the diners. A lunch menu was in operation during my visit and to give an idea of price I noted that cod and chips were priced at £12. There was no background music playing and I didn’t spot any televisions, but the Rugby World Cup being shown on terrestrial television was advertised. By the front entrance is a small smoking area, but drinks are not permitted outside.

I found the service to be friendly enough and being a big fan of Fuller’s pubs I would have no problem visiting here again.

On 12th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Star Tavern

Just what you might expect a old mews pub to be, but bearing in mind it is in the heart of Belgravia it is not exactly a basic backstreet boozer. Small 'U'-shaped bar area to your right as you enter, with a total of five handpumps on the counter. Usually has a good selection of Fullers / Gales ales available (e.g. an excellent pint of ESB at a reasonable - for the area - £3.69) but it also had Oakham JHB on as a guest when I called in recently. Opened out with the two rooms on the left being joined by a wide arch with some nice old wooden furniture, rugs on the floor, big fireplace, an interesting selection of prints, a number of ornate mirrors and two fancy chandeliers. Upmarket gents toilets too. All in all, a very comfortable and relaxing place for a drink.

On 4th May 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Star Tavern

A fine traditional pub on a pleasant cobbled mews just off Belgrave Square. Having opened the front door on a freezing cold Friday night, I was confronted by a set of heavy curtains which were doing a sterling job of keeping the cold out each time someone entered or exited the pub. The large D-shaped servery is to the right on entering and has a very limited amount of space either side for people to stand or perch on bar stools. The windows at the front are very pleasant, bearing the pub's name and a star symbol. A large, wide archway on the left takes you into a smarter area with lots of seating, two fireplaces and all manner of pictures on the walls. There is also a dining room upstairs which can be hired for private functions.
There are five hand pumps serving beers from the Fullers range. On my recent visit, these were London Pride (doubled up), ESB, Discovery and the rarely seen London Porter, with Honeydew on keg and further options in bottles. A certificate near the doorway explains that the governor has Fuller's Master Cellarman Accreditation and the pub is one of the few to have made it into every edition of the Good Beer Guide. If my luscious pint of London Porter was anything to go by, these accolades are richly deserved. There were loads of staff working on a surprisingly quiet Friday night, so service was very prompt and fairly friendly.
This has been near the top of my 'to do' list for some time, and I'm glad I finally got around to checking the place out as it's as good as this kind of upmarket pub gets. If I weren't such a scruffy so and so I’d feel very comfortable spending more time here.

On 16th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Star Tavern

This was one of my locals (along with the Talbot and the Horse and Groom) when I worked in Belgrave Square. In fact at one stage it was the only Fullers pub in Central London and thus the only place there where you could drink Fullers beers. Hard to believe that now. Anyway, this really is a top pub, even if the refurb a year or two ago has “gastrocised” it to some extent, with a more expensive menu. Gone is the reasonably priced meal of sausage, egg, chips and beans. However, the structure and intrinsic character of the pub has been retained. As you enter there is a smallish bar area in front of you, and another larger room reached through an archway to the left. This larger room is furnished with normal tables and chairs, there are a number of miscellaneous but attractive prints on the walls, and the floor is bare boarded but with a couple of large rugs. The windows in the front are especially attractive, with their stained glass featuring the Star motif – they look original to me. At the back end of the room there is a skylight, letting in some welcome light, and during a visit a winter or two ago there was a coal fire on the go. There was no piped music today; no games machines nor any one armed bandits.
Tucked away down a cobbled mews behind Belgrave Square, it can be a bit tricky to find if you don’t know your way round the area well. But it is definitely worth the effort of seeking out. The Fullers ales are invariably superb. As well as the usual Fuller’s ales on, they also had Bengal Lancer and Mighty Atom (a 2.8% low ABV ale) on, both of which are decent ales. This really is a top pub.

On 24th October 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2551 recommendations about 2469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Boyes left this review about The Star Tavern

A very good Grade 2-listed pub both inside and out. All Fullers beers on top form on our visits, and a very good selection of food. Can get very busy at lunch time. The Pub has no music or TV which adds to the great atmosphere of lively conversation. The two rooms downstairs have mixture of different tables and chairs. The upstairs has been converted into a dining room. No food is served Saturday or Sunday.

On 20th September 2009 - rating: 9
[User has posted 55 recommendations about 55 pubs]

Page: 1 2