User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Rutland Arms, Hammersmith, W6

15 Lower Mall
W6
W6 9DJ
Phone: 02087485586

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Rutland Arms

I agree with BF that this really isn't a beer drinkers pub, more of a cider house. There were three handpumps on the bar on our Saturday lunchtime visit, with two in use, serving GK IPA and another beer called Cambridge a GK special. Both of which are boring and brown so I went for a dry cider, which was pricey, as expected in a Taylor Walker house.

On 24th June 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Rutland Arms

Pretty much next door to the Blue Anchor,but this GK tied house is much inferior.There are benches outside on the Thames towpath but uninviting,while the interior is open plan with a flatscreen airing daytime tv on mute,but still dominating attention.There is a mix of furniture around the bar,while a rear section has some bench seating and dining type tables.It's all unremarkable and from inside there are few river views.GK corporate pub grub menus are everywhere .There are 3 handpumps for ale offering GK IPA,Old Golden Hen and a house Rutland bitter with no provenance ,but surely a rebadge of another awful GK brew.With those option I chose Beavertown Gamma Ray (keg) which wasn't too clever either.However there is a lot of cider ,both on handpump and sparkling,mainly from Lilleys.
Not a pub I will rush back to,maybe it's USP is the cider selection but I'm afraid fruit based alcohol is not for me.

On 13th June 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Rutland Arms

The low point of our evening, alarm bells started to ring as soon as we spotted the modern Taylor Walker logo. As you'd expect given the location, there were rowing blades on the walls but thereafter it was a by the numbers TW pub with dark wood panelling, a games machine and pictorial menus that wouldn't have looked out of place in an old Wimpey bar. There was muted music and a TV showing the news with the sound off. Furniture comes in the form of some high tables and chairs as well as leatherette armchairs and sofas. There are also some large lanterns over the bar. The floor is bare boarded with a tiled bar apron.
Beers on offer: Greene King's IPA and London Glory, St. Austell's Spring Fever and Sambrook's Junction at a steep £2.38 a half which was flat and warm.

I won't be coming here again, not least because the rather fine Blue Anchor is right next door.

On 22nd April 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Rutland Arms

Another scruffy pub décor wise.Busy with a young rowing crowd. Fullers -frontier lager and Portobello -pilsner on keg.Pride and Adnams -ghostship were on cask. My Ghostship was very average and a short measure at £2.10 for a half left a sour taste or was it the beer.Dud.

On 2nd February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Rutland Arms

Well-located pub on the west side of Hammersmith Bridge, with quite an interesting exterior (sadly not matched by the dull pubco furniture and decor inside). Reputationally, it also tends to suffer by comparison with the local competition (e.g. Blue Anchor and Dove) but at least that means you probably have a better chance of getting a table. Standard Taylor Walker menu, so the food prices are OK if you are looking for traditional fayre. The beer selection from the four handpumps has improved gradually over the years, with Pride, Adnams Ghost Ship, Purity Mad Goose and Portobello Star (£4.09) available on my latest visit. Worth a try if the better places nearby are packed (as they always are on anything resembling a nice day).

On 15th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Rutland Arms

This is not one of my favourite riverside haunts - the service is just about adequate, the ale is OK but the prices are above average. What spoilt our last visit was the very noisy crowd of pretentuous sailing types who clearly thought they owned the place. Apart from that, why come here when the Dove is just along the riverbank?

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Rutland Arms

Pub well described by Roger below and nothing really to add except that I’ve always found the upstairs room to be a comfortable spot.
Still four hand pumps on the go and as next door there was the ubiquitous Doombar on but complemented by Young’s Gold and Hook Norton ‘Old Hooky’ which was a good pint.

On 9th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Rutland Arms

The best thing about the Rutland is its location right on the water’s edge however it suffers from fairly strong competition on its doorstep with the Blue Anchor a couple of doors down and the Dove a few minutes walk upstream. Of the three, I have always considered the Rutland to be the tail ender although to be fair I have recently felt a bit more positive about the place.

The interior is divided into a quite plain and basic main bar, a slightly more homely rear room and a private function room upstairs. There is an underplayed nautical theme with a rowing boat hanging from the ceiling and a couple of oars (or paddles depending on your knowledge of such things) on display but the interior generally has a minimalist approach with plain décor and basic furnishings. When it isn’t busy the pub can feel very hollow and soulless but generally its lack of customers is often the reason I find myself in here in the first place.

Whilst the pub certainly doesn’t hold the same attractions as its neighbours, you can generally find a table straight away and get served quicky. The range of Ales has improved a little from what it was with 4 available on my latest visit; Youngs Ordinary, London Pride, Sheps Canterbury Jack and the excellent Exmoor Stag as a guest beer although the £3.57 a pint price tag is a bit of a pocket denter.

The Rutland is far from being the best pub in the area and should (and could) be a lot better than it is but it it does have its uses as a fall back when the neighbours are bursting at the seams.

On 8th June 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Rutland Arms

I was in this pub yesterday, and as far as I could tell little if anything has changed since my previous visit. There are still sofas and too many high stools and high tables for my liking, but they seem to have stopped dispensing the ales through sparklers now, which is an improvement. The comments below are from 12 May 08. By the river near Hammersmith Bridge, and very pleasant looking down the river on a sunny day. But nothing special in the way of beers – Pride, Deuchars IPA, Bombardier and Young's Bitter. They use sparklers which are wholly inappropriate for the beers they have on offer, making it hard for the bar staff to serve a full pint. But the barmaid was happy to remove the sparkler when I asked her to do so. I noticed that the next customer also asked for the sparkler to be removed. I suppose there must be some business reason for using them, but I don't think that it is to provide a better product for the customer. Nonetheless, a pretty good riverside pub if you are not fussed about the way the beer is served. Worth a visit for the setting and views, though not worth going out of your way to find for the ales.

On 29th May 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Rutland Arms

I decided to try the Rutland Arms as I've regularly been in The Blue Anchor and the Dove, but have previously been put off. The front area is dominated by those high tables and stools, but with more traditional seating to be found to the left and to the rear of the bar area. Wooden boarded floors to the bar with a tiled splash area, carpeted to the rear. Some wood panelling, a few token pictures and a couple of sets of oars form the decor, a gilded framed TV was switched off. The place is however full of those faux chalk boards and posters advertising meals and drinks deals....a bucket of chicken wings and bottles of "Bud" was one....and all tables had ketchup bottles, vinegar and salt/pepper sets on them. Tables were also slow to be cleared.
The beer range was actually pretty good, Pride, Young's London Gold, Butcombe Gold and Batemans Spring Goddess. Quality was fine.
There are good views of the river and Hammersmith Bridge, and some bench seating outside too, but the pub itself feels short on character and probably relies on passing trade.

On 2nd May 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]

Page: 1 2