User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Fox & Hounds, SW1

29 Passmore Street
SW1
SW1W 8HR
Phone: 02077306367

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Fox & Hounds

Finding virtually every central London pub closed early, not just on a Sunday, but one post-Hallowe’en and with just 75 minutes to go to fulfil my One Month, 100 New Pubs Challenge, I stumbled across this backstreet traditional boozer, which I’d never even seen before.
It’s a simple traditional place, with much dark wood and small basic bar, the whole long and thin. It’s rough boarded, the walls are black match board to dado, then burgundy Anaglypta to the walls, with a similarly papered white ceiling. There was a very jovial quiz on, on my arrival, with customers and quiz master exchanging much banter, the lovely barmaid joining in. At other times, customers may be drawn from those taking in a show at the Royal Court Theatre. Décor comprises paintings with brass picture lamps, otherwise it’s like a low-ceilinged village pub.
Still a Young’s house, one pump was unused, one for London Original (reversed), the Proper Job and Oakham’s Inferno, very nice but at an increasingly normal £6.00 a pint; this is Belgravia.
This is a very dinky and mainly charming place, definitely one of the best pubs in SW1.

On 1st November 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1516 recommendations about 1496 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Fox & Hounds

An traditional looking street corner pub located down a side street but just a minute or two’s walk from Sloane Square, it has an attractive appearance and was very busy on our Friday evening visit with just as many punters spilling outside on to the pavement as there were inside.

Internally it consists of one long and narrow room with dark wooden boards on the floor, dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls and red painted wallpaper up above. There were several large mirrors on the walls as well as large oil paintings in ornate gilded frames. A couple of bookcases were at the rear, one of which was free standing and another recessed in to the wall as well as an old piano. A large skylight here brought in some natural light to the rear of the pub. A couple of Chesterfield sofas in both the more traditional red as well as blue provided some comfy seating.

Beers on tap were all from Young’s with their Original, Special and Cityscape. The solitary cider was Orchard Thieves which didn’t seem quite as nice as I had remembered. Prices too seemed expensive with a pint of the cider and a G&T coming it at over £13, although that was at least better than almost £18 which I was asked before querying it.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1802 recommendations about 1726 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Narrow Young’s pub tucked away on the back streets. Bare boarded interior serving 3 real ales from the 4 taps.

On 25th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Small Young's pub with four real ale pumps, one reversed. There was Old Hooky @ 4.6% ABV. Just the one room and it was very quiet on Tuesday afternoon.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Superb corner Young's boozer, perfect for a pre Sunday lunch beer or two. Old world, comfortable interior with a small selection of primarily Young's brews on the bar. Happy to let well behaved kids in, on my recent couple of visits, it has never been too busy.

Well worth a visit for a reasonably priced brew in this over priced part of the world.

On 3rd November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Traditional Youngs pub just a short distance away from the fancy eateries and overpriced emporia in and around Sloane Square. Compact interior with a mix of furniture, with the rear section be more of a lounge area. Ordinary, Special and the seasonal Hummingbird (£4.00) available from three of the four handpumps on this visit. Worth seeking out (but don't leave it late - they can close up before the advertised time).

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fox & Hounds

This pub is well worth seeking out, prices were reasonable for the area and the beer quality was good. Four ales on handpump on our visit. There were two other customers in, on our Thursday afternoon visit, it wasn't long until we were included in the conversation. The pub was a Bass Charrington house until 1997, when Youngs took it over. This was the last pub in London to receive a spirit license.

On 28th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Fox & Hounds

A gem of a pub. Found when following the London Camra pub walks route in Belgravia. If you dont have this book, get it - its superb.

This is not far from sloane square, down a quiet back street. Interesting decor in a single room but its the people that are of interest. Can't be many places where a Terry Thomas dandy is rubbing shoulders with a builder with a Tattooed neck.

The beer is superb. Never been a massive fan of youngs, but the bitter in here was really something special.

Recommended and worth finding out.

On 23rd January 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Fox & Hounds

Great little Young’s corner pub well described by previous reviewers and very good to find this small traditional boozer functioning well in this area of affluence. Quite a small internal space but full of character with a profusion of wood, a gas fire and a surprising amount of seating squeezed in including a couple of Chesterfield sofa’s at the back. Fortunately not too busy for my visit as I can imagine it doesn’t take too many to be in before it gets claustrophobic.
Youngs Ordinary, Special and CW Bombardier were on the go and in line with others I will gladly pay a return visit when back in the area.

On 30th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Fox & Hounds

A very good traditional boozer serving youngs ales, normally first port of call when drinking in the Belgravia area, very comfortable bar area and you feel you would like to stay for more than one.

On 5th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]

Page: 1 2