User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Windsor Castle, W8

114 Campden Hill Road
W8
W8 7AR
Phone: 02072438797

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Windsor Castle

Quirky bare boarded interior that's split into about 4 different sections mind your head if moving between them. 2 sets of 5 real ale taps mostly doubles.

On 27th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2558 recommendations about 2503 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Windsor Castle

21st August 2015:

By all accounts, this pub dates from the 1820s/30s and not the 1600s as claimed. Either way, it's a good 25 years since I was last in here and unsurprisingly, little if anything has changed. I did however consider that the interior seemed a little too old for the apparent date and indeed further research has elicited the fact that the - ahem - 'historic olde worlde' interior actually dates back to a refurbishment undertaken in 1933. Indeed, I wouldn't actually be surprised if the entire building had been rebuilt at that time. Nevertheless it's an attractive pub with leaded lights punctuated by some classic red Charrington's lettering denoting bar names and degree of user accessibility.
Despite the passage of time, the place remains as rammed as I remember; you can barely turn round in here. It's still very gloomy in here but this adds to the historic olde worlde mid-1930s' charm. Food is contemporary pub grub ('posh' burgers, fish and chips, etc.), but isn't gastro.
Blessed with a miracle, I bagged a table. Amazingly, there was another vacant table next to me with table mats smothered with ketchup; perhaps this is why no-one was sitting there? My table too was covered with empty glasses, coffee cups and used napkins for quite some time. I was also none taken with the fetid stench of concentrated coffee until I noticed that I was sitting next to the coffee machine.
Service was surprisingly swift and I was served a decent pint of Timothy Taylor's Landlord, though decent it should be at £4.70 a pint.
Despite the ersatz interior this place is definitely worth a visit, but staff must do more to clear and clean the tables. Relocating the coffee factory to another area would be a good idea too - my laundry basket stank of coffee the next day!

Updated:

As above, tables remained uncleared with empty glasses or some filled with melting ice, a slice of lime and a drinking straw. Part of the floor is covered with red lino and there's a rather awful square section tubular steel gantry above the bar.
Ales: Adnam's Mosaic, Salopian's Hop Twister, Timothy Taylor's Landlord, Wadsworth's 6X and Old Dairy Brewery's Castle Shed Pale Ale which was really rather sour.
This pub may have a quaint interior but it needs to do much more in the service and ale quality departments if it wants to be considered as anything more than a venue for relieving tourists of their cash.

On 13th July 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 874 recommendations about 860 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Windsor Castle

I like Quinno's comment below a lovely Heritage Pub in Poshville, as that does some it up. The pub has a country pub style theme to it, which I liked. The pub was busy on our Sunday afternoon visit and we found if you just want to pop in for a drink, you're fighting a losing battle. After a long wait, we did manage to get a Windsor and Eton Knight of the Garter. Then we had the problem of finding a seat and there wasn't enough room to stand, so we went out to the beer garden with a covered maquee. There were six ales to choose from and a large vessel of mulled wine on the bar, which smelt nice.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Windsor Castle

Somehow never managed to visit this place before so not sure what has changed during the refurbishment, but the rambling interior with its low wooden screens has plenty of charm and interest. Glazed panels in the exterior doorways indicate the Campden, Sherry and Private Bars, and there are various seating areas inside (some of which are set aside for dining). Very pleasant patio beer garden at the back. Excellent choice of beers from two banks of five handpumps, with a pint of Bath Ales Summer's Hare coming in at a pricey (even for the area) £4.10. Overall, well worth seeking out (but one does wonder whether they can sustain the current range of real ales).

On 30th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Windsor Castle

Lovely stylish multi room pub that's just re-opened after a refit.Cosy with 10 handpumps but will they be able to keep that many beers in good order.Great beer garden and def a pub to visit on a sunny day.Went at 2.00pm on the first day of their beer fest but they had omitted to mention that the fest didn't start till 6.00pm.Not a happy bunny.

