User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Exmouth Arms, Euston, NW1

1 Starcross Street
NW1
NW1 2HR
Phone: 02073875440

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Thoroughly refurbished a few years ago (albeit at the price of losing its famous hanging baskets) and relaunched with a PubLove hostel above the bar. Food offered under the Burger Craft brand. Mix of furniture inside, and plenty of wooden benches out on the pavement on two sides. Usually has a good choice of real ales, and on this visit we found all six handpumps in use, with regulars Sambrook's Pumphouse Pale Ale, Harvey's and Titanic Plum Porter (albeit the Reserve version this time) supplemented by Watney's Roll Out the Barrel, an American Pale Ale (although I don't recall whose) and a Seacider Cider.

On 22nd December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Exmouth Arms

At the edge of the redevelopment for HS2,this pub has replaced the demolished and not missed Bree Louise in the 2020 GBG.It's an airy ,open plan single room with low backed seating booths in tartan along the large windows,a rank of very high tables (even for someone 6'4'')down the side and some wooden tables and chairs in the centre.There is a drop down screen ,showing World Cup rugby on my trip.
There are 6 handpumps with a real cider along with Harvey Sussex Bitter,Sambrooks Pale,Truman Zephyr,Hogs Back TEA and a regular Titanic Plum Porter (£4 with 10% CAMRA discount,NBSS 3)which saved the day from an otherwise dull selection.There is some craft keg but lots of dross.
Food is served 9am -10pm from an all day brunch menu of breakfast and burgers.
Lacking much natural charm,it's a functional real ale pub but not good enough to justify passing up either the Euston Tap or Doric Arch.Maybe one for a crawl visit.

On 6th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2384 recommendations about 2384 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Looking for somewhere a bit quieter than the Taps and Doric for my pre train pint, i was a bit surprised to find this place was the busiest of the lot. It should do very well after the Euston expansion. Located conveniently enough for the back entrance of the station, this is a heavily modernised pub. In fact it has little resemblance to a pub at all, feeling more like a young persons American style bar. the trendy city 20 somethings seem to love it. I didn’t particularly, however there is a good choice of beer with 3 from Tiny Rebel on and 3 others including the ever lovely Titanic Plum Porter. Worth a visit and possibly the most tolerable in the immediate Euston vicinity.

On 17th May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 907 recommendations about 880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Exmouth Arms

I knew the Exmouth many years ago when it was a backstreet Irish pub. It is now a trendy young person's pub, one room with serried ranks of benches and a kitchen counter next to the bar, all in a stripped wood finish with usual dark matt walls. As well as the predictable range of craft keg, it does however seem to offer a couple of different and presumably changing ales, for example I sampled a Gipsy Hill Anorak Plum Mild, which is probably best described as interesting. Narrowly missed the HS2 demolition list although it lost part of the outside area; it still has a few tables on the pavement.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2678 recommendations about 2621 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Exmouth Arms

Nice little pub with always a good selection of beers.Clarkshaws -strange brew was okay.

On 16th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Exmouth Arms

A decent boozer this one, single roomed with various seating,six pumps on the bar,two were tagged as coming soon possibly as our visit was in the quiet time between Christmas and New Year, however the four available weren't bad, Bath Gem,Clarkshaws Strange Brew,Morehouse Blonde Witch and Bedlam Golden.There was an impressive "wall of beer " behind the bar comprising of a mounted display of bottles from London based breweries of which there are quite a few nowadays.
I liked it here.

On 31st December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Exmouth Arms

The ales on during my midweek lunchtime visit last week were Castle Rock Harvest Pale; Robinson's Trooper; By the Horns Mayor of Garrett; Little Beer Corporation Little Tenderness; and Belleville Calif-Oregon Amber. A sixth pump was unclipped. Resisting the temptation to try a Little Tenderness, I had a half of the excellent Calif-Oregon Amber (£2.20 a half). Burgers still seem to be the main staple food here, with the "Juicy Bastard" still at £11. They are also advertising a festive (i.e. Christmas) menu, with the headline offering the "Christmas Dinner" burger at £12, and the "Rudolph Burger" at £13. I'm not sure about calling a burger the Juicy Bastard, or naming a venison burger after Santa's favourite reindeer, but I guess these things don't worry most people.

