User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Oh dear, self promotion FAIL with Maldenman on the Pub Forum

The Bree Louise, NW1

69 Cobourg Street
NW1
NW1 2HH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Bree Louise

The postponed closure is now upon us so managed one final visit, as indeed did a couple of hundred others judging from the crowds on the road outside. Still serving a huge range of beers to the end, although barrels rapidly emptying. It proved that there is a market for a back-to-basics pub selling real ale and cider.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2440 recommendations about 2385 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bree Louise

A mixed bag this place, which ought to be excellent (with up to 23 cask beers and ten ciders advertised), and very popular in certain quarters, but which somehow fails to fully deliver. A corner pub, which looks quite attractive from the street, but the alehouse-style interior is frankly tatty. Also has wooden picnic benches on both sides. Ten real ales are usually available on gravity, but I went for one of the handpump offerings (which, in my experience, is usually the safer bet): Marlow Slapstick (£3.90, with Camra discount). Anyway, I guess that this will be my last visit before it disappears to make way for the HS2 station construction works.

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6546 recommendations about 6546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Bree Louise

Little point in writing a review of this, my last visit.

Come November 2017, it will be the first notable victim of HS2.

Used to be my regular stopping off point before travelling home until I found the Doric Arch.

A real beer house - with half a dozen on pump and another dozen on gravity fed behind the bar. Not a fan of the gravity fed system, so I always went for a pump.

It was the place I discovered Titantic Plum Porter.

Last visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2ti9afK

On 3rd July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Bree Louise

My first visit here for a good few years and I have to say I was disappointed although not unexpectedly have heard poor reports off late. I had a pint of White Horse Crazy Horse IPA from handpump, I was offered a taster beforehand, about a pipette's worth, and it tasted reasonable but as each mouthful went down it seemed to get worse, warm and insipid despite the cold weather outside, I didn't finish the pint and my two partners in crime on the day followed suit. Quality wise the rumours appear true, and will probably another good few years before I try it again.

On 31st December 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1430 recommendations about 1415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Bree Louise

Formerly The Jolly Gardeners, this pub is situated in the down-at-heel Somers Town area of Camden, just to the south-west of Euston station.

I'd not been here before but despite the fact that, across the board, positive reviews for this place seem to be on the wane, I was still keen to give it a try, especially in light of the rumour that if HS2 goes ahead, this place may be demolished.

A reviewer below likens this pub's interior to that of an Eastern bloc consulate - if anything, that's something of a complement. I found the interior to be the least appealing of any pub I've ever visited. There's also a certain stale funk about the place and if you sit towards the rear, you get it in the nose from the lavs too. Clients here are almost exclusively locals of a certain age with perhaps a handful of office workers or students.

The pub stocks around 17 ales, 11 on stillage and 6 on pump; the website no longer lists beers currently on offer. Service was swift but unbelievably brusque: "Yeah. Whaddya want?"; my change was slapped into my hand without a word. I opted for the Raw Brewing Company's Summer Solstice on gravity which was an eyebrow-raising £4.40. This is the upper end of the price scale I'd expect to pay in some of Londond's most expensive areas, but in Somers Town?? Price aside, my pint was lifeless and soapy; not at all pleasant.

A second visit at a group's suggestion three weeks later and I'd learnt not to order from stillage but my requested pint from pump was drawn from stillage and guess what? It wasn't very good. A second pint finally came from the pump which was ok, nothing more. Service on this occasion was slightly better though amateurish.

With the depression-era soup kitchen interior, surly service, sky-high (for the area) prices and poor beer quality, this is probably one of the worst pubs I've ever drunk in - I shan't be returning unless in a group. The Exmouth Arms across the road is so much better.

On 27th September 2015 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1166 recommendations about 1145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Bree Louise

Hadn't visited for years interior a bit more pub like than before. Hand pulled and gravity beers served. Advertising Discounts for camra members, students,ucl staff,nhs staff,grant Thornton staff and armed forces.

On 31st October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2786 recommendations about 2728 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bree Louise

Agree with John, my pint of Milestone on stillage wasn't up to scratch, the Windsor and Eton on handpump was certainly the better choice. My overall opinion of the pub was of disappointment, the place certainly looked scruffy. You especially notice this when the place is quiet.

On 19th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3012 recommendations about 3012 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Bree Louise

I have used this pub regularly since they started doing guest beers and it seems to get more run down each visit. Always mobbed but the beer quality can be dire.Cant fault his selection as they usually have 8-10 beers .Best stick to the handpumps for quality.

On 16th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Bree Louise

A living beer festival, just behind Euston station, with stillage of barrels behind the bar offering a wide range of beers. Didn't sample enough to give decisive view, but quality seemed at least tolerable, certainly nothing to complain about, although perhaps not quite perfect. Very busy and quite noisy, but definitely dedicated to serious drinkers with few distractions.

On 7th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2440 recommendations about 2385 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Bree Louise

I have been to the BL 3 times since Christmas and I am afraid to have to agree with Bucking Fastard. The crown has slipped and The place needs a good clean, a new carpet woul;dn't go amiss either. I found the beer to be mediocre at best, although they do seem to have a better choice of brown beers as opposed to my recent visit to the Euston Tap where all of the beers on offer were golden and hoppy. I am not totally put off, I will probably go back as the BL is on my route from StPancras to a mates house and they do give you CAMRA discount.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3