User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Fox & Hounds, SW1

29 Passmore Street
SW1
SW1W 8HR
Phone: 02077306367

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Narrow Young’s pub tucked away on the back streets. Bare boarded interior serving 3 real ales from the 4 taps.

On 25th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2564 recommendations about 2508 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Small Young's pub with four real ale pumps, one reversed. There was Old Hooky @ 4.6% ABV. Just the one room and it was very quiet on Tuesday afternoon.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1391 recommendations about 1390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Superb corner Young's boozer, perfect for a pre Sunday lunch beer or two. Old world, comfortable interior with a small selection of primarily Young's brews on the bar. Happy to let well behaved kids in, on my recent couple of visits, it has never been too busy.

Well worth a visit for a reasonably priced brew in this over priced part of the world.

On 3rd November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Traditional Youngs pub just a short distance away from the fancy eateries and overpriced emporia in and around Sloane Square. Compact interior with a mix of furniture, with the rear section be more of a lounge area. Ordinary, Special and the seasonal Hummingbird (£4.00) available from three of the four handpumps on this visit. Worth seeking out (but don't leave it late - they can close up before the advertised time).

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5468 recommendations about 5468 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fox & Hounds

This pub is well worth seeking out, prices were reasonable for the area and the beer quality was good. Four ales on handpump on our visit. There were two other customers in, on our Thursday afternoon visit, it wasn't long until we were included in the conversation. The pub was a Bass Charrington house until 1997, when Youngs took it over. This was the last pub in London to receive a spirit license.

On 28th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2750 recommendations about 2750 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Fox & Hounds

A gem of a pub. Found when following the London Camra pub walks route in Belgravia. If you dont have this book, get it - its superb.

This is not far from sloane square, down a quiet back street. Interesting decor in a single room but its the people that are of interest. Can't be many places where a Terry Thomas dandy is rubbing shoulders with a builder with a Tattooed neck.

The beer is superb. Never been a massive fan of youngs, but the bitter in here was really something special.

Recommended and worth finding out.

On 23rd January 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 519 recommendations about 514 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Great little Young’s corner pub well described by previous reviewers and very good to find this small traditional boozer functioning well in this area of affluence. Quite a small internal space but full of character with a profusion of wood, a gas fire and a surprising amount of seating squeezed in including a couple of Chesterfield sofa’s at the back. Fortunately not too busy for my visit as I can imagine it doesn’t take too many to be in before it gets claustrophobic.
Youngs Ordinary, Special and CW Bombardier were on the go and in line with others I will gladly pay a return visit when back in the area.

On 30th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1580 recommendations about 1531 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Fox & Hounds

A very good traditional boozer serving youngs ales, normally first port of call when drinking in the Belgravia area, very comfortable bar area and you feel you would like to stay for more than one.

On 5th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1212 recommendations about 1200 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Fox & Hounds

The Fox and Hounds is a decent little backstreet boozer just around the corner from Sloane Square station. Having not been down this neck of the woods before I was pleasantly surprised to find a down to earth Sloane Rangerless pub. The two people working behind the bar were very friendly, as was the bloke sitting at the bar who may have been a local or maybe the governor. There is a standard draught selection and being a Young’s house the three hand pumps were drawing Ordinary, Special and Winter Warmer. The bar is located in the front room where a yard of ale hangs from the wall with various dates and records for downing ale from it. Apparently the world record is five seconds which is quite savage and apparently has stood since 1976. There is another room at the rear of the pub that feels like a study with bookshelves and a sofa if memory serves me correctly. Seating is found throughout and a ginormous dog was blocking the entrance as I walked in making me have to step over him/her. Thankfully I wasn’t that bladdered and we both escaped unscathed from our introduction.

This is a proper boozer that I would make a detour to visit again.

On 2nd February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3386 recommendations about 3366 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Fox & Hounds

This pub really doesn’t look like much from the outside, but it opens up inside into a rather nice little pub, as already described by Maldenman and John Bonser. The toasted cheese sandwich at £2.95 was a good bet, and probably superior in quality to the KFC meal my companion subjected himself to later in the afternoon. The cat and dog did make an interesting double act – the barman showed me a video clip of the 5lb cat seeing off the 8st dog in a one-sided boxing match. This is a great little pub, to which I would gladly pay a return visit.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2495 recommendations about 2415 pubs]

Page: 1 2