User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Warrington Hotel, W9

93 Warrington Crescent
W9
W9 1EH
Phone: 02072868282

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Warrington Hotel

Rich and opulent,this CAMRA nationally listed interior deserves careful inspection.There are two quite distinct bars,to the left a multi door front lounge which curves around,but which probably was sub divided in the past.There is a warming real fire,lots of traditional furniture and was a lot less busy than the more popular right hand side bar.This has an impressive staircase to the first floor dining room,a marble fireplace,a curved marble bar top,very fine ceiling cornicing and much etched glass and stained glass panels.Art deco designs go together well with victorian spendour.
It's still used as a hotel,and there is a guest oak panelled door to the bedrooms,while this bar was popular with students many in sports kit,there must be playing fields or indoor facilities near by.
There are a number of handpumps,but just three choices on my trip in Adnams Mosaic,Sambrooks Wandle and Portobello Sauce on the Side (a cranberry sauce stout that just about worked ).There was a keg gantry offering another 8 beers,lots mainstream.Food mains start around £13 to £20 but there are light bite options.
This is a must visit in the area for the wonderful interior,shame the ale options weren't more exciting but you can happily while away a few hours in here soaking up the atmosphere.

On 6th January 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Warrington Hotel

An outstanding preserved pub interior - ceilings, walls, pillars, arches, mirrors, bar: all deserve detailed appreciation (see photos) - and on the way out I saw the mosaic in the doorway that I had missed on the way in. Beers are on two sets of two hand pumps, with the pump clips repeated on a board above the bar (see photo). Sadly, two were reversed on the pumps, leaving me a choice of just Adnams Mosaic and Sambrooks Session. The latter proved to be a fairly insipid, lemon-flavoured beer at only 3.4% (a long session, then) but costing £2.35 for a half. I suppose it was in good enough condition, he said grudgingly, but so not to my taste that it was a struggle to drink it. Nevertheless it was a pleasure to visit this pub, and I wouldn't mind a repeat visit together with the nearby Prince Alfred.

On 24th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2658 recommendations about 2505 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Warrington Hotel

Another one that needs to be experienced.

Possibly the most ornate pub I've been to. A real joy to sit on the leather chesterfields and take in the surroundings.

Beer wise - The Sambrooks Junction fitted the surroundings.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2oErY9B

On 28th April 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Warrington Hotel

On my first visit to this former Courage's house in the late 1980s (when the area was less exclusive), the then barren roundabout out front doubled as an unauthorised beer garden; carrying a round of drinks across Warrington Crescent was a hazardous affair. Today, the superb Victorian and art nouveau interior additions (which date from 1965) are the main draw for this pub. You may even catch sight of David Soul at the bar.

My first visit post-Ramsey, and despite my mid-evening arrival to a half full pub, service here was glacial; customers peruse the menu under the gaze of the barman whilst drinkers waited to order. As mentioned below, the ale front isn't extensive or adventurous: Young's Bitter, GK Abbot, Adnam's Ghost Ship (served well) and Morland's Old Speckled Hen. Precedence is given to premium lagers; I counted 7 taps. Finally, I'm not sure that the downstairs unisex bog will appeal to all and this pub gets very crowded but overall it's definitely worth at least one trip (if only for the interior), but I've deducted at least 1 point due to the awful service and another because of the small yapping dog.

On 24th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Warrington

Just when you think you’ve seen everything that the capital can offer in terms of historic pub architecture, a pub like this comes along, offering something a bit different. In this instance, it is the pub’s fine porch and entrance that raise the stakes. Here you will find some superb tiled pillars and panels in bright colours and with some wonderful, intricate details, as well as a fine mosaic floor bearing the pub’s name. It’s as bold an opening statement as I can remember from any pub and it sets you up nicely for the fine interior within. Two front doors lead into separate bars. The right hand door takes you into the larger of the two rooms, where a curved servery runs along the left hand wall. The bar counter boasts a marble top and elaborately decorated front whilst the bar back has dark wood pillars and arches which rise up and culminate in a decorative mural depicting cherubs. This in turn is surrounded by a lot of stained glass panes, many with lovely, intricate inserts, above which you can admire the ceiling with its fine floral patterns. Marble columns run across the rest of the room and large decorative friezes run around the walls. The room has been carpeted and offers a mix of standard, banquette and armchair seating, suitable for such an opulent setting. To the right there is a marble fireplace with plants on the mantle and some great wood panels either side, each inlaid with countless small mirrors. To the rear of the room, through a high and wide archway, there is a large stained glass window and some additional seating. A slightly separated space stands to the left of the servery, with a part carpeted and part tiled floor. The end wall here is a stunning mix of etched and stained glasswork that merits closer attention. A winding staircase leads up to the toilets and a simple, bright dining room with much blander décor, some more stained glass features and a second servery. The room has mostly regular tables and chairs and is perhaps a legacy of the pub’s previous owner – celebrity chef Gordon Ramsey. Back outside, the left hand entrance takes you into a narrower bar which is semi-partitioned with a nice fireplace and a skylight. Comfy seating options can be found in here and it seemed a lot calmer than the main bar which was in danger of being taken over by out of control kids on my visit. A few benches are available to the front of the pub, which allows you to take a closer look at the entrance and should you wish to stay longer, the pub has five rooms available to book.
Sadly the beer range can’t match up to the splendour, but at least there were a few ales on offer. Options on my visit consisted of Young’s Ordinary, Greene King Abbot Ale and Morland Old Golden Hen, with Young’s London Session having just gone off. The Hen set me back £3.70 and was okay – nothing to really write home about.
I was really impressed by this place and was very glad that I made my way out here to visit. Things were let down a little by the screaming kids and the unexciting beer range, but I’d urge anyone with an interest in historic pub interiors to give it a try regardless.

