User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Union Tavern, W9

45 Woodfield Road
W9
W9 2BA
Phone: 02072861886

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Union Tavern

“Support Craft Beer Here!” proclaims the exterior slogan which I'll admit put me off before even setting foot inside, despite the lovely green glazed tiled frontage. On entering you're met with a newly modernised interior which, shock horror, is tasteful and actually properly finished. White, red and grey shades work well together, whilst the bar back had brown metro tiling. Light and airy inside due in part to the large windows. Downstairs has canal side seating, though this section of the water is not particularly bucolic so I stayed in the shade upstairs. A sensible ale range, just the three on over five pumps but a decent selection in Pride, Hop Head and Five Points Pale which was good (NBSS 3.5) an cool on a hot day. Also a number of better keg beers available, including Siren. I took to this one, the beer quality sealed it. Surprised to subsequently discover (on seeing the large sign painted on the wall outside!) that it’s a low-key Fullers outlet. 7.5

On 1st July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Union Tavern

Attractive canal-side pub with the light and airy main bar at street level, a smaller room down below connecting with the terrace along the waterway which is the main feature here. Disappointingly, as a barely branded Fuller's outlet, just London Pride and Dark Star Hophead (£4.50) were available from the five handpumps, but the reversed clips suggest that a Five Points beer is usually available too.

On 29th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Union Tavern

An interesting pub, with the original building on the side street but the additional frontage catching the eye on the Great Western Road as it crosses the canal. There's a beer garden on the canal side, accessed by an internal staircase, and there are also steps down to the original building, which I didn't explore. The bar area is light and airy, thanks to the large, clear-glazed windows, but the feel of the place is more cafe bar than pub. There are five hand pumps (see photo) and my half of Windsor and Eton Chestnut was in very good condition - my beer of the day.

On 24th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2660 recommendations about 2507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Union Tavern

A nicely refurbished, traditional boozer located next to the canal in a real ale desert.
Inside is over two levels, the upper one on street level and the lower with a terrace by the canal.
There's mixture of styles which work well together including old pine school chairs, old leather chairs, red banquettes, a real stove and a small butcher's block which, disturbingly on a scorching September day, was full of Christmas decorations and menus.
The bar was staffed by two friendly and efficient barmaids who were happy to give out tasters and brightened the place up.
Monthly Meet the Brewer evenings were advertised on a chalk board giving an indication that they take their beer seriously and embrace brewers other than Fullers, who own the place.
This is further reflected in the ale range which consisted of Twickenham Autumn Red and Naked Ladies, Five Points Pale and London Pride on our visit as well as 10 keg offerings which are listed on a blackboard above the bar. Everything which we tried was in top nick and flew down.
The menu listed some interesting modern pub food although we didn't try any.
A top spot in the area and I'd welcome a revisit.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Union Tavern

PSM has done a very accurate review,and I also thoroughly enjoyed my visit.The ground floor bar room is stripped out in a modern way with sanded floor boards but retains some comfortable seating options,a fitted bench below a side window with views over the canal being particularly good.The loo doors here have pictures of Audrey Hepburn and Sid Vicious ,a good juxta pose.The lower level snug looked like a good retreat,while the small downstairs bar has a few pew seats while the canalside outside terrace is a real feature.It is possible to moor a boat directly outside.
At the bar there are 10 keg taps featuring many London brewers,and there was an upcoming meet the brewer night featuring Kernel.The 5 handpumps will always stock London Pride but the other four will feature guests ales which comprised Twickenham Autumn Red and Naked Ladies and a very good Five Points Pale on my trip .Live music is a feature here,and the food menu looked interesting and somewhat ethnic with mains coming in from £9-£14 but with a wide selection of light bites.
IMHO this is one of the best pubs for real ale within spitting distance of the canal for miles around,and tops any that I have tried in the Little Venice and Paddington area.I plan a revisit.

