User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Antelope, Belgravia, SW1

24 Eaton Terrace
SW1
SW1W 8EZ
Phone: 02078248512

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Antelope

A charming ,small Fullers tied house close to Sloane Square you enter into the bar room with an island bar and seating at the front and rear with drinking shelves down both sides.There is a small snug to the leftside but with just a handful of tables,so vertical drinking will be common place at busy times.Drapes cover the front windows and the etched glass is impressive.Upstairs is the Eaton Room but you have to enquire at the bar if you can use it,possibly reserved for diners.
There is a short Fuller's menu but I was only there for a beer from the 5 handpumps being Fullers London Pride,Olivers Island,Seafarers,ESB (NBSS 3) with a guest of St Austell Tribute.
No muzak,lots of wood panelling and very authentic,worth a visit in this posh district.

On 4th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Antelope

An traditional looking pub located down a side street but just a minute or two’s walk from Sloane Square, it has an attractive appearance with etched glass windows and plenty of hanging baskets outside as well as some limited pavement seating.

Internally it consists of a couple of rooms with the main bar area to the right. The traditional look continues with a large central island bar counter, wooden boards on the floor and dark wood panelling on the lower part of the walls with cream painted wallpaper up above. A few old black and white photographs were dotted around as well as some military portraits and there were also a couple of cricket bats hung on the wall along with some other cricketing paraphernalia and an old map of the Chelsea area. A small TV screen was at the rear, although this was not in use on our visit. Seating here was fairly limited with just some padded bench seating along the front wall and high stools around the bar counter. A smaller room off to the right looked to be of broadly similar décor, but with tables and chairs looked to be more intended for dining. The barmaid was pleasant and friendly.

Beers on tap were all from the Fuller’s stable with their ESB, London Pride, Oliver’s island, Seafarer’s Ale and Rocky Red. The solitary cider meanwhile was Cornish Orchard’s Gold. All in all a decent little pub, and certainly a lot more peaceful than many nearby alternatives.

On 17th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1709 recommendations about 1645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Antelope

A short walk from Sloane Square station, this is a very pleasant Fullers pub with an attractive old-fashioned interior typical of Central London. On approach, you notice bright hanging baskets and a pleasant pub sign before getting closer where you will be able to admire the great etched glass windows which bear images of antelope and the words 'Wine & Spirit Merchants'. You enter into a long bare boarded room with an elongated island servery in the centre and a variety of seating around the perimeter. The servery has a dark wood counter and gantry plus a rather minimalist bar back which is presumably the result of knocking through the pub into a single room layout. High backed pews under the heavily draped front windows offer a decent vantage point, whilst to the left, the room is so tightly squeezed, that there is only enough space for people to stand alongside drinking ledges. A couple of small tables and chairs can be found down the right hand wall, whilst the best bet for a seat seems to be behind the bar, where the room opens out again, affording space for some banquette and chair options. The decor is very literal, focusing on the antelope theme for the most part, but I did also spot some nice old photos of the pub, a decorative wood panelled section of ceiling and a board listing the winners of the Anthill Cup - an annual sporting clash between this pub and the Churchill Arms in Notting Hill. There is also a small snug to the left on entry, but this was being used for a private function when I visited, so I was unable to explore properly. As with most London pubs in the early evening, the place was heaving with a busy post-work crowd, but the friendly bar staff seemed pretty well drilled at keeping queues at the bar to a minimum.
Just the four Fullers beers available on hand pump - London Pride, ESB, Oliver's Island and Gales Seafarers - although American Fall was clipped when I arrived but spluttered its way out of action when I ordered a pint. I instead ended up with the Oliver's Island (£4.30), which was eminently drinkable and quenched my own post-work thirst nicely.
This seems like a very nice little pub with lots of attractive original features to discover and a decent crowd to generate a good atmosphere. The place is well looked after and the beer was in good shape too which I would say, marks this place out as probably the best option in the vicinity and I'd happily return here the next time I'm passing through.

