User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Good Mixer, Camden Town, NW1

30 Inverness Street
NW1
NW1 7HJ
Phone: 02079167929

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Good Mixer

This is a post-war pub, built to replace an earlier pub on the site that fell prey to the Luftwaffe. It still has its original two rooms, connected by a short corridor that leads past the gents toilet, with a private bar sign to a small area behind the public bar which is now effectively subsumed by the public bar. There's no bar back to speak of; if there ever was one (and I would have expected there to have been one) it's now gone, so it's easy to see between the two rooms. There is a table football game in the public bar, which has a rough tiled floor. A bit of bench seating provides a small amount of outside inside some railings.

I didn't see any handpumps; both the pub's website and WhatPub say it does cask so ale, so maybe there was one that for some reason I didn't spot.

This is a very simple down to earth pub. It certainly doesn't go in for luxury. It's not really the sort of place that I would rush back to.

On 7th September 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2552 recommendations about 2470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Good Mixer

This pub dates back to at least the 19th century when it was called the Cricketers. Rebuilt as such in the 1950s and renamed when, I know not.
I always thought that this place was some sort of noted live music venue but if it was, then it clearly isn't now. This is a two-bar format pub with both bars dominated by full-sized pool tables, the one by the Inverness Street entrance so much so that on entering, you have to wait for the players to take their shot before you can get to the bar. This is a scruffy pub with flagstone floor, all complementing the rather scruffy crowd, not helped by the proximity to homeless hostel Arlington House across the road. Muted reggae played on the stereo but this didn't prevent the landlord from serving me with a pint rather than the requested half of Sharp's Original at £3.80 a pint; there were two unused pumps. It was majorly off, sour as Sarson's.
I endured about a third of it and then we left. Nope, I'm not returning.

On 5th October 2016 - rating: 2
[User has posted 936 recommendations about 922 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Good Mixer

Basic corner pub at the western end of the Inverness Street market area. Two rough-and-ready bars; both with dominant pool tables, stone flooring and very limited furniture (although the left-hand room has a small, partially screened, seating area at the back). Loud music throughout. A few patio tables out front. Two handpumps - offering the regular Pride (£3.80) and Sharp's Special - in the right-hand room. Really only worth considering for a quick pre-gig pint.

On 25th May 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Good Mixer

This pub was made relatively famous back in the mid to late 90's thanks to its status as the drinking venue of choice for numerous Britpop bands, so I'd always thought that the pub would do well to promote itself as a Britpop themed pub. However, the only link back to those days seems to be the decor, which looks like it hasn't changed since the days of Noel, Jarvis, Damon and co. There is a two room layout, but there are no real differences between either of them. The right hand room has a flagstone floor and some limited bench and low stool seating around a covered pool table. There are pictures of the likes of Elvis and the Rat Pack, a signed guitar in a display case (although I couldn't figure out whose signatures they might be) and apropos of nothing, some Irish road signs hang above the bar counter. A Jagermeister flag hangs from the ceiling and this seemed to be heavily promoted throughout as well as popular with the young, pre-gig time crowd.
The left hand room also has a pool table and this one was uncovered and in use the whole time I was there. A couple of TV screens were showing motor racing and golf for no discernable reason. There is a semi partitioned section at the back of this room, which houses a few tables, but otherwise seating is very limited and very impractical if the pool table is being used. Rock music was playing very loudly, which I suppose you would expect in such a venue.
Fullers London Pride and Sharp's Special (£3.20) were available and the Special was actually surprisingly good, even if I did get a few weird looks from the other customers when I ordered it.
I didn't find this a very comfortable place to stop for a drink, although I can see why it might appeal to those looking for a cheaper pint than in the nearby live music venues. I still think they've missed a trick and a decent makeover and reference to its past might go some way to making this a destination pub for all those 30 something Britpop fans out there. As it stands though, it's not really worth the effort.

On 16th October 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Good Mixer

Best known for being one of Camden’s centerpiece pubs during the Britpop years, the Good Mixer is for the most part trading on former glories when rubbing shoulders with the indie stars of the day meant more than the merits of the place as a pub.

Housed in the ground floor of a drab 1950’s corner block, the pub doesn’t promise too much from the outside. The unusual pub name is apparently derived from a cement mixer that the builders could not get out of the building and is now buried in the cellar. The interior is divided into 2 roughly equal sized fairly tatty bars, one of which has a divided “private” section. Neither bar is particularly spacious especially as they both house a pool table and seating is limited when the pub is busy. There is a narrow strip of pavement seating out the front. The décor is quite basic with stone flooring in the main bar and mainly bare wood in the other. Despite its musical heritage, there isn’t an abundant collection of musical related memorabilia but there are a few odds and sods dotted about. A signed guitar is mounted in one corner of the main bar and various posters and stickers compete for wallspace with old road signs, cartoons and New York skyscraper prints. TV’s in both bars show mainly sporting events and loud indie music is still part and parcel of the Good Mixer experience with copious Arctic Monkeys and Kaiser Chiefs replacing the Blur and Oasis of old.

I was initially surprised on my first vist a few years ago to see any Real Ales available but they usually have 2 available, more often than not London Pride and Sharps Special but on my half dozen or so visits over the past couple of years I don’t think I have ever had a decent pint. Prices are surprisingly reasonable (Sharps is currently £3.20) if you can stomach the inconsistant quality.

It is a place that I suppose is worth popping in simply for the “been there and done it” factor but I would imagine that most punters will leave disappointed.

On 19th July 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Good Mixer

This place has a couple of pool tables, which I think is the only plus point. The barman was ruse and the pub stank of body odour and stale beer. The bar was soaking wet and the lager was flat – This is at 18:30 on a Friday. I spotted Old Speckled Hen and Pride, but never went anywhere near it.

This is a very poor pub.

On 30th September 2008 - rating: 1
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Good Mixer

Now two ales (Sharps Special and GK Abbott - both warm, stuck in pipes too long). Punters were rough and skanky and perfectly matched the interior. The lustre of this place has long gone, it's living on memories. Time for a thick coat of paint, some maintenance and a rethink. Barring the weirdos from the adjoining hostel would be a start.

June 2006
Went here for a Britpop pilgrimage, having missed out in my formative years. Wasn't expecting much, but was surprised by finding an ale (Sharps) and a decent atmosphere. Two rooms with a pool table in each, meaning space is at a premium. It was more smoky than Buncefield, and I guess this'll be a place that will be hit hard by the ban. Populated by wannabie art school trendies it's not a pub for everyone but worth it for the blue plaque value if you like your Indie with ice. Sadly there was no Menswear on the speakers.

On 24th June 2008 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]