User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Constitution, NW1

42 St. Pancras Way
NW1
NW1 0QT
Phone: 02073874805

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Constitution

Old fashioned pub next to canal, there is a raised area to the street windows. One roomed bare boarded with wood bar. Pool table and darts take up a bit of space. All nice enough & 4 real ales

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Constitution

The last time I came here about seven years ago, a weird local's dog pretty much attacked me - the idiot barman thought that this was the funniest thing he'd ever seen. My excoriating review was greeted a couple of weeks later with a sign on the door saying 'No Dogs'; a coincidence? Sadly the buggers have returned.
Actually this pub isn't that bad. It initially seems to be a scruffy locals' pub but there's a younger Camdenite crowd in here, some possibly students from the Royal Veterinary College a few hundred yards from here on Royal College Street. This is something of an abandoned backwater with just the attractive golden Courage cockerel standing sentinel over the area, though from his position he can't see the Regent's Canal, over which the pub's attractive partially covered beer garden looks.
The pub has quite a live music bent and there's a dartboard, pool table and games machines (not so good). The panelled wooden bar is to the rear and has an attractive stained leaded glass 'window' to the pot shelf. It's mainly bare boarded with some carpeting to a raised area; furniture is basic and conventional.
Ales: as below with my half of Junction being fine.
This isn't a bad pub, but I'm going to break with tradition and nail my colours to the Prince Albert across the water.

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 936 recommendations about 922 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Constitution

A proper boozer,sitting above the Regents Canal with a walled beer garden which overlooks the water and boats.The main room is square with the bar running down one wall,with a darts board to the side.There is a raised section infront of the large plate glass window at the front,while to the side is a pool table infront of a Victorian tiled fireplace.There is a Sky Sports flatscreen above the corner door,while the corridor leads to the large beer garden.Down some steps here is the entrance to a cellar bar,closed on my Saturday lunchtime visit.
There are 4 handpumps drawing Sambrooks Junction,Dark Star Hophead,Oakham Citra (tasted good but a little cloudy,£4) on my trip with a Sharp's Atlantic clip reversed.The keg selection included Beavertown Neck Oil and some imported lagers.
It's a community local,so expect some bar blockers but the atmosphere was friendly and I could settle in here for quite a while.A marked improvement on the nearby Prince Albert,with this pub correctly featuring in the 2018 GBG.

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Constitution

Very much what I would call a proper pub, on the edge of the canal its a stand alone building, single roomed with a no frills interior.Basic table and chairs throughout with bar stools around the bar area (obviously). There is a dartboard and pool table. It was despite being a little off the beaten track, quite busy on a Friday lunch time. Four hand pumps with a decent selection of Purity Bunny Hop, Gloucester Gold, Sambrooks Junction and Dark Star Hophead. There is also a basic though decent pub grub menu and very decently priced with nothing exceeding £5.50.
This pub did it for me and I would happily return.

On 18th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1297 recommendations about 1284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Constitution

This Camden pub is far enough from the main drag that it has been able to retain the feel of a traditional local's boozer. Located next to the Grand Union Canal, a corner entrance takes you into a reasonably sized, single room set up with the servery over to the far right hand side. The bulk of the room has bare floorboards, with standard tables and chairs through the middle and padded benches around the perimeter. A small raised platform at the front of the pub, under a huge window, was carpeted and offered a couple more padded benches, although it looked like it could also be converted into a stage for live music. The servery has a dark wood panelled counter and bar back plus an attractive stained glass canopy. The whole room has low wood panels with the uppers decorated with brewery mirrors, a few unrelated large framed photos and some oddities such as a large 'Royal Arsenal' club badge. To the rear there is space for a pool table and juke box which stands in front of a nice fireplace with a plain mirror hung above. There is also a compact darts area to the front of the pub, with a shelf nearby holding copies of London Drinker and various local listings magazines and flyers. Music played quietly until the evening's football fixture began, at which point the tunes had to compete with the match commentator.
There were three handpulls in operation, dispensing Sambrooks Junction, Caledonian Deuchars IPA and Windsor and Eton Windsor Knot (£4.00). My pint of the latter was in good condition and I was pleased to find a couple of local-ish breweries represented. The keg range was also pretty good, with several taps dispensing small batch beers alongside a few familiar brands.
I thought this was a good local's pub which seems to offer enough to maintain a loyal following. I enjoyed spending a bit of time here and whilst there is nothing to get particularly excited about, it makes a pleasant change from the usual Camden venues.

