User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Somers Town Coffee House, Somers Town, NW1

60 Chalton Street
NW1
NW1 1HS
Phone: 02073877377

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

An attractive old building, thoroughly refurbished (but thankfully not ruined) in gastro-pub style by Charles Wells. Reverse 'J'-shaped layout, with a typically varied - although not all very space efficient - range of seating. Quite a bit of patio furniture out front, plus a partly-covered rear outside seating / smoking area. Also has the 'Cosy Kettle' cocktail bar downstairs. Impressively long line of handpumps along the counter, but on too many occasions most of these are not in use, although five real ales were available on this visit: Eagle IPA and Bombardier from Charles Wells, Marston's 61 Deep, Wychwood Hobgoblin and Youngs Special.

On 19th May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

3rd May 2016.

A while back this place was taken over by a French couple who got this pub's food standard up to the point where it was included in the French restaurant guide Les Routiers. Well, they've moved on and this is no longer a gastropub, though food is served. It dates back to at least the mid-19th century though was rebuilt in the 1930s and is named after the Earl Somers who lived at Eastnor Castle in Herefordshire - indeed until a couple of years ago, Somers Town was home to a pub called The Eastnor Castle just around the corner.
It's a big Charles Wells' pub, traditional for the period with lots of wood panelling and fairly standard/traditional furniture. Music was muted and there's an impressive coffered ceiling; I didn't spot any entertainments like TVs or games machines.
There were 12 pumps in total, dispensing too many beverages to record, but most came courtesy of Young's, Courage or Wells - in short, nothing to get excited about, but equally nothing to offend outright either. Bar staff were friendly and there was a more civilised crowd in here than you'd find in other Euston Road dross pubs, probably because it's slightly off the beaten track: you won't find it unless you know about it.
My pint of Bombardier Golden Ale was very decent and at £3.95 wasn't the rip-off price you'd expect to find in other aforementioned Euston Road clip joints.
This is by far the best pub in the very close vicinity and I'd actually be happy to come here again if passing - I'd give it at least another couple of points if it had a more imaginative ale choice.

----------

A return visit a few nights ago and my pint of Charles Wells' Extra Golden Ale, a 4.3% ABV beer cost a staggering £5.05 a pint! This pub is in somewhat troubled Somers Town which in 2013, recorded more violent crime than in any other ward in the borough of Camden. Why are some of the capital's highest prices to be found in one of London's most deprived areas?
Points deducted accordingly.

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 930 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

Agree with Tris, the ale choice on our visit was also unimaginative and the majority of their ten pumps were in repeat mode. The pub did have a good and jolly atmosphere and the majority of the drinkers all looked quite respectable. The pub was also clean and tidy and the toilets were modern and well kept.

On 7th November 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2899 recommendations about 2899 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

Interior as described below 9 real ales and 1 cider served.

On 23rd April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2646 recommendations about 2589 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

Conveniently located down a side street between Euston and St Pancras stations, this is a decent sized Charles Wells house with its own in house cocktail bar. The ground floor pub has a simple L shaped interior with two front doors leading you into the same main bar space with the servery running along the back wall. The dark wood bar back has the royal coat of arms as a centrepiece and some strange multi-coloured mosaic tiling which looks a bit out of place. The flooring is a mix of wooden boards and stone tiles, with a couple of sofas positioned under the front windows, but a predominance of standard tables and chairs elsewhere. To the right of the bar there is a nice dark wood panelled space with a few framed pictures of food on the walls and a nice small tiled fireplace. Over to the left, the walls are covered with some large mirrors above a row of banquettes, and the room extends further back into a rear room with more dark wood fittings, some sanded tables and a good deal more seating. A back door takes you out to a pleasant garden which has unusually been semi-subdivided into booth type areas by large multi-coloured wood panels. A good soundtrack played quietly over the hubbub of the post work crowd, many of whom were eating from the slightly pretentious disposable menu on which you are supposed to tick the dishes you would like to order before handing over at the bar. Stairs near the front door lead down to 'The Cosy Kettle' - a speakeasy style bar serving cocktails and cakes, but not explored on this visit.
The Charles Wells beer portfolio was stretched to the limit across the long bank of hand pumps which were offering Youngs Special, London Gold and Hummingbird, Wells Bombardier and Eagle, Courage Best and Directors and one guest in the shape of Wadworth Ipanema, with Wells Burning Gold having recently gone off. A final pump dispensed a real cider option. Keg lines included Estrella, Young's London Stout and Stowford Press cider. The Ipanema was okay, but overpriced at £4.00 a pint.
It's not that often that a pub with ten handpulls can offer up such an uninspiring range of ales and for me, this is a great shame as such a well positioned pub would easily attract me back if their choice of product was more interesting. I'd say this is worth a passing look but there are much better pubs within a similar distance of either station.

