User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Hansom Cab, Kensington, W8

86 Earls Court Road
W8
W8 6EG
Phone: 02079383700

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Hansom Cab

This pub was built in 1827 and named the Pembroke Arms, it was then rebadged as the Hansom Cab in 1965. The interior layout of the pub consists of a central bar area, with a front and rear lounge, with a couple of tables and chairs squeezed in on the right hand side between both rooms.
The main bar faces you as you enter the pub and has retained its original mahogany bar counter, which is low in height and is quite common of most central London pubs of this era. The rear lounge area was mostly set for dining and the back bar wall had a decent display of etched glass work set in mahogany frame work. Five pumps on the bar with a choice of four ales, London Brewing Co Beer Street, Purity UBU, Twickenham Summer Sun and Bedlam Brewery Phoenix. We went for the Twickenham, which was in excellent condition and cost £6.90 for a pint and a half. The service was very good too.

On 17th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Hansom Cab

I reckon that this place must have improved a bit since previous reviewers' visits. The ale selection on when I visited recently was Gloucester Docks Brewery Gloucester Gold; Redemption Trinity; Purity Pure Gold; and Signature Brew Roadie (£4.50 a pint). A fifth pump was unclipped. I was given a taster of the Roadie, which is usually a sign of a well run pub. A full main course menu was available when I was in on Tuesday lunchtime, but a blackboard on the wall advertised a couple of "lunch beer snacks" of traditional Cornish pasty and chorizo sausage roll, both at £5 a go. Said to be made by their chefs daily, I went for the Cornish pasty, which was served hot and not microwaved. Good quality for a fiver I would say.

The main bar area at the front has some sofas, tall tables/tall stools, and one or two normal tables and chairs. A fairly large room at the back has more normal tables and chairs, and although this pub doesn't have a garden, there are a few tables and chairs on the pavement. I quite liked the old carved wood bar back as well.

I quite enjoyed my visit here. The landlord was friendly, and seemingly engaged in delivering good quality real ale. My pint of cool and hoppy Roadie was excellent and hardly touched the sides on a scorchingly hot London day. It was very quiet during my lunchtime visit, but probably a very different place in the evenings.

On 13th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Robin Baldwin left this review about The Hansom Cab

This is generally a nice pub, in an upmarket area. It has pleasant decor with the same atmosphere to match. Does it appeal more to younger people - perhaps that is debatable. I have never had a bad experience when drinking here. Well recommended. Thanks....

On 7th May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Hansom Cab

Again no ale to speak of. Pleasant enough place but no plans to return.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Hansom Cab

Contrary to that stated on the pub's website, this place is in fact not Victorian but rather plain Georgian, being built in 1827 (1837 to 1901 is Victorian) as The Pembroke Arms and acquired its current name in 1965. Situated on Earls Court Road, it's not in the most attractive of surroundings: the locality isn't that pretty and traffic noise is a problem. Once inside though, it's a pleasant enough place with a central bar, bare boarded, roller blinds to the windows, pale grey paint, one-third height t 'n' g panelling and conventional furniture. The front room is quite cosy and there's a larger room to the rear; both have a TV which doesn't bode well. To the walls there are reproduction Victorian paintings of hansom cabs, topped with a brass picture light. The overall feeling is a bit like drinking in a wine bar - not offensive but not really pubby and the trays of condiments on the tables is a bit downmarket.
Ales: Sharp's Doom Bar, Young's Bitter and Fuller's London Pride at £4.25 a pint and fine.
This is an undemanding place, but I can't see myself beating a path to its front door again anytime soon.

On 28th June 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Hansom Cab

A traditional town pub on the end of a Georgian terrace just off Kensington’s main drag. Hanging baskets at the front make it appealing in the Summer months, and there is a lively local atmosphere in one half of the inside, the public bar. The other half, the saloon bar I suppose, was dead except for one person eating a sad-looking burger from a bit of manky driftwood, and the pub dog, a nonchalant spaniel who turned his nose up at said burger. The décor is pleasant, plenty of etched glass on display and a large fireplace, all late Victorian in character so anachronous to the pub’s origins but not too harshly. There was background music, inoffensive enough, and the TV screen was off, though we were told that it usually screens live sports. The staff, dog included, were friendly enough, while the locals were tolerant and tolerable. Three ales on – Doombar, Pride and Young’s Bitter. Worth spending a quiet few hours here.

On 21st June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2613 recommendations about 2581 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Hansom Cab

Housed in a solid-looking building, this pub seems to have retained much of its original layout. The room in front of the central bar area is fairly traditional (in an upmarket kind of way), as is the side alcove, but the 'L'-shaped arrangement of semi-open rooms at the back is now the main dining area. Young's ordinary, Doom Bar and Pride (£4.20, so expensive, but only 20p more than my last pint in here nearly four years ago...) available from a bank of five handpumps on this visit.

On 12th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Hansom Cab

The island bar is straight ahead on entering from Earls Court Rd, and has some carved detailing. The front area has a few fairly large circular tables with what I would describe as dining chairs. Up a step to the rear area with a small leather corner banquette, some stools at a shelf, and a few low sofas. There are a random mix of pictures and drawings framed on the walls, and a large picture of a row of Hansom cabs features on the fire surround. The fire wasn't lit but there is a stack of cut logs. Wooden boarded floor painted black, red flock wallpaper to the rear although curry didn't feature on the menu. Newspapers in a rack by the bar. The tables have candles, and there were scattered cushions laid around some of the seating, all a bit tacky and unnecessary I felt.
I was half way down my pint when suddenly the room appeared to shake, the light fittings rattled and I wondered what on earth was happening. This continued for a couple of minutes but the staff didn't seem perturbed at all. I concluded that the washing machine was spinning upstairs!
Five handpumps, but Doom Bar x2, GK IPA x2 and GK Flankers Tackle. I had the Doom Bar naturally which although not rejectable didn't seem quite right.
Not too bad for a quick pint but would benefit from a different ale or so, and perhaps new bearings for the washing machine.

On 21st March 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]