User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Nags Head, Belgravia, SW1

53 Kinnerton Street
Belgravia
SW1
SW1X 8ED

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Nags Head

Tucked away mews pub ,it's quite small and very charming.There was no attempt at T&T and I got the impression that such rules are not welcome here.If paying by card there is a £15 minimum,so cash it was.You enter into the bar room with an unusually low serving bar,barely a counter.A real fire was burning and some traditional furniture was dotted about,below the copious wood panelling.To the side,down some stairs is a lower room with it's own bar,flag stone floor and another charming spot.The small range in the fireplace is gas but was kindly lit by the guv'nor .A light jazz soundtrack was well judged for a sunday lunchtime.
There are cuttings pasted to the ceiling giving an avante guarde feeling and a huge collection of bric a brac on the picture rail hight ledge.Again more trad furniture and windows opening onto the passage way down the side of the building.
There were quite a few tables outside,Kinnereton Street is quiet at this point.
The ale selection was Adnams Southwold Bitter and Ghostship (£5 ,NBSS 3.5) while a third was reversed.Real ciders also available.Snacks and sandwiches only,but £6.50 for a tuna sarnie reflects the upmarket surrounding.Good to find a proper boozer however,it's worth a squint for it's charm.

On 11th October 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Nags Head

Tucked away down a private mews, this isn’t somewhere you’re likely to stumble across by accident, but it was worth preserving though and seemed to be very popular with more punters outside than in on our recent Saturday evening visit. The landlady was very efficient and certainly took no messing, giving short shrift to a rather boisterous Hooray Henry type trying to order both a bottle of champagne and a round of brandies.

The street level bar is quite small with only a limited amount of seating at the front and the bar counter taking up a good proportion of the space at the rear. Dark wood panelling was on much of the walls with some type of lino on the floor, and every square was covered with something, numerous photographs, portraits and posters but also all sorts of other bits and bobs including a bugle, wooden model aeroplanes, miner’s lamps, old bottles…..the list is endless. An old sewing machine table was off to one side as well as a couple of old fireplaces with wooden surrounds. One of these contained an old iron stove of some sort and was liberally adorned with horse brasses. A shelf above the bar contained a large collection of peaked caps, all piled up one on top another. A further bar down a few steps at the rear had flagstones on the floor but was otherwise broadly similar in terms of décor. Another bar was up a few steps, although we did not investigate this.

Beers on tap were all from Adnams with their Southwold, Lighthouse and Ghost Ship, whilst the ciders were Wild Wave from the same brewery which is a new one on me, and Aspall’s Suffolk. All in all, a great little pub and well worth taking the effort to track it down.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Nags Head

Splendid little pub of character with a strong local following and which has changed little over many years. As mentioned before, the surprisingly-low bar in the front room is because the serving side is even lower, although it does boast a splendid brass beer engine. Down some narrow steps behind the bar is a lower room, while there is a another corner up a step or two by the toilets, generally =giving the impression that every space has been pressed into use. The aged wooden panelling throughout is liberally covered in pictures and assorted bric-a-brac. Fine weather outdoor drinking is provided by some tables (literally) in the road. Draught beers are from Adnams, with Bitter, Ghost Ship and Lighthouse available at time of visit. Alcohol-free Ghost Ship and Dry-hopped Lager were also badged but were on keg. Oh, and be warned, mobile phone users are not favoured.

On 25th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Nags Head

Pleasing pub which had the bar staff on a lower level than me. The pub was also on various levels and the walls were crammed with memorabilia. Adnam's beer on hand pump. There was a nice fire which wasn't lit.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Nags Head

The first thing I noticed as I entered the Nags Head was the waist high bar which threw me off kilter. The second surprise was when I was charged £2.50 for half an Adnams Ghost Ship. I know this is Belgravia, but the other pubs in the area do not charge this extraordinary amount. Two other ales were available alongside Carlsberg and Guinness, if I am not mistaken. The limited ‘lite bites’ menu in operation during my recent Friday afternoon visit seemed to consist of sandwiches and cheese etc. which were priced at £7.90.

The interior of this pub consists of the street level seating area where the aforementioned low bar is found and a downstairs seating area that is accessed by a staircase to the left of the bar. The walls throughout are adorned with old pictures, caricatures and photographs and the ceiling has old cartoons and newspaper clippings stuck to it. There is no television, but there was some 1940s music playing which sat well in the surroundings. Out the front by the entrance are a couple of high tables for plotting pints during pavement drinking.

I can see the appeal because this quirky pub is unique, but I couldn’t afford to stay too long and I’m not sure that I would want to. This is the sort of pub that I like to have a look at, but once I’ve been I’m not that bothered in returning.

On 14th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Nags Head

Tucked away but definitely worth seeking out. A quirky old multi level interior with numerous curious covering the pub. 4 Adams beers on. A hidden gem.

On 13th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2761 recommendations about 2703 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Nags Head

Interesting place - tiny bar, but with further small seating areas up and down half flights of stairs. Full of memorabilia. Although a freehouse, serves Adnams beers, Bitter, Lighthouse and Old (£4.50, and in good form) available from the five handpumps on this occasion. I enjoyed this visit much more than my previous one a few years ago, so rating upped accordingly.

On 31st October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Nags Head

A great little pub well described below,the kind of pub well worth searching out and a must inclusion on a crawl of the area.The only downside for me is the Adnams beer, not my favorite but even with that major consideration this pub gets an 8/10 from me for its honest authentisity

On 5th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Nags Head

This is a wonderful little split-level pub full of all sorts of oddities collected by the landlord over the years. The entrance takes you into the main bar, with some limited low stool seating, a lit stove in a small fireplace and a very low, curved bar counter. There are stairs on the left hand side of the room that lead down to a similarly sized room, also with a lit fire, although this one also boasted some fireside seating as well. There is slightly more seating on the lower level, but it all gets a bit cramped when all the tables are occupied. The joy of this pub is that every inch of wall and ceiling space has been covered with various pictures and artefacts. This was perfectly illustrated when, wondering why my back was so cold, I turned round to discover that I was leaning against an old coin collection that was stuck to the wall behind me. The ceiling in the back room is covered in an impressive collage, whilst the small landing area near the toilets has a saddle and a couple of extremely old slot machines among other things. Even the cash register is of the antique variety. A strange jazz style soundtrack played throughout my stay and seemed an appropriate choice given the setting.
The pub is a freehouse, but Adnams beers seem to be the norm here, with Southwold Bitter, Broadside and Old Ale (£3.90) available on my recent visit. The Old Ale was a very nice pint and I was served by a friendly barmaid who helpfully pointed out that I might still be able to find a seat downstairs.
It's interesting to read the reviews below and see how the pub has polarised opinions. I found it to be a really interesting place to spend some time and thought it had a lot of character in an area where you don't expect to find something so far out of the ordinary.

On 16th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Nags Head

This pub has remained unchanged since I first visited it getting for twenty years ago. Now I regard stability of this kind as a very good thing in a pub. There are knic-knacks and curios in just about every available bit of space on the walls and ceilings, which have the appearance of having been collected over a long period of time rather than bought in as a job lot.
Whenever I’ve been in here they have had Adnam’s ales on – during my visit on Thursday they had Adnam’s Bitter, Broadside and Gunhill on offer. Bitburger German lager was also available. I’ve had a snack in here in the past, and I have to say that the sandwich was ordinary by any standards, but you don’t come here for the food. This is a pub of real character, and definitely worth a visit to experience a pub that is unique in this very well-heeled part of the world.

On 22nd October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]

Page: 1 2