User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
20 questions with AlanH on the Pub Forum

The Albert, SW1

52 Victoria Street
SW1
SW1H 0NP

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Albert

A very fine looking building surrounded by the new,the etched glass windows are impressive.Once inside the ground floor is now open plan with banquettes at either end ,although there is a raised area to one side below a flatscreen for BT and Sky Sports although thankfully mute on my lunchtime visit.It's worth exploring because to the right side there is a sunken snug with green leather bound high benches, away from the main throng.The L shaped bar has two ranks of 6 handpumps all serving the same ale range.Being a GK tied house ,the deal here seems to be as many guests as there are GK brews which meant a choice of GK IPA,Old Speckled Hen and a house Albert Tavern Ale with guests Doom Bar,Wadworth's 6X and St Austell Tribute (NBSS 3).Hardly a selection to get the pulse racing.
It really is worth investigating the Victoria Bar upstairs.On the rise there are pictures of Prime Minister up until John Major,while the first floor room has a terrific gold embellished plasterwork ceiling ,a lot of wood panelling and classy drapes,it's own small bar with a single GK IPA handpump,and chandeliers.The deal here is that you can just drink at the high tables,while the lower level dining tables are reserved just for diners.However the menu is the corporate GK with pictures of the food,with a London weighting on the prices,the Fish & Chips are £13.79 in here .
Better than I was expecting given the GK signage,the ale selection is however boring which may inhibit a long stay.

On 14th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albert

A magnificent four storey Victorian edifice, now dwarfed by the modern day Victoria in steel, concrete and glass. Somehow I've never ventured inside before despite passing scores of times. Inside the ground floor has a vaguely J-shaped space with two banks of matching handpumps. On offer were GKIPA, London Glory, Albert Ale (probably the usual GK rebadge), Wadworths 6X and Truman's Runner (£4.45), Old Rosie cider was on a slightly distanced pump. Lots of etched glass, maybe original, I'm no expert, high ceilings with gold moulded markings, around to the side there is a feature clock above the bar.
A staircase winds up to the Victoria bar, various framed pictures of former Prime Ministers on the landing, when you get upstairs there is a Parliamentary Division Bell, unsure if still functioning.
A solitary GK IPA pump up here in contrast to the better choice downstairs however the primary function up here looks to be dining. Along the side of the L shaped space, small tables are put together to form long seating areas in rows, better options towards the front where the windows have elegant draped curtains. A small bar up here, untended on my Saturday afternoon visit, the food servery is behind.
Most people seemed to be in to watch the 6 Nations rugby game, TVs downstairs and up.
Not sure if I'd return, nothing negative about my visit apart from a clear feeling of an impersonal place with nothing but passing trade.

On 11th March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albert

One of the better ex-Taylor Walker branches, thankfully retaining a proper 'London pub' feel to the 'J'-shaped main bar. Also has a small room down a few steps at the rear and a large table-service restaurant upstairs. Traditional furniture and decor with a couple of small screens and plenty of decorative glazing. On this visit, now as a Greene King house, I found IPA, London Glory, Belhaven Robert Burns brown ale and two Truman beers as guests - Zephyr and Roll Out the Barrel vanilla cream ale (£4.50) - from duplicated clips on the two banks of five handpumps.

On 29th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Albert

A large Victorian corner pub,a bit of a tourist trap, beers on were Sheps Spitfire,Greene King IPA and Londons Glory,Westerham 1730 and Marstons EPA which turned out to be in poor shape. I didn't like it here much so not likely to return.

On 4th September 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Albert

This Taylor Walker pub was full of shoppers and office workers, hardly surprising given its Victoria Street location. The staff were a bit pushy, not very welcoming, and they solicited for tips which was a bit rude. Food was surprisingly good for mass produced stuff, though there was a hint of being hurried by the waitress. There were four ales on draft, I had Dizzy Blond which was in pretty good condition but a bit overpriced even for London. It's a decent enough place to drop in for a meal and a pint, but there are better pubs in the backstreets nearby so I might not include in a crawl.