On 5th January 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2364 recommendations about 2364 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Constitution

They had Deuchars IPA, Sambrook Junction, and Caledonian Distant Sun on in here. A little surprisingly, there was no sign of food or menus when I was in on Sunday lunchtime.

This is probably the nearest “real pub” to the touristy and yuppy-like Camden Town. Inside it’s mainly bare-boarded but has a small carpeted raised area on the right, with a couple of standard tables and a settle plus some normal chairs. There isn’t a lot of seating in this rather small pub, but what there is consists of normal tables and chairs. Other classic pub features here are the dartboard and pool table. There are large TVs on the walls, but switched off when I was in. On the walls are a few black and white photos, as well as a couple of attractive distillers’ mirrors. A sign advertised the beer garden, and although I didn’t visit it, it apparently overlooks the canal.

There was a sign outside saying that children and dogs are not allowed in the bar or garden, with obviously an exception made for the pub dog that greeted me enthusiastically on my arrival. I’ve possibly made it sound a bit like a sports bar, but it isn’t – it’s a locals’ pub that also does decent ale (my pint of Distant Sun was in fine nick), albeit at the fast becoming London standard of £4 a pint. I would be happy to pay a return visit.

On 25th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2552 recommendations about 2470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Constitution

Canal-side pub whose main selling point must be the rear patio beer garden overlooking the waterway (although it was too cold to consider sitting outside when I happened to call by). Inside, it has been partly opened out to form a 'L'-shaped bar with a raised seating area. Pool table and dart board available. Three beers on handpump - Deuchars IPA, Sambrooks Junction and Wainwright (£3.90).

On 28th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Constitution

I found a very pleasant, congenial atmosphere on my recent early Saturday evening visit here. The clientele appeared to be mostly late-20s or early-30s from the nearby apartments along the Regents Canal, with no dogs that I could see on this occasion. Conversation seemed to be the main occupation, and though there was football on a small screen above the door, the sound was turned off.

Like a lot of London pubs of its age, this was clearly once divided into smaller rooms, but the one large room that now remains did not feel excessively cavernous, and the pillars that now replace one missing wall were elegantly picked out in white with red lines. The bar, almost certainly not in its original place, being just the other side of the line of pillars, features stained glass pelmets and there are three hand pumps. Two of these had beers from local Sambrooks brewery - their Wardle and Junction, plus Caledonian Deuchars for those who are not tired of it.

There's a garden out the back, overlooking the canal, though I didn't try it, with it being April and very cold indeed. About 15 or 20 minutes' walk from Kings Cross or St Pancras stations, this is one to bear in mind if you've an hour or so to kill between trains.

On 9th April 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2457 recommendations about 2319 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Constitution

In a desperate bid to try and find some half-decent places in Camden to get a beer before the Manics gig, I pottered round some of the backstreets to see what I found. This was my first and best stop of the day.

After a five minute walk from the tube station I spotted this one - from the outside it looks like a traditional pub and the inside delivers a modern-trad feel, with pool table, jukebox and dartboard. Three ales were on offer (Broadside, Deuchars IPA and a Wyre brew), my Deuchars was in excellent form and the large foamy head was topped-up without asking. As it was a sunny day I ventured outside and was rather pleased to discover a lovely beer garden right on the canal side. The summer sun appears to travel over from the back of the garden down to set over the front of it which is fantastic in the summer months.

Basic fried food was on offer, which seemed to be going down well.

A very positive first impression and I would recommend it to others. I'm planning a return next time I'm in the area.

On 5th June 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Constitution

This pub has a locals feel to it without being cliquey and uninviting. There is a pool table and a dart board along with 2 TVs that show Sky Sports and Setanta. Due to the layout and the inclusion of the pool table there is not as much seating as you'd have thought looking in from the outside, but this doesn't really bother me. The staff all seem friendly enough and Deuchars, Broadside and Doombar are all available along with San Miguel and a few standard lagers. There is a beer garden out the back but I did not see it as it was pouring with rain.

I liked it in here and it is a contender for the best pub in Camden.

On 22nd December 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]

Page: 1 2