User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Cock Tavern, Somers Town, NW1

23 Phoenix Road
NW1
NW1 1HB
Phone: 02073871884

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Jon B left this review about The Cock Tavern

a very run down exterior and not much better inside. In a way it’s heartening to see a true downmarket boozer like this still up and running in central London. it is a bit of a dive though and not for the faint hearted as the few customers were of the ‘what you looking at?’ variety.

On 17th May 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 657 recommendations about 646 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Cock Tavern

2 roomed Irish pub that's a bit rough n ready just visited the bar area standard draught. Locals seemed friendly enough.

On 23rd April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cock Tavern

A proper old-fashioned sort of place, but both bars are rather tatty and even more run down than on my last visit four years ago. Not many customers, just a few older Irishman who had probably been there all afternoon and - unlike last time - the atmosphere was not exactly friendly. No real ale, so had to do with quick pint of John Smiths (£2.90) before moving swiftly on...

On 29th March 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Cock Tavern

The Cock Tavern is a large back street boozer that serves the local residents of Somers Town. When I visited on Wednesday afternoon last week there was an electric pensioner buggy parked up outside and inside there was a wheelchair with a bag of shopping in it. The handful of regulars were all of retirement age and there was a deathly silence. I paid the barman for half a generic lager from the uninspiring draught selection and shuffled over to a table next to the stage area at the back of the pub. I imagine that this stage area is used when the advertised live music is held. The landlady was stoking the coal fire and thankfully the barman decided to open up the jukebox and put some old disco hits on. I only sat in the right hand side of the pub as that was where everyone else was, but I did look into the left hand side and spotted lots of Celtic memorabilia and a pool table. There are some plasma screens and a projector screen that are used for showing Sky Sports.

I found this pub to be a bit grim and I do not plan to return, but maybe it does liven up when some entertainment is on or the football is aired.

On 1st February 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cock Tavern

There was no real ale on, with (in my opinion) the best bet being the Grolsch lager on tap. I didn’t see any sign of food during my Tuesday afternoon visit.
This is a surprisingly large two-room pub, but only one of the rooms was in use during my early afternoon visit. Both rooms are carpeted and with furnishings that look a throwback to the 70s (nothing wrong with that I hasten to add). I popped my head in the room not in use, and noticed a mass of Celtic Football Club themed stuff on the walls, plus a Sligo scarf behind the bar. The “open” room had a log fire on the go, and a stage down at one end bearing a Christmas tree, although I didn’t spot any adverts for live music. There was more Irish themed stuff in here – a Munster team photo; more Sligo stuff; and a Republic of Ireland car license plate. Everyone in there except me spoke with an Irish accent. I’m guessing that this is a genuine Irish pub.
There were a couple of cats making themselves at home – I’m sure they were at home – occupying prime positions in front of the fire. The music being played was some late 50s or very early 60s pop, which is something you don’t hear very often. This is another backstreet locals’ pub, a stone’s throw from Euston Station. This is probably a decent enough place in which to escape the Euston throngs, as long as you’re content to drink Guinness or keg fizz. But I doubt whether I’ll be paying a return visit.

On 20th December 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2553 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Cock Tavern

A proper drinkers pub that doesn't try to be anything else, a throwback to the type of place that perhaps we didn't value enough 20 years ago. A place to write out a 20p yankee and maybe pick up something for dinner from the estate's entrepreneurs.

On 20th July 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Cock Tavern

No real ale. Very basic interior, lunch time regulars seem to be pensioners.

On 2nd February 2007 - rating: 2
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 713 pubs]