On 7th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2530 recommendations about 2508 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Albert

There are far too many pubs in Central London that get enough business that they don't need to try too hard and the Albert is, regrettably, one of those. Several drinking areas on the ground floor (I've not ventured upstairs) but all of these are too often drowned out by loud music.

The beer selection is somewhat hot and miss. On a recent visit, I sampled the ubiquitous Doom Bar (which was ok), but stock control seems somewhat sub-standard as half the ales and half the lagers were unavailable.

To be honest, I only visit this place when dragged there post-work and I'm sure that there must be at least 2-3 pubs which are 2-3 stars better no more than 2-3 minutes away and I really should seek them out.

On 2nd May 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 286 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Albert

They still have five ales on. During my midweek lunchtime visit they were Young’s London Gold; Directors; Bombardier; Deuchars IPA; and London Pride. There’s nothing very unusual in these offerings, but the Pride I had was OK, and at £3.30 a pint much the going rate for this area. This is another classic Victorian pub, obviously named after Queen Victoria’s beloved consort. It’s been largely stripped out inside, but there are some nice etched and cut glass windows remaining, and the Albert and Victoria clock above the bar gantry looks original. There’s a tiled splash area around the bar counter, the central bar area is bare-boarded, but the majority of the room is carpeted. All the seating is normal tables and chairs, plus some small stools. There aren’t even any stools at the bar, which seems a very sensible omission in a very tourist orientated pub like this, being just a stone’s throw from those A-list tourist attractions of Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament.
There is an upstairs room, reached by an open and fairly ornate staircase, where a carvery and fish & chips are advertised. Apparently they also do afternoon teas, and with the fact that they also sell souvenir shirts, is a definite testimony to the touristy nature of the place. Nonetheless, I definitely think that it is worth dropping in for a look around if you’re in the area, but I don’t that I would make this a regular venue.

On 23rd October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Albert Tavern

I saw some signs up advertising the famous 135 seater carvery restaurant upstairs and the waitresses seemed to be darting around in the bar area with plated of food so you can guess what the pub smelt like.

Adnams, Directors, Pride, Deuchars and Bombardier were all available along with a selection of standard and premium lagers. The Pride was located on the smaller bar area around the side past the small glass food display case.

The Pride and Deuchars were good and the staff polite, but I doubt that I'd return unless eating.

On 25th March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Albert Tavern

Not a bad place, sells real ale and has a restraurant upstairs and a no-smoking area down stairs at the back. The toilets are down stairs via some steep steps, so mind how you go. (if you pardon my expression!)

On 9th January 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Albert Tavern

This wonderful large Victorian pub juts out like a brick peninsula from the jungle of steel, concrete and glass office blocks that now dwarf it. The downstairs has been knocked through into one continuous room, the front being an open spacious area with plenty of tables, large etched windows with grand curtains, a high decorative ceiling and different areas divided by wooden screens. To the rear is a smaller cosier area with a fireplace, fruit machine and several old pictures of either Royalty or Parliamentary themes, pride of place being Queen Vitoria's wedding. The L shaped bar has a traditional frame with an inbuilt clock and still has gas lights attached. There are usually 5 Real ales albeit nothing adventurous (Pride, Youngs, Courage Best, Bombardier, Deuchars if you are lucky) on offer at fairly reasonable prices given that the pub can be very touristy - Westminster Abby and the Houses of Parliament etc are a few minutes walk away. Personally I have never had any problems with getting served. The staircase to the right of the bar is adorned with portraits of distinguished prime ministers, many of whom have dined in the upstairs restaurant. The choice of bar food is not particularly extensive given that they seem to do a good lunchtime trade – expect to pay around £6.00 - £7.50 for a main course although there are specials on the boards near the bar. It must be said that parts of the pub are getting a bit tatty in places, notably some of the seat coverings but this former Evening Standard Pub of the Year (1984) still carries enough grandeur to keep it as a regular main entry in the Good Pub Guide. The pub is generally relaxed with unobtrusive piped music and a fair bit of character. Apart from tourists and office workers, it seems to be popular with Chelsea Pensioners whose presence feels so in tune with the surroundings. Despite its shortcomings, if you like traditional pubs with a bit of character then you won't go far wrong here.

On 29th August 2006 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]