On 24th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

A single J-shaped space with a central bar, boarded floor with stone effect tiling in the bar area. The first thing I spotted on entering was the row of ten clipped handpumps however my initial excitement was muted rather on seeing that all but two were from the Charles Wells stable leaving just Everards Xingu and a cider, Thundering Molly, as non CW offerings. I had the Xingu, a World Cup beer apparently brewed in conjunction with a Brazilian brewer. The others were Youngs Bitter, Special, London Gold and Hummingbird, Directors, Bombardier plus Bombardier Gold and Wells Eagle. The bar back has a Royal coat of arms but this is spoilt somewhat by rather gaudy modern mosaic tiling. Hops around the ceiling beams are a better feature, dark wood panelling, mostly regular seating in the main bar albeit at school style chairs. The rear left area beyond the bar can be separated by folding doors, seating in here is more avant-garde with high backed benches and armchairs.
Food is served and features "British Tapas", sandwiches were listed on an old school rolling blackboard.
I believe the pub is a 1920s rebuild but that there has been one on the site for a long time and originally was a coffee house.
Continental outdoor seating to the front under an awning plus a bit of garden to the rear. Downstairs is something called "The Cosy Kettle", the signage in red neon lettering, I didn't take a look, I doubt it would be my cup of coffee.
A nice spot especially so close to the main rail termini and the Marylebone Road, a better choice across those ten pumps would potentially make this a destination pub.

On 8th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

This is clearly an old pub, with dark wood and mirrors. Laid out as an L shape around the bar, the interior is roomy and laid out with tables and a mixture of traditional wooden pub chairs and 'Regency' style leather chairs.

There were four real ale taps serving three ales, Pedigree, Courage Best and Directors. The Best and Directors were delicious.

Mrs Staal and I ate the food which is described as 'English Tapas'. This means evrything comes in smaller portions. I mean this in a positive way - Mrs Staal and I shared a Lancashire Hotpot, Barbecue Wings, Pork Bon Bons and Fish and Chips. After this, we were both stuffed and agreed that we had eaten a delicious meal. The bill, with drinks, came to a little over £30.00, which we both thought was very reasonable.

We are due back down here for the Olympics, and we will definitely eat here again. Very good pub, very good atmosphere, excellent food!

Oh, the unpubby Mrs Staal has just shouted to remind me to mention that tea and coffee is also served.

On 15th February 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

The Somers Town Coffee House is basically a large L shaped pub with an area behind the bar that feels like a drawing room. There is seating in the bar area and on the wide path out the front there are some picnic tables. The bar is stocked with a mixture of standard and premium draught products and one of the three hand pumps was unused leaving Directors and Courage Best as the ale options. I didn’t spot any televisions, but there was some generic background music playing. The service was friendly and the Directors was good. The opening times are from 10:00 until 23:30 so I imagine that coffee is actually served.

Gone are the days when my step dad got his nose broken for the first time in here, but I still wasn’t that keen on this place. I’m not sure that it is worth the walk from the station.

On 31st January 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

I wasn’t expecting much from somewhere calling itself a coffee house, but I was pleasantly surprised by this place. There were three, albeit mainstream, ales on. These were Young’s London Gold (£3.50 a pint), Courage Best and Bombardier, supplemented by a range of lagers including Estrella (tempted obviously but I resisted the temptation in favour of London Gold!), Red Stripe, and Erdinger. There were none of those garish ‘T’ junction lager fonts or those equally hideous refrigerated fonts cluttering up the bar counter.
But enough gastropub features were present – such as the large jars of nuts and the like on the bar counter, newspapers also on the bar, as well as a basket of muffins. Even though it qualifies as a gastropub there were more than enough seats around the bar area for those just wanting a drink, with diners apparently consigned to a separate room at the back to the left of the bar counter. It looks as if the only food availabale at this time of the year – judging by the menus on the table in the bar area at which I was sitting – are the three special 3-course Christmas menus, priced at £16, £23.50 and £27. I didn’t bother to note the deatials, but rest assured that there was no pub grub sullying these menus!
The interior has some nice wood panelling on the walls, a fireplace on the right with, for some reason, the royal coat of arms on the chimney breast. The royal theme is repeated on the sofas in front of the fireplace, with both of them decorated with the Union Flag emblazoned with the royal coat of arms. All very patriotic I suppose.
All things considered it’s not a bad place. It’s nothing like the locals’ boozers up the road – but it does do three drinkable ales which the others didn’t. It’s definitely good enough for a pint if you’ve got a bit of time to spare at Euston Station.

On 21st December 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Somers Town Coffee House

This is a decent looking pub from the outside and once inside half of the pub is a restaurant and the other half is for drinkers like myself.
This pub is a Charles Wells tied house and there were two real ales on the bar i had a drink of Charles Wells Eagle bitter and this was a really nice well kept drink the other beer was Bombadier.
I thought the pub was decent enough and would call in again if in the area.

Pub visited 21/8/2008

On 21st August 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2