On 8th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Windsor Castle

A fine pub, with plenty of charm and character thanks to a wonderful, well preserved multi-room interior. Some head bashingly low doorways connect each of the dark panelled rooms and it's good value watching folk squeeze their way through them. There is muted lighting that creates just the right atmosphere inside (aided by some nice frosted windows) although I found that it was a bit too dark to read my paper from my seat in the cosy middle room. There were a few pictures scattered throughout the place and a staggering amount of blackboards of all sizes, including a particularly large one in the rear room which detailed the history of the pub.
The beer selection was admirable with five ales (TT Landlord, London Pride, Wadworth Henry IPA, Harvey's Best and Sheps Canterbury Jack), several ciders including a traditional scrumpy, and a diverse tap range which included Hoegaarden, Leffe, Peroni, Paulaner and several mainstream lagers. My pint of Wadworth was served in a mug although a quick look around suggested that this wasn't the norm as I didn't spot another one during my stay. Menus on the tables presented a good range of appetising food which wasn't as excessively expensive as I had expected for a pub in this part of town.
On leaving the pub I realised that there was a sizable beer garden to the rear which, judging by the noise coming from there, was packed on this mild Friday evening.
Worth a look for the lovely interior and worth staying for the beer range and ambience. A must for any Kensington crawl.

On 13th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Windsor Castle

A lovely heritage pub in poshville. The internal layout consists of a series of interconnecting rooms around the bar, separated by wooden partitions with impossibly low doorways in between. Wood is the predominant décor – wooden pews, tables, panelling and flooring (which is warped) which lends a particular smell to the place, even after the smoking ban. There are some interesting brass and copper fittings as well. The interior has a dark red low ceiling with suspended lanterns and deliberately muted lighting which adds to the cosy (or claustrophobic, depending on your point of view) atmosphere; you really do feel like you’ve stepped back 150-odd years in time when you enter. There’s a nice beer garden out the back, which makes this pub a good all-rounder throughout the year. Four or five ales usually on, of which TT Landlord and Pride seem to be regular alongside other fairly mainstream regional brews from the likes of Wadworth, Adnams and Shepherd Neame. A decent range of cider is also available from Westons and Aspalls. Beer and cider is usually served in jugs, which I always like. Prices aren’t cheap though.

This is definitely one to seek out and is a no-brainer for a crawl of the area.

On 13th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Windsor Castle

I don’t need to add much to Maldenman’s description. It features in CAMRA’s book “The Inside Story”, highlighting the London pubs with interiors that are most worthy of preservation. It’s in there because of its multi-room format, with original (mainly inter-war) panelling. Having endured listening to some fool bellow into his mobile for the duration of my visit, I can sympathise with pubs (such as the Nag’s Head in Kinnerton St) that ban the use of the things. But for all that it’s a very good pub, fool of character and an olde worlde charm about it. I would be happy to visit again.

On 13th May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2478 recommendations about 2399 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Windsor Castle

A splendid pub, the internal layout still consists of a series of interconnected rooms, a couple of which still have the very small doorways cut through the wooden partitions between. The place has a rustic feel in some ways and you could be forgiven for forgetting you are in a busy Inner London suburb. The dark red ceiling is fairly low with lanterns suspended from it, floors are wooden, the panelling is decorated with occasional old pictures and a large Victorian OS map of the area, and there are copper and brass fixtures, I also spotted a pair of pistols. Seating is traditional being mainly small settles and basic wooden benches. A more ornate bench in a side room has some carved inscription relating to King Harold, but I'm unaware of any significance of this. To the rear is a pleasant walled garden.
Four handpumps in the main(front) room had Ushers 1824, Shepherd Neame Early Bird, Tim Taylor's Landlord and Adnam's Stout. Pride and a couple of ciders were also available from pumps in the adjacent side room. All pints served to us were in jugs, fine with me, but I expect the option is there to request a straight glass. Pleasant and friendly service.

On 12th May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Windsor Castle

This is a great pub, full of character, quite quirky, and a welcome respite from the nearby hustle and bustle. For me the best bit is the "doorways" between each bar area. The one through in to the small left hand bar (visible in Photo 2, above) can't be any more than about five feet tall, and there's a considerable step you have to climb over as well. The doorway in to the rear bar, is even smaller, around four feet I would guess! As I said, quirky. Fortunately the bar counter runs round the corner to all three rooms, so you don't have to negotiate these obstacles whilst carrying a round of drinks.
Besides that it's got some great wood paneling, a real feel of history to the place (it dates from the 1600's), church pews to sit in, a decent sized beer garden with some covered seating and patio heaters, and a decent, reasonably priced "pub grub" menu. What more could you want from a pub?
Beer choice was Doom Bar, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Adnams IPA, Caledonian Over the Bar and London Pride. Also an equally extensive choice of ciders which I was pleased to see - Weston's Scrumpy, Weston's Vintage, Weston's Old Rosie, Addlestones and Aspall's Suffolk cyder.
Well worth a visit.

On 27th February 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1665 recommendations about 1603 pubs]