On 16th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2091 recommendations about 2091 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Union Tavern

This is a split level canal side pub close to Westbourne Park tube station. The pub is run by Fullers, although this isn’t entirely apparent on approach or indeed when looking at the beer range. The pub was revamped by former manager Steve Keegan (currently working for the Late Knights Brewery), who persuaded Fullers to focus on their role as part of the London Brewer’s Alliance and use the pub to showcase beers from other up and coming London breweries. This is a nice touch and meant that as well as the ubiquitous London Pride, I could also choose from Redemption Big Chief, Backstage IPA, London Fields Hackney Hopster and ELB Pale Ale. The keg range similarly focuses primarily on the capital’s brewing talent, with beers from Kernel, Camden, Signature Brew and London Fields available among others. Craft bottles are also sold from the fridges although I didn’t see any menus to help guide you through the selection. I tried a pint of the ELB Pale Ale which was very well kept.
The pub has had something of a gastro make-over since my last visit back in 2003. Food seems to be an integral part of the pub’s DNA, with a tempting BBQ themed menu available, from which I sampled some very tasty chicken strips with BBQ dipping sauce. There is also a heating cabinet at the end of the bar storing a few traditional pub snacks. The entrance takes you into the main bar with the servery directly opposite the door in a bare boarded room with plush leather banquettes around the front left and rear right corners and a mix of pew and standard seating elsewhere. The décor is a little bland, consisting of a few nice Fullers themed photos, a large floral display in the front window and an attractive fireplace on the back wall with a TV screen above, turned off on this visit. To the left of the bar is a rack filled with the day’s papers and here steps lead down to a small lower level area with limited seating options. Over on the other side of the room, a staircase leads down to the pleasant canal side garden and bar where I have fond memories of soaking up the sun during the Notting Hill Carnival several years ago. A varied soundtrack played throughout this stay, but the volume was at a sensible level, so it wasn’t too distracting.
I enjoyed this pub in the past for the pleasant garden setting and appreciate it even more now that there is an interesting range of ales to choose from. It’s a nice spot for a pint or a bite to eat and I’d happily return when next in the area.

On 9th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Union Tavern

This is a perfectly satisfactory venue in an unsatisfactory location; the junction of Woodfield Road and the Great Western Road isn't exactly a nice place to hang out. I wouldn't go out of my way to be here, though I do live quite close. The pub has a decent layout and contemporary interior - I have no problem with it, just the location, though the beer garden along the canal is quite a pull, especially on summer nights, be aware that it overlooks the bus depot, surrounded by razor wire.

On 25th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Union Tavern

This pub has improved considerably since my visit a year ago. There were four ales on - Clarence & Frederick's Best Bitter; Shamblemoose American Brown Ale, Moncada Brewery Porter, and, presumably as a gesture to its Fuller's branding, London Pride. I do know someone who would have chosen London Pride over the others, but that's another story. There was a fifth unclipped handpump, which, the barman told me, had until a day or so ago been dispensing Moncada Notting Hill Blond. There were also a dozen or so keg taps behind the bar dishing out beer form the likes of London Fields and Camden Breweries.

Also, the tall butcher's block tables have gone, to be replaced by normal tables and chairs. I've upped this pub's ratings a couple of notches to a 7.

On 16th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Union Tavern

This pub is a new concept by Fullers.10 handpumps with mostly London brewers inc 2 Fullers beer.12 keg fonts with a good range of styles.Nice location with ouside seating next to the canal.Reasonable prices for the beer.Reduced range of beers mid-week on cask.First pub to have the new breweries Late Knights and Shamblemoose.Nice to see Fullers embracing Craft beer.

On 20th February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Grand Union

This is a Fuller’s pub perched on the side of the road right by the Grand Union canal. There were just the two ales on – London Pride and Bengal Lancer. I saw some menus lying around but didn’t get to look at them. This pub has rather a strange layout. As you enter from the street you are in a very modern furnished room, with butcher’s blocks for tables and that sort of thing, plus light pastel coloured walls. But take the metal spiral staircase down from the right hand side of the pub and it takes you into another small room. This in turn leads out to the terrace facing on to the canal, which, as it’s south facing can be something of a sun trap. But it’s not the idyllic spot it should be, although the narrow boats passing by add to the atmosphere, as being by the main road it does get some noise, and the blokes working on cars in a garage over the canal didn’t help. But for all that it’s a nice enough spot if the weather’s good.
I certainly wouldn’t call it a destination pub, but it’s OK as long as you don’t mind these madeover pubs, and are happy with (albeit limited) Fuller’s ales.

On 18th April 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]

Page: 1 2