The layout of this pub is as previously described, with a mix of normal tables and chairs, armchairs, and tall tables/tall stools, and the open to view kitchen on the right. There are a few picnic benches outside on the pavement. The massive pluses here are the range of decent ales available, and the fact that they open as early as 0900. This place makes a decent alternative to the Bree Louise down the road.

On 6th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2601 recommendations about 2515 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Exmouth Arms

An L shaped single room, boarded but with a decorative tiled splash area around the bar. White painted beamed ceiling, a fair bit of rough looking exposed brickwork, clear glass windows giving a bright and airy feel. Mixed seating, tartan backed benches, high copper topped round tables, pavement seating outside. Not very much on the walls in the way of decoration apart from a few maps, a rear corner has some sort of bag drop/left luggage area; I couldn't quite see how this works, no sign of lockers or suchlike.
There were a decent range of beers on, Vale Brewery Wychert, St Austell Trelawny, Southwark Bermondsey Best, Park Brewery Onside Amber, Wadworth Horizon plus one pump unclipped. The keg range included three from Meantime. There is also a good range of mostly London based bottled beers.
Food served, big on burgers with various types, the "Juicy Bastard" is £11.
Not a bad spot, worth a wander around from Euston if early for a train as I was (deliberately), shame the old hanging baskets have gone though, they used to look very good.

On 27th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Exmouth Arms

I found myself in the area by accident and wasn't expecting to like this place but was pleasantly surprised.

This pub has been given a scrub since I last passed it a few years ago. There was a decent mix of people in here and a good atmosphere. There were at least four interesting ales on pump and several craft beers and premium lagers. My Portobello Star was slightly off though and very pricey at £4.20.

I'd come here again if in the area - this place is miles better than the awful Bree Louise across the road.

On 3rd September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Exmouth Arms

One of a number of pubs in the backstreets around Euston station, this is a simple, L-shaped single room pub seemingly popular with those wanting to dine from the burger menu. The room has exposed floorboards throughout most of the space, with a nice mosaic tile floor around the bar area. Large windows along the front and right hand walls provide a good amount of light and have some nice etched glass panes. Over to the left is a bare brick wall, along which run some high padded benches, in contrast to the standard tables and chairs opposite the bar and pew formed booths under the front windows. The bar has a stained glass partitioning screen and over to the right hand side it turns into an open kitchen area, which made the place smell of food and probably contributed to the warm temperature within. Décor is fairly limited, but there was a nice old map of the world in the rear left corner. Music played fairly loudly but the pub was packed so it was drowned out by the general chatter within and a number of punters elected to sit at one of the many picnic tables outside the front of the pub to cool down and escape the din.
The beer range was considerably more interesting than I had expected. Cask offerings on this visit were Hackney Golden Ale, Hogs Back HBB, Hammerton Pentonville Oyster Stout, Southwark London Pale Ale, Portobello Pale and East London Brewery Nightwatchman. I tried the Southwark brew and thought it was reasonably well kept. Meantime beers were represented on keg along with a few other rarer sightings and a series of numbered shelves on the bar back displayed the bottled beer range, allowing you to order by number rather than name. The bar staff seemed pretty efficient and the barmaid who served me was very smiley and welcoming.
With a few celebrated ale houses in close proximity, this place perhaps rightly focusses on food as much as drink, but it should not be overlooked as it offers the chance to try a range of beers from some of the capital's many microbreweries. Despite the rather plain interior, this is a decent enough spot for a pint or two and makes a good change of scene from the usual suspects nearby.

On 12th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2826 recommendations about 2826 pubs]

Page: 1 2