On 26th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Antelope

Fuller's pub with a central island bar. Traditional interior didn't visit upstairs.

On 14th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Antelope

Agree, a very nice old school Fullers pub not far from Sloane Square tube station. Plenty of dark wood in the main room with its central square bar area and then panelled snug room to the left hand side and the additional seating area to the back referred to as the “Whisky Corner”
There is also an additional snug room off the upstairs Eaton dining room but these are a more modern décor than the pub section on ground floor level.
The bar is not the biggest area and the locals were commandeering the bar stools on either side meaning you had to queue at the front section with its five ale pumps, but as they spend more money than I do in here I won’t begrudge them that. Pride, ESB, Seafarers, Bengal lancer and HSB from the Fullers stable and the Bengal lancer was in fine form.
Perhaps it’s because I bagged a seat in Whisky Corner but I really enjoyed a pint here.

On 30th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Antelope

Excellent little Fullers pub located fairly close to Sloane Square underground and Victoria coach station. Very small frontage with two doors, but it has a wider interior when you take account of the cosy wood-panelled 'snug' to one side. Nice, unspoiled island bar with a limited amount of fairly basic tables in front, a few stools along the sides and a bit more seating (and a TV) at the back. Another room upstairs (never visited). Five handpumps, usually offering the regular Pride and Seafarers plus a couple of others from the range - Bengal Lancer and London Porter (pricey, even for the area, at £4.05 but absolutely top notch). Overall, it's worth seeking out this traditional (if upmarket) side-street boozer.

On 6th February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Antelope

Not one of my favorite pubs in the area ,fullers beer well served every time I've been in but nothing inspiring,wouldnt go out of my way to visit but wouldnt avoid if passing.

On 5th June 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1295 recommendations about 1282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Antelope

Small Fullers pub near Sloane Square tube.

Central wooden frame bar with seating areas around it, neat cream walls and various artefacts and trad seating. There is a small 'library' to one end with gentlemans club leather seating.

3 Fullers ales plus a guest - Castle Rock Harvest Pale on my trip here and the beer quality was good.

On 23rd August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Antelope

The main bar area only has a couple of tables, with the majority of seating (but no tall tables/stools) in the side room on the left that looks like it has been annexed by the pub at some stage, and in the small “lounge” area at the back behind the bar on the right. Thus the main pub area around the bar must be used almost exclusively for vertical drinking, and on my previous visits when it has been more crowded this has been the general pattern. However, it is a good pub, and another one worth visiting if you’re in the area. It’s a pub I’m bound to return to at some stage.

On 9th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2463 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Antelope

A pleasant secluded little mews style pub with cricketing connections located just a six hit from busy Sloane Square and the Kings Rd. One wall is given over to the sport, with details of the pub's annual challenge match with The Churchill Arms, including the shield awarded to the current winners, a roll of honour, photos and a displayed bat and ball. Not to be left out there is some rugby related paraphernalia too.
The main room has a wooden boarded floor and ceiling too, a central island bar and just a couple of tables towards the front where both original entrances survive together with some etched glass. Beyond the bar is a cosy snug-like area with a couple of sofas around a fireplace which was lit on a very cold day. A side room off the bar has a few tables and a large old map of Chelsea displayed. The main bar area has a former pub sign hanging from the ceiling with the Antelope picture one side, and the former Benskins Brewery written boldly on the other. Another room upstairs remains unvisited by myself but I understand can be hired privately and has its own bar facilities.
Fuller's beers, Chiswick, Pride, ESB, Discovery and Bengal Lancer were the offerings. Food advertised on chalkboards was not priced, but perusal of the menu showed most pub staples to be in the mid price range, certainly for this area.
This is an upmarket residential area, hence no outside drinking is permitted.
The pub was very quiet on Monday lunchtime therefore lacking in atmosphere, but an enjoyable spot nevertheless.

On 9th December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]

Page: 1 2