On 9th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Warrington

The Warrington is another historic Maida Vale pub well restored to all its 19th century glory with a stunning interior featuring mosaic floors, huge fireplaces, art nouveau friezes, stained glass windows and furnishings originally taken from an old ship.
Again its another one that focusses on food, but nowadays not to the extent when it was owned by Gordon Ramsey. Now owned by the Faucet Inn chain, who own about 22 pub restaurants around London, the separate upstairs dining room is still the main reason to visit for many.
But we were here only for the beer and three of the four pumps were on the go with the fourth reverse clipped and Adnams Ghost ship, Young’s Bitter and OSH were the main stream options available. So another pub in this area where a more interesting ale range would be a fantastic complement to the superb interior, but it’s still worth a visit just to ogle the interior.
The pub also benefits from a pleasant outside garden space for alfresco drinking when the sun is high.

On 19th May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Warrington

Another one on my hit list after seeing it in Camra's Heritage Pubs. No surprise this pub is included in Camra's National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors. It is described as one of London's most opulent pubs, no mistake there. I noticed there was some vandalism carried out on the marble counter top. The manager told me in the late 80's that they chopped out several holes in the marble top to fix in some keg fonts, four handpumps now try to cover this area. Prices were steep and I noticed the young barman was overcharging for the round. In spite of this, I still give this pub ten for the stunning interior. I went for Westerham Brewery Grass Hopper.

On 19th January 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Warrington

Splendidly-preserved building with a host of interesting features both inside and out. The main entrance, with its columned portico and mosaic hotel name on the step, is particularly fine. The decorative marble, gilding, mouldings, murals, stained and etched glass, lighting, etc. in the two bars are all also worthy of note. Fancy modern restaurant at first floor level. Plenty of benches outside in the patio area. Four real ales on handpump - Pride, GK IPA, Broadside and Adnams Mild (expensive at £3.60). Well worth a visit.

On 26th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Warrington Hotel

The Warrington is a large imposing building with many superb preserved features. The rather grand entrance has tiled columns and piers and a mosaic step. It is flanked by large iron lanterns. A hugely impressive interior, the horseshoe bar is marble topped, and the row of columns and fireplace are also faced with the same marble. The columns rise to form gilded arches across the main space, with a large mural of nymphs above. The mural is continued on the bar canopy. Some etched screens,an abundance of stained glass and lots of carved wood all enhance the room. The ceiling is decorated with a leaf pattern. A grand staircase sweeps up to a large landing and first floor restaurant, where the tables are formally laid with white linen. The pub is owned by Gordon Ramsey, so naturally is rather foody and upmarket, although I thought the bar tables were rather crammed in. The pub itself was packed at 6pm on Saturday with standing room only however.
The beer selection was rather mundane in comparison with the decor, being GK IPA and Hopping Hare, Adnams Broadside plus Pride on the fourth pump with the clip reversed. Service was rather slap dash and I had to recall the barman to top up my seriously short pint, and no Sir, it is not meant to be like that.
Nevertheless, it's definitely worth a visit for the imposing splendour of the building.

On 6th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Warrington Hotel

This pub retains most, if not all, of its original Victorian features, including marble pillars, bartop and fireplace; masses of dark wood and etched and cut glass. This is a very impressive pub, and is a very comfortable place in which to have a drink. Ales are OK but nothing special. Didn't eat in there – not particularly keen to pay Gordon Ramsey's prices. Definitely worth a visit for the décor alone.

On 5th November 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]