User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Allsop Arms, Marylebone, NW1

137 Gloucester Place
NW1
NW1 5AL
Phone: 02077235864

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Allsop Arms

Also a first for me the other night and initially I wasn’t too impressed when a colleague put forward this GK food orientated pub as the venue for our monthly meet up, but I have to say reality was better than my expectations.
Yes the interior is the modern characterless pubco type makeover but I’ve seen a lot worse and the ridiculous high tables and chairs are still in situ, but there is enough normal ones as well. But a key point is that it’s quite a big place internally and wasn’t massively overcrowded for our early evening after work visit and could accommodate a large group comfortably for a spot of vertical drinking, and we even managed to utilise one of the normal tables later on.
But the biggest pleasant surprise was that all six ale pumps were in use and three of them were not from GK. Alongside the normal IPA, the seasonal Six nations aligned Scrum Down and what I guess is also a GK brew in the shape of the Allsop Arms Bitter there was also Wadsworth 6X, Southwark Brewery Citra and New River Five Inch Drop. We stayed on the last two and they were both well kept.
I still wouldn’t go out of my way to visit here but would certainly utilise again when next in the Marylebone area.

On 1st March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1622 recommendations about 1572 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Allsop Arms

Dating from at least the 18th century, this pub was rebuilt in the 1950s and was a first for us the other night.
There's quite a large interior with some flagstone flooring and plenty of carpet which must have been added since last September along with plenty of normal height furniture. Otherwise, the walls smooth, part panelled and part bare brick are a palette of gastropub hues: white, mushroom and smoky blue. Furniture is conventional and the lavatories - gent's downstairs - are very modern and clean; music played at an unobtrusive level and the barman was friendly. On the down side, from the ceiling descend ugly aircon vents, there are sauce bottles on tables there's at least one games machine flashing away.
Ales: one unused pump, thereafter Greene King's IPA and Abbot, Allsop Arms Best Bitter, Moorland's Old Golden Hen and Hardy & Hanson's Olde Trip at a very reasonable £3.90 a pint and as good as the brand is ever going to get.
This place is ok and far better than The Globe, but The Volunteer across the way is a lot better still.

On 20th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 873 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Allsop Arms

Refurbished last month in typical current pubco style. Layout unchanged, but the walls that aren't bare brick are painted that faecal grey colour, and no carpet to absorb some of the noise. The ridiculous high tables now outnumber the usable ones. Standard GK beer range. It's OK if you want a quick one while waiting for a train but no need to linger, you can do better round here.

On 30th September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 453 recommendations about 445 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Allsop Arms

A substantial detached building which seems slightly out of place in central London - more like something you would see in the High Street of a market town. Looks quite attractive from the street, with some hanging baskets and a sensible selection of benches along the frontage. Inside, the 'L'-shaped bar has been refurbished in a fairly modern style, but this has been done quite well and retains a bit more character than many such conversions. It has some of those annoying high tables but also offers plenty of other seating and a separate dining area. Five handpumps offering a range of beers from the Greene King range - the 'house' Best Bitter, IPA and Abbot - plus Cornish Knocker and Timothy Taylor Boltmaker (£4.35) as guests on my latest visit. Plenty of staff, and usually has a nice relaxed atmosphere. Overall, it remains one of my favoured pubs in the area.

On 17th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5540 recommendations about 5540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Allsop Arms

This is an unusual looking building for the area and may be an inter-war pub. Internally it is rather bland it must be said, a L-shaped space with what looks like laminate wooden flooring to the middle with carpet to each end, mixed seating of all types, a few framed bits of this and that but little worthy of note. I ended up visiting as many pubs in the Baker Street area were closed on Bank Holiday Monday, presumably due to the influx of football fans to the area for a Wembley Play-Off final. Indeed a sign on the bar advised this place was closing too on the dot of the final whistle.
Food is served, deals were advertised all over the walls, I expect given the location near Madame Tussauds, the Planetarium and Baker Street with the Sherlock Holmes museum that it gets a decent passing tourist trade and hence will shift a fair few dinners.
It therefore serves a purpose and probably does well but seeing that the beer choice is limited to Greene King, it is unlikely to drag me back for another go. IPA, London Glory, Old Golden Hen, Abbot and Allsop Arms Best Bitter (probably a rebadged Hardy and Hanson's 3.9%).

On 29th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1680 recommendations about 1657 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Allsop Arms

Large impressive looking building. Greene king pub with 5 real ales on and food served.

On 8th December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2514 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Allsop Arms

Very handy for Marylebone station, this internally modernised pub has one large L shaped open area but the way it is laid out itdoes give the feel of separate drinking areas so its not too noisy inside early evening mid week. A good selection of Greene Kinge ales with the Fireside being well kept. Staff are a bit indifferent but then again expected in this area of London.

On 27th January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Allsop Arms

This is a Greene King house, but had pretty much the full range on - OSH, GKIPA, Abbot, Royal London, and something called “Fireside” which I went for, and turned out to be a 4.5% Autumn style ale. It was OK, but still had that very distinctive GK taste. The pub itself is quite unusual for Central London, being a stand-alone building. Inside it’s very much food-led, as so many pubs in Central London are. The food prices were fairly typical for the area – steak and Ruddles ale pie with chive mash and veg at £8.45, and a large burger with chips, salad, etc, at £7.45.
The pub itself is largely bare-boarded but with a carpeted area on the left and also in the room on the right. There is present the usual array of tall tables and tall stools, some sofas, and normal tables and chairs, and a couple of booths by the window on the left had banquette style benches. Overall it had the look of a pub that had been given what some might regard as an upmarket makeover, and to be honest some of the seating areas were quite comfortable, although in some places it did have the look of a hotel lounge. It’s not the sort of place that I would want to rush back to, but I can see that it gives office and other workers in the area somewhere reasonably decent to escape to for their lunch hours.

On 23rd October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2495 recommendations about 2415 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Allsop Arms

This Greene King pub has recently been refurbished and modernised and although it is pleasant enough I not a fan of pubs that have 360 degree cameras dotted about the pub on a spying mission. It feels like GK have tried to go upmarket, but don’t trust their clientele enough to let them have a night in peace – this is a pub not a nightclub!

Five ales from the GK range were available on my visit along with their usual standard draught range and Peroni.

I spotted a projector screen which was rolled up, but I didn’t see any signs for Sky Sports and to be honest I would be surprised if the football crowd are now welcome.

I’d walk by if I was passing this pub again.

On 11th February 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3410 recommendations about 3390 pubs]